Alabama's welding pipeline now spans many types of welding and is built mostly around short certificates rather than two-year degrees, with programs like Snead State's 12-credit welding certificate running a single semester. State labor figures point to roughly 1,335 annual openings for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers.
In-state tuition at the public colleges ranked below sits between about $4,734 and $5,454 a year, so the real question is rarely price. It's whether a program tests you to AWS standards with a 3G weld test before you leave. The 2026 rankings that follow weigh cost, post-completion earnings, and graduate debt.
Employers in Mobile shipyards and Huntsville fabrication shops hire off the weld test, not the transcript.
Best Welding Schools in Alabama: 2027 Rankings
These are Alabama's top welding programs, ordered by a balanced look at cost, earnings, debt, and completion numbers. All ten offer campus or hybrid training that aligns with industry certification standards. Your best fit will depend on location, schedule, and whether you want a fast certificate or a stackable pathway toward an associate degree.
- Student-faculty ratio measured closely
- Program completion volume considered
- Graduate earnings weighed heavily
- Median debt factored in
- Net price adjusted locally
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Northeast Alabama Community College
#1Rainsville, AL · $5,000 – $9,000/yr
Best for: Beginners wanting robotic welding training
Northeast Alabama Community College offers welding certificates on its Rainsville campus with training across shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, gas metal arc, and flux cored arc welding. The program includes pipe welding, blueprint reading, pipe fitting, boiler tubes, and robotic welding, following AWS codes. Students can choose multiple short-term certificates or build toward an associate degree.
- Robotic welding programming
- Pipe fitting and fabrication
- Boiler tube welding
- Blueprint reading for fabrication
- Welding inspection and testing
- AWS Codes and Standards
- Industry standard welding test
- Gas tungsten arc welding
Wallace State-Hanceville
#2Hanceville, AL · $10,000 – $15,000/yr
Best for: Local company employees wanting tuition discounts
Wallace State-Hanceville's Welding program is offered at the Hanceville and Oneonta campuses with day and evening classes. Students train in 83 manual welding booths using Lincoln Electric Power Wave 300C machines and complete at least two AWS qualification tests. The college reports a 100 percent job placement rate and starting salaries around $40,000.
- 100% job placement rate
- starting salaries reaching $40,000
- Two AWS qualification tests
- 83 manual welding booths
- Hanceville and Oneonta campuses
- Structural and pipe welding
- Industrial print reading
- Inspection and testing
Snead State Community College
#3Boaz, AL · $3,000/yr (net price)
Best for: High school students wanting dual enrollment
Snead State's Welding Technology certificate is a short-term option requiring just one semester and 12 credit hours. The curriculum covers arc and resistance welding, brazing, soldering, cutting, metallurgy, and heat treating. The college offers an earn-while-you-learn apprenticeship pathway and dual enrollment for high school students.
- 2 concentration options
- 12 total credit hours
- $48,000-$73,000 per year
- Earn while you learn via apprenticeships
- Dual enrollment for high school students
- 459 job postings within 60 miles
- 2.9% job growth expected through 2030
- Training in arc and resistance welding
Northwest Shoals Community College
#4Muscle Shoals, AL · $5,000 – $9,000/yr
Northwest Shoals Community College's Welding certificate is a 54-credit program available at the Phil Campbell and Shoals campuses. It prepares students for AWS D1.1 certification and covers shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, gas metal arc, and flux cored arc welding. New students complete ORI 107, and transfer students are exempt from that requirement.
- 54 total credit hours
- Available at Phil Campbell and Shoals
- Prepares for AWS D1.1 certification
- ORI 107 required for new students
- Transfer students exempt from ORI 107
- Good eye-hand coordination needed
Enterprise State Community College
#5Enterprise, AL · $10,000 – $15,000/yr
Enterprise State Community College offers a Welding certificate that is 54 credits and focuses on core welding skills without general education courses. Training takes place at the Enterprise Campus, Troy-Pike Center of Technology, or EHS, with students working on steel, aluminum, and stainless steel. The program prepares graduates for entry-level roles in construction, manufacturing, and automotive repair.
- 54 total credit hours
- Fewer credits than AAS degree
- Focus on welding skills, not general education
- Enter workforce more quickly
- Prepared for variety of welding roles
- Campus locations: Enterprise, Troy-Pike, EHS
- Materials: steel, aluminum, stainless steel
- Industries: construction, manufacturing, automotive
Reid State Technical College
#6Evergreen, AL · $2,000/yr (net price)
Reid State Technical College's Welding Technology program offers short-term certificate, certificate, and associate degree options ranging from two to six semesters. The curriculum covers flux-core, stick, GMAW structural, and GTAW pipe welding, all aligned with AWS certification standards. Graduates find work in pipe welding, structural steel, nuclear power, and traveling construction crews.
