Top Online Welding Schools in America: 2027 Ranked List

Compare accredited online welding schools by cost, hands-on training, and job placement rates.

Welder job openings are projected to reach roughly 336,000 through 2026, driven mostly by retirements rather than new positions, and employers still expect candidates to pass hands-on certification testing before hiring. That reality creates a real tension for anyone comparing programs: online coursework offers flexibility for career-changers juggling work and family, but welding is a physical craft that ultimately requires supervised booth time and in-person weld testing.

Only a handful of programs nationally meet a strict fully-online definition, evaluated here on accreditation, curriculum depth, and reported outcomes rather than marketing claims. Hybrid programs dominate the field for a reason: theory alone doesn't produce a certified welder.

10 Fully Online Welding Schools in the U.S.

These three schools represent the fully online welding programs that met our online-only filter this year. Each program below is offered 100% online with no hybrid attendance requirement, so the listed coursework can be completed without commuting to a campus. Tuition, graduation rates, and program-level outcomes shown in the cards come from federal education data published in 2024.

Factors considered
  • Long-term earnings after entry
  • Program completion and graduation rates
  • Tuition adjusted for regional costs
  • Fully online program delivery
Data sources
  • Independent program research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

Morgan Community College

#1

Fort Morgan, CO · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Career changers wanting stackable welding credentials

Morgan Community College in Fort Morgan, Colorado, offers a compact Basic Welding certificate built around shielded metal arc welding, blueprint reading, and oxyfuel and plasma cutting. The 21-credit program runs across four semesters and enforces a 2.0 GPA with at least a C in every required course. It is a fully online offering, and the college's wider catalog includes an associate degree and specialized welding certificates for learners who want a longer pathway.

  • 21 total credit hours
  • 2.0 GPA minimum
  • Minimum grade of C in each course
  • Covers SMAW I and II, blueprint reading, and oxyfuel and plasma cutting
  • 25% of credits taken at MCC
  • Not eligible for federal financial aid

Nicolet Area Technical College

#2

Rhinelander, WI · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Self-paced learners needing code-aligned welding training

Nicolet Area Technical College in Rhinelander, Wisconsin, offers a welding technical diploma that covers SMAW, GMAW, flux core, and GTAW, plus blueprint reading, fabrication, and weld inspection. Welds are checked against the AWS D1.1 structural steel code, which helps students prepare for certification or job-entry performance tests. The fully online program uses competency-based pacing and multiple start dates, and reported median earnings for this program are $43,508.

  • $7,855 total program tuition
  • 30 total credit hours
  • Covers SMAW, GMAW, flux core, and GTAW
  • Weld quality checked against AWS D1.1 code
  • Robotic welding and computerized cutting applications
  • Competency-based pacing with multiple start dates
  • Financial aid available
  • $43,508 median earnings

Camden County College

#3

Blackwood, NJ · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Apprentices needing online welding theory credits

Camden County College in Blackwood, New Jersey, offers a one-year Welding Apprentice certificate delivered fully online. The 30-week program focuses on welding theory, setup, cutting techniques, electricity, and safety for industrial settings, and it is designed to complement an apprenticeship or on-the-job training. The 12 minimum credit certificate can feed into an associate degree, including the college's transfer-oriented industrial maintenance pathway.

  • 1-year, 30-week online program
  • 12 total credit hours
  • Fully online option available
  • Related technical theory for apprenticeship training
  • Credits may transfer to associate degree programs
  • Covers welding safety, cutting techniques, and electrical theory
  • Prepares maintenance technicians
  • Register through Workforce Development

Cost Comparison: Tuition and Fees for Fully Online Welding Programs

Costs below compare published in-state and out-of-state tuition, institution-wide net price after grant and scholarship aid, and median federal student loan debt at the institutional level. Net price is an average across all students after aid and does not reflect an individual student's actual bill; the three schools do not publish itemized program-specific fees or tool and equipment costs. For context, welding technology and welder programs nationally averaged $1,348 for books and supplies in 2024-25, and the maximum Federal Pell Grant for 2026-27 is $7,395 for eligible undergraduates, but neither figure is guaranteed for these programs.

SchoolProgramIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionInstitution Net Price After AidMedian Federal Student Loan Debt (Institution-Wide)Notes
Camden County CollegeWelding Apprentice$4,416$4,416$5,996$11,851No program-specific fee or tool/equipment schedule published
Nicolet Area Technical CollegeWelding$4,793$7,066$8,255$7,837Financial aid available; no itemized tool/equipment costs published
Morgan Community CollegeBasic Welding$4,252$16,852$9,266$8,501Program listing states not eligible for financial aid; no itemized fees published

Accreditation and AWS Certification Pathways for Online Welding

When you're comparing online welding programs, two different kinds of credentials get mentioned, and they aren't interchangeable. Institutional accreditation (bodies like ACCSC or COE) verifies that a school itself meets educational standards. Programmatic approval through the AWS SENSE (Schools Excelling through National Skill Standards Education) framework is a separate thing entirely: it's a curriculum and training-standards designation from the American Welding Society, not a stand-in for institutional accreditation. A school can advertise SENSE-aligned coursework without holding formal SENSE registration, so it's worth asking directly whether a program carries current AWS SENSE approval, ACCSC accreditation, or both, rather than assuming one implies the other.

