Del Mar College Welding Programs and Certification Paths

A practical guide to Del Mar College welding credentials, costs, and certification prep.

Welding in Corpus Christi is not a generalist trade; it is an industrial skill tied to refinery turnarounds, shipyard repairs, and code-driven fabrication. Among welding schools in Texas, Del Mar College turns that demand into a stackable pathway, from a short workforce award to a certificate and then an AAS in Welding Applied Technology.

The differentiator is certification preparation. Del Mar runs NCCER Core review with on-site testing at the Windward Campus and offers AWS D1.1 prep, which lets students practice under the same code-driven pressure they will face in Coastal Bend hiring halls.

Cost, admissions, booth time, and employer connections all feed the same calculation: whether the credential can pay back the out-of-pocket total fast enough to justify leaving a paycheck behind.

Programs at Del Mar College

Welding

  • Financial aid available
  • Level I Certificate in Welding
  • Program code: WWLD.CER1
  • Part of Industrial Technology

Del Mar College Welding Programs: Credentials, Lengths, and Schedules

Del Mar College publishes welding credentials at several levels, including a short workforce award, a certificate, and an associate degree. The catalog does not list every scheduling detail or a fixed credit total for each option, so prospective students should confirm current sessions and credit conversion directly with the college.

CredentialTime to CompleteDelivery FormatCredit Hours
Welding Helper Workforce Skills Award (WSA)Not stated in the catalogContinuing Education courses; day, evening, weekend, online, or hybrid format not statedConvertible to credit; no fixed credit-hour total published
Welding Applied Technology, Associate of Applied ScienceFive semesters (suggested plan)Available at Windward Campus; day, evening, weekend, online, or hybrid scheduling not stated11 credits per semester on the five-semester plan; overall total not published
Advanced Welding - Level II, CertificateNot stated in the catalogAvailable at Windward Campus; day, evening, weekend, online, or hybrid scheduling not statedNot displayed

Del Mar College Welding Tuition and Fees: Current Costs

Choosing a welding program at Del Mar College usually comes down to a tradeoff between the published per-credit price and the actual out-of-pocket total , the full welding school cost picture , once lab fees, tools, and certification costs are added. Del Mar publishes clear residency-based tuition rates, but the biggest planning risk is assuming those base figures cover everything a welding student will pay. The cost picture has three parts: what Del Mar publishes, what it does not publish, and how to build a realistic budget.

Published Tuition by Residency

Del Mar College's 2025-2026 tuition schedule sets Texas in-district and out-of-district tuition at $75 per credit hour. Out-of-state and foreign students pay $112 per credit hour. The minimum semester tuition is $75 for Texas in-district and out-of-district students, and $250 for out-of-state or foreign students. Although the per-credit tuition is the same for Texas residents, the published semester totals differ because required fees apply by residency.

  • In-district: $418 for 3 credits; $1,417 for 12 credits; $1,750 for 15 credits.
  • Out-of-district: $568 for 3 credits; $2,017 for 12 credits; $2,500 for 15 credits.
  • Out-of-state: $679 for 3 credits; $2,461 for 12 credits; $3,055 for 15 credits.

Del Mar's published estimates assume 12 semester hours, or four regular 3-credit courses, and note that additional courses, specialized instruction, labs, or uniforms may increase costs.

Welding-Specific Fees and Supplies

Del Mar has not posted a welding-specific lab-fee schedule or tool-kit price among its public cost pages. The base tuition-and-fee totals above exclude or may not include course-based charges such as laboratory, testing, and certification fees. That is important because welding students should expect consumables, personal protective equipment, welding tools, and certification tests to add to the enrollment total. Request a line-item cost sheet from the welding program before comparing credentials.

Certificate vs. AAS Total Cost

The available degree-plan information identifies the Welding Applied Technology, Associate of Applied Science credential, but Del Mar does not list the AAS program's total required semester credit hours or an estimated total program cost on the public pages reviewed. Because campus sources do not publish a welding-specific lab fee amount or a separate certificate total, a reliable certificate-versus-AAS cost comparison cannot be built from the public figures alone. Students should ask for a current degree plan with total credit hours and a complete estimate that includes books, tools, uniforms, testing, and certification. Because the per-credit rate is flat within each residency category, the key missing piece is the total required credit count. Once the program office supplies that number, students can multiply it by $75 or $112 and then add current fees.

Planning with Published Rates

As a starting point, a full-time 12-credit semester totals about $1,417 for in-district students, $2,017 for out-of-district students, and $2,461 for out-of-state students. A 15-credit semester totals $1,750, $2,500, and $3,055 respectively. The college's current tuition page labels the schedule Summer and Fall 2026, with the same totals as the 2025-2026 schedule. All amounts should be treated as the most recent published figures and are subject to change. Because tuition is billed per credit, any change in the degree plan's credit total will shift the final program cost.

Financial Aid and Scholarships for Del Mar Welding Students

Funding a welding credential usually splits into two tracks: filing the FAFSA to access federal and state aid, or combining Texas workforce grants with local industry scholarships that may follow different eligibility rules. Del Mar College supports both, but the strongest packages almost always start with the same first step.

Start with the FAFSA or TASFA

For the 2026-2027 aid year, Del Mar College's FAFSA school code is 003563. Submit the FAFSA even if you are unsure you will qualify; it is the gate for federal grants, work-study, and most scholarships. Students who cannot complete the FAFSA should file the 2026-2027 TASFA instead so the financial aid office can review Texas state aid eligibility.

Del Mar awards aid in this order: grants, work-study, then loans. That means gift aid is applied before you are offered borrowing options. Federal work-study is need-based and requires a "yes" answer on the FAFSA each year, but not every eligible student is placed. Texas College Work-Study operates during fall and spring semesters only.