- 4-Semester program
- $58,011 median earnings
- average starting salary is around $42,990
- Experienced welders earn up to $71,852
- Training to AWS Certification standards
- Skills in flux-core, stick, GMAW, GTAW
- Short-term certificates in under a year
- 2-year associate degree option
Southern Union State Community College
#7Wadley, AL · $6,000/yr
Southern Union State Community College offers a Welding Technology certificate with lab courses covering shielded metal, gas tungsten, gas metal, and flux cored arc welding. Students also learn oxy-fuel, plasma, and carbon arc cutting plus industrial blueprint reading. The college is an American Welding Society accredited test facility, and a co-op course lets students work part-time in a welding job for credit.
- American Welding Society accredited
- AWS accredited testing facility
- Certificate in Welding Technology
- Associate degree option in welding
- Short-term certificates in welding
- Co-op work experience in welding
- Pipe welding on carbon steel
- Prerequisite: permission of instructor
Coastal Alabama Community College
#8Bay Minette, AL · ~$14,000/yr (est.)
Coastal Alabama Community College's Basic Plate Welding short-term certificate is 27 credits and competency-based, completed in two semesters. Coursework covers shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, flux cored arc welding, and cutting different materials. The program runs at five Alabama campuses, and financial aid is available.
- 2-Semester program
- 27 total credit hours
- Financial aid available
- Five Alabama campus locations
- Competency-based theory and hands-on training
- Instruction in welding and cutting processes
- Dual enrollment option available
Bevill State Community College
#9Jasper, AL · $5,000 – $8,000/yr
Bevill State Community College's Welding Technology program covers blueprint reading, fabrication, welding inspection and testing, and cutting. Students can earn a long-term certificate or one of several short-term certificates, including pipe welding and GMAW/FCAW. The program is offered at all campuses, with registered apprenticeship agreements with G&G Steel and collaboration with The Dannon Project for non-credit training.
- 5 concentration options
- AWS certified welder eligibility
- Blueprint reading and fabrication coursework
- Welding inspection and testing training
- Cutting techniques taught
- Offered at all campuses
Lurleen B Wallace Community College
#10Andalusia, AL · ~$3,000/yr (est.)
Lurleen B Wallace Community College's Welding program covers shielded metal arc welding, gas tungsten arc welding, cutting, blueprint reading, and visual inspection. Students can work toward an Associate in Applied Science degree in Welding or finish sooner with short certificates in Consumable Arc Welding or Basic SMAW and Cutting. Training happens at the MacArthur Campus and Luverne Center.
- 3 concentration options
- Financial aid available
- Nationally-recognized certifications emphasized
- Shielded and gas tungsten arc welding
- Visual inspection and blueprint reading
- Jobs in shipbuilding and aerospace
- Classes at MacArthur Campus, Luverne Center
According to the Alabama Department of Labor, welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers can expect about 1,335 job openings each year. Over the next several years, that adds up to thousands of new welding positions across the state.
How We Ranked the Top Welding Schools in Alabama
What actually separates a good welding program from a great one on paper? For our Alabama rankings in the welding schools by state list, it comes down to what students pay, what they earn after finishing, and how much debt they carry to get there.
The Core Financial Picture
We start with cost. Every tuition figure is degree-aware, meaning an undergraduate welding certificate is compared against undergraduate pricing, not lumped in with graduate tuition at the same institution. Net price (what students actually pay after grants and scholarships) is pulled based on the school's sector, so a public two-year college is measured against public two-year benchmarks rather than a flat national average that would unfairly favor or penalize it.
Median debt at completion sits alongside price. A low sticker cost that still produces heavy borrowing tells a different story than a moderate cost paired with light debt, and we weigh both.
Earnings and Return on Investment
On the outcomes side, we prioritize program-level earnings over school-wide averages whenever the data exists. That means each welding program is judged by what welding graduates earn in welding jobs, not what the entire institution's alumni pool earns across every major.
Each school card shows the best available earnings figure with its exact time window spelled out, for example "median earnings one year after completion" or "median earnings four years after completion." We never quietly substitute an institution-wide average and label it as a program outcome. If program earnings are not yet published for a given welding pathway, the card says so plainly rather than filling the gap with unrelated numbers.
Those earnings are then compared against net price to produce a return-on-investment ratio, giving a rough sense of how quickly the paycheck offsets the tuition.
