Houston Community College Welding Programs: What to Know

Explore HCC welding credentials, campuses, tuition, financial aid, and certification.

Programs at Houston Community College

Welding

  • 36 total credit hours
  • $52,776 median earnings
  • Covers MIG, TIG, and Pipe welding
  • Robotic arm programming training
  • Blueprint reading and 3D modeling
  • Prepares for entry-level welding careers
  • In-person classes
  • Eastside Campus location
  • Welding inspection and standards training
  • 20,589 employed in Greater Houston

HCC Welding Credentials: Certificate vs Degree

Houston Community College, one of the welding schools in Texas, offers welding options that fall into two broad groups: short certificates that get you into the welding booth and onto a job quickly, and a credit-bearing associate degree that adds welding science, metallurgy, and project management on top of hands-on skill. The choice depends on how far you want to carry the credential.

HCC welding credentials at a glance

  • Welding Technician, Occupational Skills Award: 160 contact hours. Campuses: Eastside, South, Stafford. Published welding school cost: $1,919. AWS prep: not specified.
  • Advanced Welding Technician, Institutional Certificate: 320 contact hours. Campus: not stated. Published cost: $1,563. AWS prep: not specified.
  • TIG Welding, Institutional Certificate: total contact hours not stated. Campuses: Central, Eastside. Published cost: not stated. AWS prep: not specified.
  • Advanced Pipe Welding, Institutional Certificate: total contact hours not stated. Campuses: Eastside, Stafford. Published cost: not stated. AWS prep: not specified.
  • Introduction to Pipe Welding: workforce training. Campuses: Eastside, Stafford. Not a separate certificate or degree award.
  • Structural Welding, Certificate 1: Level 1 certificate. Current hours or credits and campus are not stated.
  • Combination Pipe Welding, Certificate 1: Level 1 certificate. Current hours or credits and campus are not stated.
  • Welding Technology Level 1 Certificate: 36 total minimum credits. Campus: Eastside.
  • Welding Technology, Associate of Applied Science (AAS): credit-bearing degree. Campus: Eastside; total 60 credits.

Where the real differences show up

Structural Welding and Combination Pipe Welding are narrow Level 1 credentials. Welding Technician and Advanced Welding Technician are measured in contact hours rather than semester credits, which makes them faster but less transferable toward a degree unless HCC says otherwise. TIG Welding and Advanced Pipe Welding target specific processes and skills, while the AAS is the broadest option, adding welding quality, metallurgy, and complex welding project management to the hands-on coursework.

How credentials stack toward the AAS

The 36-credit Welding Technology Level 1 Certificate is the clearest on-ramp to the AAS. Structural Welding and Combination Pipe Welding certificates are credit-bearing and generally intended to apply toward a degree, but current catalog pages do not spell out every transfer rule. The short contact-hour awards may serve as job-entry points, but students should confirm with an HCC welding advisor whether those hours can be used inside the AAS.

Welding Credential Pathway: From Certificate to AAS

HCC welding credentials build in sequence, so each completed level counts toward the next. The pathway moves from entry level structural welding to intermediate and advanced technician certificates, then into the welding technology AAS.

Progression from structural welding certificate through welding technician and advanced welding technician to welding technology associate degree

Program Length, Schedules, and Class Formats

Houston Community College's credit welding credentials are built around full-time, daytime, in-person training, with a two-semester hybrid option at select campuses. Unless the department publishes a different section schedule, plan for in-person lab hours as the core of the program.

Completion time by credential

  • Associate of Applied Science (AAS): Published as a 2-year full-time program at the Eastside Campus. Catalog sequencing spreads the AAS across four semesters, a welding school duration consistent with the 2-year timeline.
  • Level 1 Certificate: The current program page lists a 3-semester full-time path at Eastside with 36 total minimum credits. An archived catalog layout shows the Level 1 sequence over two semesters, including a 12-credit fall term, so confirm the current plan with the welding department before enrolling.
  • Two-semester welding certificate: A 24-credit full-time credential offered at Central, South, North Forest, Alief Bissonnet, Eastside, and Stafford campuses.
  • Hybrid two-semester welding certificate: Also 24 credits, delivered as an in-person hybrid format at Eastside and Stafford.

Class formats and availability

The published delivery modes are in-person or in-person hybrid. HCC's available program pages do not explicitly list evening or weekend sections for credit welding at any campus, so students who need those times should contact the welding department directly. Online coursework is not published for the welding program; the hands-on lab components remain in-person even in hybrid sections. Hybrid in this context typically means some components may be scheduled online or as structured lab time, but welding skill practice still requires supervised booth time.

Full-time pacing is the default across the published lengths above. No part-time completion timeline for credit welding is published in the available materials. If you need a longer path around work or family obligations, ask the department whether a reduced course load can be arranged and how that would change total time to completion and financial aid eligibility. Because schedules can shift by term, check the current class search for Eastside, Stafford, and the other campuses before each enrollment period.