Texas grants and workforce funding

Texas Public Education Grant, or TPEG, can cover basic tuition for certain continuing education workforce courses and programs, including some welding offerings. Availability depends on the current schedule, so ask financial aid whether your section qualifies before registering.

For continuing education welding courses, the 2026-2027 aid process can require the FAFSA, requested documentation such as tax transcripts, and the CE Financial Aid Application. Welding Helper and Welding are listed as Workforce Skills Award pathways under Del Mar's Freedom to Dream 2.0 initiative, which requires a FAFSA and may include tuition support for select continuing education programs. Confirm current eligibility with financial aid before assuming a waiver.

TEXAS Grant is another state option for Texas residents with financial need who receive their first disbursement within 16 months of high school graduation. The Texas Educational Opportunity Grant, or TEOG, has published per-semester maximums of $2,134 for 2025-2026 and $2,886 for 2024-2025; updated 2026-2027 figures are not yet listed. Workforce Solutions of the Coastal Bend may also help eligible students with subsidized child care or textbook assistance. Call 361-882-7491 or visit 520 N. Staples Street in Corpus Christi to check qualification.

Welding-specific scholarships and payment plans

The Del Mar College Foundation scholarship cycle for 2026-2027 opened February 1, 2026, and closed April 30, 2026. For the next cycle, contact the Foundation or financial aid office early. Phillips 66 presented $10,000 in scholarships to Del Mar in 2026, with support directed to programs including welding applied technology. Award availability varies year to year, and most scholarships still require a FAFSA on file.

Del Mar offers installment payment plans for welding school cost, including tuition and fees. Continuing education welding courses may use a different plan than credit courses, so confirm before you register.

  • Financial aid office: 361-698-1293 or [email protected]
  • Windward Campus financial aid: 361-698-1726

Admissions Requirements and Application Process for Del Mar Welding

Del Mar College has two welding entry points: credit welding programs through standard college admissions, and the Welding Helper workforce program with separate requirements.

  • Choose your welding path
    Credit welding certificates and degree programs follow standard Del Mar admissions. Welding Helper requires students to be at least 18, does not require a high school diploma or GED, and recommends reading and math skills around a 9th-grade level.
  • Apply through ApplyTexas
    Complete the ApplyTexas application for credit welding. No separate welding deadline is published; register during Del Mar's regular fall, spring, or summer registration periods.
  • Submit official transcripts
    Credit applicants need a final official high school transcript and official college transcripts when applicable. Transcripts are kept for one year; if you do not enroll and later reapply, new official transcripts are required.
  • Complete TSI or qualify for an exemption
    New credit students take the TSI Assessment after the Pre-Assessment Activity unless they have an approved exemption. Transfer students may be exempt in some subject areas. Welding Helper does not require TSI.
  • Attend orientation and register
    First-time-in-college students complete mandatory orientation before registering through WebDMC or in person. Students 21 or younger also need meningitis vaccination documentation unless exempt.
  • Dual-credit, early college, and next step
    High school students can ask about dual-credit or early college welding options. To apply, visit Del Mar College admissions, start ApplyTexas, and contact the Admissions Office for help with transcripts, TSI, and registration.

How Del Mar College Prepares You for Welding Certification

Del Mar College's Welding Applied Technology program combines directed coursework, NCCER Core, and AWS D1.1 preparation to move students toward entry-level certification. NCCER Core review and testing are held on site at Windward Campus, while available program pages confirm D1.1-related prep but not routine on-campus AWS exam administration. Earning these credentials can strengthen a welder's position for industrial construction, fabrication, and maintenance work across the Corpus Christi area.

Four-step welding certification pathway: NCCER Core, welding coursework, AWS D1.1 preparation, and certification testing.

Welding Facilities, Equipment, and Campus Locations

Welding training increasingly depends on booth time and repeated arc-on practice, the focus of an Introduction to Welding, and Del Mar College centers that hands-on work at the Windward Campus in Corpus Christi. The Welding Applied Technology program uses the Metals Technology Building and the Workforce Development Center at 4101 Old Brownsville Road, putting instruction in dedicated welding lab venues rather than general-purpose classrooms.

Windward Campus Welding Lab

Those two buildings house the program's booth-based instruction. Del Mar College's published materials name the Metals Technology Building and Workforce Development Center as the welding labs, and a campus welding competition has used those same spaces. That setup reinforces a shop-floor model, with students training in controlled welding areas rather than lecture halls.

Booth Capacity and Renovation

A 2025 renovation converted about 6,000 square feet into additional welding lab space and added 50 booths. Del Mar College's board materials from that year describe a Windward Campus capacity of 167 welding booths after the January renovation, with welding serving 2,326 students through dual-credit, dual-enrollment, and traditional pathways. Because the college also reported 162 booths across five campuses during the renovation period, the total may reflect different reporting stages. The published materials do not confirm a per-building booth count or whether all 167 booths were fully operational as of September 2026.

Processes Taught in the Lab

Instruction covers the core Welding Processes employers expect: shielded metal arc welding (SMAW), gas metal arc welding (GMAW), gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW), and flux-cored arc welding (FCAW). A course listing also includes oxy-fuel welding (OFW). The college does not publish equipment brands or specific power-source models for the Windward welding labs. Booth-based training supports the sustained repetition and controlled work stations that help students build production-shop habits.

Lab Access and Other Locations

The college does not publish a separate open-lab schedule or set evening and weekend hours for welding students. Scheduled instruction and events use the Metals Technology Building and Workforce Development Center, but outside-class booth access is not spelled out in public materials. Students who want extra hood time should contact the Welding Applied Technology program directly. Board documents reference welding booths across five campuses, but retrieved material names only the Windward Campus as the primary site for this program. Prospective students should confirm any non-Windward welding sections with the college before planning around them.