Graduation Rates as Context, Not a Program Score
One honest caveat: graduation rates are reported at the institution level, not the program level. A welding program inside a college with a 45 percent overall completion rate is not necessarily a 45 percent welding program, because welding certificates often finish at different rates than four-year degrees at the same school. We include graduation rates as context about the institution's general track record with students, not as a direct measure of the welding program itself.
Together, these inputs produce rankings grounded in what a prospective welder in Alabama actually needs to know: cost in, debt out, earnings after, and the school's broader student-success context.
Alabama Welding Program Costs and Financial Aid
The real tradeoff in Alabama welding education isn't school prestige, it's how fast you can get trained without taking on debt you don't need. Among the state's public programs, in-state tuition runs from roughly $4,980 a year at Wallace Community College-Dothan up to about $5,454 at Reid State Technical College, with out-of-state rates spanning $8,850 to $9,324 across that same group. Those figures cover tuition and fees only, not tools, welding hoods, boots, or testing fees, so budget beyond the sticker price.
Named programs vary in structure and cost. Lawson State Community College charges $133 per credit in-state and $266 out-of-state for 2026-27, with a Fall 2026 PACT payment total of $3,934.321 for its 51-credit welding certificate track. Wallace State Community College's AAS in Welding Technology runs 65 credits over four semesters4 at $133 per credit plus $67 in per-credit fees for Fall 20263, which works out to roughly $13,000 across the full program before books and supplies; the school's standalone Intro to MIG Welding and Flux Cored Arc Welding short course runs about $900.5 Bishop State Community College lists $133 per credit ($204 with fees)6 and estimates around $2,500 per semester for full-time students carrying 12 or more credits toward its AAS in Welding Technology, offered across Spring, Summer, and Fall terms.7 Note that Wallace Community College in Dothan is a separate institution from Wallace State: its Industrial Welding program is a 12-week course8 that exits students with a welding certificate and AWS certification rather than a two-year degree.
Paying Through WIOA
The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act can cover tuition and, in some cases, tools and testing fees for eligible adults, dislocated workers, and qualifying youth. Qualifying isn't automatic: you'll need to visit an Alabama Career Center for an eligibility assessment, income and employment history review, and development of an individual employment plan before funding is approved. Not every welding certificate or short course at every school carries WIOA-payable status, so confirm directly with the Career Center and the school's financial aid office which specific welding offering is currently approved before enrolling.
Veteran Benefits and Scholarships
Veterans may be able to use Post-9/11 GI Bill benefits or Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Chapter 31) toward welding training, but the payout, housing allowance, and book stipend depend on your service history, chapter of eligibility, and whether the specific program (not just the school overall) holds VA approval. Check with each school's VA certifying official before assuming coverage. Beyond VA and WIOA funding, welding students in Alabama can also pursue national scholarship pools such as the American Welding Society Foundation, which awards funds to students enrolled in accredited welding programs regardless of state.
Are There Free Welding Schools in Alabama?
Not in the sense of $0 published tuition, but WIOA-funded seats effectively make training free for eligible participants, since the program pays tuition and often fees directly to the school. Scholarship-covered spots can accomplish the same result for students who qualify. If cost is your biggest barrier, start with a Career Center eligibility screening before comparing school price tags, since funding approval often matters more than the sticker price you see listed.
Related Articles
Welding Certifications and Credentials in Alabama
A diploma proves you finished a program. A certification proves you can still lay down a code-quality weld on the day someone tests you. Alabama employers care far more about the second one, and understanding which credentials matter will shape how you choose and use a welding program.
The Big Three Credentials Employers Ask For
Alabama's career readiness indicators recognize performance tests in SMAW (Stick Welding), GTAW, FCAW, and GMAW, typically welded in the 3-G or 3-F uphill position1, with 4g welding certification, 5G, and the NOCTI Welding (5279) exam accepted as alternatives2. These map closely to AWS D1.1, Structural Welding Code, Steel3, which governs qualification whenever a structural steel job specifies it, and to AWS SENSE (School for Excellence in Welding Education), a curriculum and testing framework many training programs build around. Sheet metal fabrication is sometimes qualified under a separate code, D9.1, though far less published guidance exists on how that specific code is tested in Alabama compared to D1.1, so treat sheet metal certification questions as something to confirm directly with a program rather than assume.