How Long Each HCC Welding Credential Takes

These are standard full-time completion windows at Houston Community College. Part-time schedules will extend the timeline.

Houston Community College welding credential completion times range from 12 months for the basic certificate to 24 months for the associate degree.

Tuition, Fees, and Total Cost Breakdown

HCC charges $84.50 per credit hour for in-district students, $180.50 per credit hour for out-of-district students, and $227.00 per credit hour for out-of-state students in 2026.

These published per-credit figures are total mandatory-fee rates, not tuition alone. For an in-district student, the $84.50 includes a $33.00 tuition component, a $25.50 general fee, a $25.00 technology fee, and a $1.00 student activity fee. Out-of-district students pay a $121.00 tuition component and a $33.50 general fee, with the same technology and activity fees. A $6 recreation fee is also charged each semester. Houston Community College determines residency from your address, so confirm which rate applies before you build a budget.

What the published program totals cover

On its welding program pages, Houston Community College lists a Welding Technician total of $1,919.00 and an Advanced Welding Technician total of $1,563.00. The Welding Technician figure explicitly excludes books and course materials; the advanced program does not carry the same exclusion note in the available materials. Neither total should be treated as all-in. Because the program pages do not publish the credit-hour totals behind these figures, you cannot reverse-engineer a precise tuition-only price for each credential from the per-credit rates. That means students should treat the listed totals as base figures, not final costs.

Extra costs to plan for

Plan for these additional out-of-pocket items:

  • Books and course materials: Not included in the published Welding Technician total.
  • Tools and welding gear: HCC does not list fixed costs for required tools or protective equipment on the program pages.
  • Lab and program fees: The college catalog notes that some welding courses may add course-specific fees, but dollar amounts are not itemized.
  • Welder Certifications: AWS certification testing fees are separate and should be confirmed with the welding department.

Since neither credential has a published all-in cost, contact the welding program for a line-item estimate. Students can also enter their planned credit hours into the college's tuition calculator for a more exact tuition and fee figure. Fee rates can change between semesters, so check the current tuition and fee schedule before paying.

Financial Aid and Scholarships for Welding Students

Welding students at Houston Community College can lower their welding school cost by stacking federal, state, and private aid, but the rules differ between credit and continuing education programs.

Federal Aid via FAFSA

The 2025-26 Pell Grant maximum is $7,395, with awards based on your Student Aid Index, enrollment intensity, and cost of attendance. Welding students need to be admitted to an eligible credit program, maintain satisfactory academic progress, and enroll in at least 6 credit hours that count toward a degree plan. Federal student loans and work-study are also available through the same FAFSA application, using HCC school code 010422.

Texas State Grants

The Texas Public Education Grant (TPEG) helps eligible residents cover tuition and fees when costs exceed their Student Aid Index. For continuing education welding programs, TPEG awards are fixed by enrollment: $500 for 6-8 credits, $750 for 9-11 credits, and $1,000 for 12 or more credits. TPEG does not pay for books, materials, tools, or supplies, and the continuing education application is first-come, first-served. The Texas Educational Opportunity Grant (TEOG) is another state option for eligible students, but amounts and deadlines vary, so check with HCC financial aid.

HCC Foundation and Welding-Specific Scholarships

The HCC Foundation scholarship application opens June 15, 2026, with a deadline of December 15, 2026.1 Minimum requirements often include a 2.0 GPA and at least 6 credit hours per semester, though individual scholarships may ask for more. The SPARK FOR THE FUTURE scholarship from Woven Metal Products targets welding or metal fabrication students in Brazoria, Fort Bend, Harris, or Galveston counties, with completion on or after August 15, 2026.2

Payment Plans

HCC offers installment payment plans that let you spread tuition and fees across the term instead of paying all at once. Contact the business office or check your student account for current enrollment windows and any setup fees.

Accreditation, Approvals, and Industry Certifications

The welding program's public record points to one institutional accreditor and one AWS code: SACSCOC and D1.1. That narrow focus matters because students need to know which approvals are documented and which are not.

Institutional Accreditation

The college's institutional accreditation is through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). However, available 2026 materials do not clearly establish the current accreditation status, so prospective students should verify directly with the college before enrolling. No separate programmatic accreditation or approval by another accreditor is identified in the welding program's published information.

AWS SENSE and Program Approvals

The program is not currently listed as an AWS SENSE Accredited Training Program or an AWS Accredited Test Facility in the sources reviewed.2 AWS SENSE registration would require meeting AWS QC21 standards3, but no public listing confirms that status for this program in 2026.

Certification Alignment

Each welding credential is built around an AWS D1.1 structural steel test at the end of the session.1 Students who complete a session are prepared to test for D1.1 certification for the applicable welding process. The published materials reference only D1.1; they do not describe preparation for other AWS codes such as D1.2, D1.5, B2.1, API, or ASME.

On-Site AWS Testing

The school identifies on-site AWS D1.1 testing at the end of each session.1 The source does not state the testing location or whether it is an AWS Accredited Test Facility. The source does not state whether this is an AWS Accredited Test Facility or whether testing occurs at other campuses.

Admissions Requirements and How to Apply

Houston City College does not publish welding-specific academic or physical prerequisites for the Welding Technology program. The steps below reflect what HCC confirms for welding and general enrollment.

  • Application & deadline
    Submit the online application and complete registration at least one week before your class start. For 2026, the regular term application deadline was January 2, 2026 (classes began January 12, 2026), and the second 4-week term deadline was January 30, 2026 (classes began February 9, 2026).
  • Placement testing
    TSI testing is required before first enrollment for all Associate of Applied Science degrees and Level II certificates. HCC does not currently confirm whether the TSI is required for Level I certificate or continuing education welding courses.
  • Prerequisites and physical requirements
    No minimum age, high school diploma/GED, prior welding experience, GPA, or physical standards (lifting, vision, color perception) are stated on HCC's welding pages. Contact admissions if you have specific concerns.
  • Admissions policy
    Houston City College welding is not described as selective or open enrollment. Admission appears to be based on completing the application, any required testing, and registering before the deadline.
  • International & transfer students
    HCC's welding program pages do not list separate international or transfer requirements. International or transfer applicants should contact HCC admissions directly for credential evaluation and visa/transfer steps.

Campus-by-Campus Welding Programs and Facilities

Some HCC welding students train at a dedicated campus lab where hands-on practice is the focus; others start through the centralized Workforce Center before moving into campus-based continuing education. The school offers the Welding Technician Continuing Education program at three campus locations, with a fourth campus housing welding in its workforce hub.

South Campus

South Campus is one of the primary locations for HCC's Welding Technician Continuing Education program. The campus is open Monday through Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m., Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.; it is closed Sunday. The welding continuing education office keeps different hours, Monday through Thursday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., so students should confirm availability before visiting. Detailed campus-by-campus counts of welding booths or equipment such as MIG, TIG, stick, or pipe are not available in the materials reviewed, so exact lab setups can vary by site.

Eastside and Stafford Campuses

Both Eastside Campus and Stafford Campus also offer the Welding Technician Continuing Education program. These locations serve students in different parts of the Houston metro area. Specific credential titles, equipment inventories, and booth counts are not broken out by campus in public program listings, and schedules can differ from the South Campus example. Prospective students should contact the continuing education office at each campus for current lab capacity and class times.

Central Campus Workforce Center

Central Campus houses welding in its Workforce Center, which opened in 2018. Unlike South, Eastside, and Stafford, Central is not listed with a standalone welding credential title in the available materials; instead, welding sits among several workforce programs in that facility. Students interested in Central should ask whether the welding offering there is introductory, continuing education, or a pathway into credit-based coursework.

HCC Locations and Contact

HCC's Central Campus is located at 3100 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002. For program-specific questions, the welding continuing education office at South Campus is a practical first point of contact, and HCC's continuing education staff can direct students to the campus with the next available section.

Employer Connections and Graduate Outcomes

Where do Houston Community College welding graduates actually find work, and how much do they earn after the program? The answer is clearer on direction than on an exact welding-only placement number, because HCC publishes broad workforce outcomes more than program-specific welding rates.

What HCC Reports

In an August 2024 workforce-program interview, HCC described employment or placement at "around 92 to 95% given each year."1 That figure is institution-wide across workforce programs, not welding-specific, and HCC does not publish the cohort size, follow-up period, or methodology behind it. The Welding Technology program page in 2026 emphasizes hands-on training and "strong industry alignment" for "high-paying, in-demand careers," but it does not list a numerical welding placement rate or named employer partners. A 2025 Texas Workforce Commission apprenticeship grant was announced, but available information does not identify it as welding-focused.

Earnings Benchmarks

College Scorecard data for HCC overall shows median earnings of $31,319 six years after entry and $39,254 ten years after entry, with median graduate debt of $13,921. These are institution-wide medians, not welding-only. A related Precision Metal Working certificate classification, with 63 graduates per year, reports first-year earnings of $24,141 and second-year earnings of $31,852, plus median debt of $9,5002; that classification may not match HCC's Welding Technology exactly. An older 2016 HCC story described one student moving from $30,000 to $70,000 after welding training, while an instructor said entry-level welders could earn $18 to $20 per hour.2 Treat that as an illustrative example, not a current guarantee.

Career Services and Houston Employers

HCC students can usually access the college's career services for job fairs, resume help, and interview preparation, though welding-specific supports are not separately described in published sources. No formal hiring list is published for Houston employers. Graduates typically compete for welding and fitting jobs in petrochemical, construction, fabrication, and industrial maintenance settings around the Houston metro, where demand for welding skills is strong, but specific employer outcomes are not reported for this program. Students should ask the welding department for current employer contacts, welder job boards, and upcoming job fairs.

Industry salary guides report that certified welders earn 15 to 20 percent more than uncertified peers. AWS notes that certified welding inspectors can earn $70,000 to $90,000 a year, and certified ironworker welders or foremen can top $80,000.