Finding Schools With On-Site Testing
SENSE credentials must be issued through an AWS Accredited Test Facility (ATF), and the exam has to be proctored by a Certified Welding Inspector who was not the student's own recent instructor.4 That separation matters: it is what makes the credential portable and trusted by hiring managers outside the school. Not every welding program in Alabama holds ATF status or runs testing on-site, and there is no single published statewide list confirming which schools currently do. Ask directly whether a program is an accredited test facility, who proctors the exam, and whether the credential will appear in AWS's SENSE certificate records, before you enroll based on that promise.
What the Exam Actually Involves
Preparation typically combines classroom code instruction with supervised practice on coupons, the flat metal test pieces welders use to rehearse joint types before the real exam. AWS's own D1.1 code clinic training, for comparison, runs about 60 days of access to code modules and a final exam5, which gives a rough sense of the depth expected before a performance test. The practical exam itself has a welder produce a qualifying weld under test conditions7, which is then visually inspected and often subjected to bend or break testing to confirm there's no hidden porosity or lack of fusion.
Certifications Expire If You Stop Welding
Certifications are tied to a specific process. Passing a GMAW (MIG Welding) test does not qualify you in GTAW or FCAW, so welders often stack several process-specific credentials over a career. AWS code also requires requalification if a welder goes roughly six months without welding in that process6, so an idle certification can lapse even without any error on your part. Some Alabama programs also layer in NCCER credentials alongside AWS testing, giving graduates a broader industry-recognized paper trail when they start applying for jobs.
How Do You Go From Welding School to Journeyperson in Alabama?
This is the typical five-step route from first class to journeyperson status in Alabama. Time frames vary by program schedule and employer, but the credential progression below is the path most welding students follow.

Alabama Welding Schools by City and Region
This table lists welding programs across Alabama with verified city, school, schedule, credential, and contact details. Schedule options are included only where official sources state them, and some programs may offer formats such as day, evening, or fast-track courses. Use the contact information to confirm current availability and registration.
| City | School | Schedule Options | Credentials Offered | Phone/Website |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Birmingham | Jefferson State Community College | Day and evening classes; fast-track course available (night or weekend schedule not stated) | Certificate of Completion | (205) 856-8515; official pages for Welding Program and Fast-Track Welding Class |
| Birmingham | Moore Technical College | Night students only; Monday/Wednesday 6:30-9:30 p.m. or Tuesday/Thursday 6:30-9:30 p.m.; nights subject to availability | Welding Certificate | Stephen Halteman, Department Chair; [email protected]; official Welding & Advanced Welding Programs page |
| Bessemer | Lawson State Community College | N/A | Short Certificate, Certificate, and Associate in Occupational Technologies Degree in Welding Technology | Alana Willingham-Brown: (205) 929-3478, [email protected]; Eric Smith: (205) 929-3477, [email protected] |
| Dothan | Wallace Community College | 12 weeks; Monday through Thursday, 5:00-8:00 p.m. | Industrial Welding program (credential type not specified) | (334) 556-2202; [email protected]; official Industrial Welding page |
| Mobile area | Coastal Alabama Community College | N/A | Welding Technology AAS; multiple short-term certificates including Basic Plate Welding, Pipe Welding, Marine Industry Technology, and Pipefitting | Official Welding And Marine page |
| Mobile | AIDT Maritime Training Center | N/A | Welding training (specific credential not stated) | AIDT contact: (334) 280-4400; official AIDT contact page |
| Montgomery area | Central Alabama Community College | N/A | Welding AOT degree; Basic Welding Short-Term Certificate; Welding Certificate | Danny James: [email protected]; Dean Diamaduros: [email protected]; Ben Bailey: [email protected]; official Welding page |
| Montgomery | Trenholm State Community College | N/A | Welding program (specific credential not stated) | General: 1-866-753-4544; Division Chair: (334) 430-4436; Program Coordinator: (334) 420-4379, [email protected]; (334) 420-4364, [email protected]; official Welding page |
| Gadsden | Gadsden State Community College | N/A | Certificates and short-term certificates; intermediate and advanced training available | Frank Miller: (256) 549-8653, [email protected]; Darren McCrary: (256) 549-8657, [email protected]; official Welding Technology page |
| Hanceville | Wallace State Community College | Day and evening | Associate in Applied Science, Certificate, and Short-Term Certificate | Randy Hammond: (256) 352-8272; [email protected]; official Welding page |
Did you know Lurleen B. Wallace Community College's Women in Welding program charges no tuition and gives a $500 stipend for equipment, plus free childcare and OSHA 10 certification? Meanwhile AIDT's Maritime Training Center and Montgomery's NCCER welding program also train eligible Alabamians at no cost.
Welding Career Outlook and Job Placement in Alabama
Alabama's welding labor market is steady rather than explosive. State projections point to roughly 1,335 average annual openings for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers, a number driven as much by retirements and turnover as by new industrial growth. Statewide unemployment sat at 3.4% in August 2026, essentially flat from July and slightly above the prior year, suggesting a tight but not booming labor market where trained welders still have leverage.
Placement Claims Vary by School
Wallace State Community College publishes the strongest placement figure among Alabama programs: a 100% job placement rate for welding graduates, with starting salaries cited around $40,000 and room to climb with experience. That claim appears on the college's own program materials and has been repeated in local news coverage, though as with any self-reported figure, treat it as a strong signal rather than an audited guarantee. Other Alabama programs, including Enterprise State, Southern Union, Snead State, and Northeast Alabama Community College, do not publish comparably specific placement numbers, which does not mean outcomes are weak, only that the data is not public.
Employer Ties and Apprenticeships
Calhoun Community College stands out for named employer partnerships, with aerospace welding certificate pathways connected to Boeing and Lockheed Martin and welding apprenticeship programs built around that aerospace pipeline. This is a third-party account rather than a direct school claim, so confirm current details with Calhoun before enrolling. Beyond Calhoun, expect Alabama's larger manufacturers, shipbuilders like Austal USA and Ingalls and other Alabama Shipyard Welding Jobs employers, and automotive plants tied to Honda and Hyundai suppliers, to recruit informally from regional welding programs, though formal named partnerships with specific schools are not consistently documented in published sources.
Weighing the Return
On cost alone, the math looks favorable. Wallace State's welding credential runs around $10,000, and even at $40,000 starting pay, graduates could plausibly clear their program cost within the first year of steady work. That ratio, low four-figure debt against five-figure early earnings, is typical of community college welding tracks statewide, where tuition is modest compared to a four-year degree. For most students, this makes welding school a reasonable financial bet, provided expectations stay realistic: placement rates and starting pay differ by school, region, and how aggressively a graduate pursues certifications and shop connections after finishing coursework.
Frequently Asked Questions About Welding Schools in Alabama
Alabama's welding programs have shifted noticeably toward stackable credentials in recent years, and the questions readers ask reflect that change. Below are the answers that come up most often when career-changers and students evaluate their options.
Choosing a School and Understanding Costs
What is the best welding school in Alabama? No single program fits every student, but the top-ranked programs in our analysis are Northeast Alabama Community College, Wallace State-Hanceville, and Snead State Community College, each balancing strong graduate earnings against low borrowing. Community and technical colleges tend to lead here because their tuition stays modest while their industry connections keep graduates in welding jobs. The right choice for you depends on your location, schedule, and whether you want a certificate or an associate degree.
How much does welding school cost in Alabama? At the state's public two-year colleges, a welding certificate typically runs a few thousand dollars in tuition, while a full associate degree lands in the higher single-digit thousands. Private trade academies charge more, sometimes climbing toward or above twenty thousand dollars for accelerated programs. Always factor in gear, consumables, and testing fees on top of published tuition.
Certifications, Free Options, and Schedules
What certifications can I earn at Alabama welding schools? Most accredited programs prepare you for American Welding Society credentials, including the widely recognized Certified Welder qualification. Many schools also build coursework around the core process tests for different types of welding (SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and FCAW) so you can prove specific skills to employers. Some campuses host AWS testing on site, which saves you a separate trip.
Are there free welding schools in Alabama? Free tuition is possible, though not universal. Eligible students can often cover costs through Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) funding, Pell Grants, or state workforce grants tied to high-demand trades. Displaced workers, veterans, and low-income applicants are the most common candidates. Contact a school's financial aid office to confirm which funding streams apply to your situation, since availability changes year to year.
Which Alabama welding schools offer night or weekend classes? Evening and weekend welding classes are most common in the larger metro areas. Programs in and around Huntsville, Birmingham, Tuscaloosa, and Mobile more frequently run flexible schedules built for working adults. The city and region table above is the fastest way to spot which campuses near you list part-time or after-hours options, but always verify the current term schedule directly, as class times shift each semester based on enrollment.
Additional Alabama Welding Programs to Consider
The programs below are additional Alabama welding options beyond the top 10. They are listed by region, not ranked, and details such as term schedules, tuition, and course offerings can change from year to year. Confirm current enrollment and program specifics directly with each school before you apply.
North Alabama
- Welding (Array)
Northeast Alabama
- Welding Technology Certificate
Greater Birmingham
- Welding Technology
Central Alabama
- Welding
River Region
- Welding
Black Belt
- Welding: Structural Welding Certificate
Wiregrass
- Welding Technology
Gulf Coast
- Welding Technology