What AWS Certification Actually Requires

The credential most graduates pursue is the AWS Certified Welder designation. It's performance-based: you weld a prescribed test piece under an applicable AWS specification, and it's evaluated through the AWS testing system. Notably, it has no prerequisite courses or certifications attached, so a determined online student can theoretically test without ever completing a formal SENSE track. Application runs $55, with a $30 renewal fee.

SENSE-based training is a different cost structure entirely. Enrollment in an accredited SENSE Level I program is a prerequisite for that pathway3, and schools that register typically absorb costs like the $20 per-student assessment fee, a $500 Level I fee, $600 for Level II, and a $100 upgrade fee. Curriculum includes a required thermal-cutting module, plus knowledge exams, visual inspection, and destructive testing as assessment methods.2

Why Testing Still Happens in Person

Here's the part online programs can't shortcut: AWS is explicit that certification cannot be earned entirely online. Coursework, theory, and exam prep can happen remotely, but the actual weld test has to happen in person, typically at an AWS Accredited Test Facility (ATF). Not every community college, employer shop, or local welding outfit qualifies as an ATF; the facility has to hold its own AWS accreditation. Online students generally need to locate a nearby ATF through the AWS directory and schedule an appointment independently.

Budget for this beyond tuition. The complete cost at a given ATF isn't standardized, facilities set their own charges for testing time, materials, consumables, administration, and any retest. Before enrolling in a fully online program, ask directly whether the school currently holds ACCSC or COE accreditation and verified AWS SENSE status, since these details change and aren't always easy to confirm from marketing pages alone.

Federal projections show welder jobs growing just 2% from 2025 to 2035, slower than average. Even so, the industry expects to need about 336,000 new welding professionals by 2026, mostly to replace retiring workers rather than to fill newly created positions.

Hands-On Training and Online Legitimacy: What You Need to Know

A fully online welding program can teach the theory, safety rules, and machine settings behind a good weld, but it cannot by itself make you a welder.

What Online Components Actually Cover

Online welding courses typically pair recorded or live instruction with virtual simulations. For example, Butler Community College's Welder Technician Program includes five virtual labs in its $3,699 program, and those labs focus on weld sequence, settings, and safety rather than hand skill. Simulations are useful for building knowledge, but they do not create proficiency. Because of that, most credible programs still require supervised in-person welding, either through a campus intensive or an approved local proctored lab. Some programs allow a local lab only if the school approves the site, instructor, and equipment, and not every online program offers this option. There is no single national format for how many campus days or local lab hours are required, so confirm the exact arrangement before enrolling.

What You Should Expect to Buy

If equipment is not bundled into tuition, expect a basic student tool kit in the $195 to $299 range plus tax. PIT Weld U lists a kit at $299 plus tax and a tuition of $4,250 that includes OSHA-10, an AWS membership, and a certification test. Butler Community College includes a 25-piece kit inside its $3,699 tuition. Seminole State College provides tools through lab fees, with a total of $84 per credit. A fuller home setup may still require a machine, helmet, protective clothing, consumables, practice metal, shipping, and certification test fees. Check whether the published price covers all of these items or only virtual access.

State Licensing and Employer Acceptance

Most states do not require a separate welding license, but some state and local regulators do.1 A 2026 state-by-state summary lists Alabama, California, Connecticut, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island as having some form of welder licensure. Fees often run from $60 to $160, averaging about $76; Alabama can total $160 to $450 and may require ASME Section IX for pressure-vessel work. State authorization for an online school to enroll residents is not the same as meeting that state's occupational licensing, practical training, or exam requirements. AWS, ASME, and API qualifications generally require you to weld in front of a certified tester, not just complete coursework.2 Many employers list AWS certification as required or preferred, so a purely online credential may not meet hiring thresholds unless paired with an in-person qualification test.3 Before paying, verify that the program satisfies your state's rules and the hiring standards of employers you are targeting.

Job Placement Rates and Career Outcomes for Online Welding Graduates

Program-level median earnings and employment shares are not yet published for the three online programs in the directory. The table below combines the available institution-level earnings and debt figures for those programs with self-reported placement rates and employer partnerships from welding schools. Treat self-reported and third-party placement figures cautiously because each source uses a different cohort and reporting window.

SchoolProgram or trainingReported placement rateGraduation rateReported starting wageEmployer partners or notesInstitution median earnings (all graduates)Median federal loan debt
Nicolet Area Technical CollegeWelding certificateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedProgram-level earnings and employment share not published$38,643$7,837
Morgan Community CollegeBasic Welding certificateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedProgram-level earnings and employment share not published$39,429$8,501
Camden County CollegeWelding Apprentice certificateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedProgram-level earnings and employment share not published$41,212$11,851
Western Welding AcademyProfessional Welding program94% hired within 90 days (2024 survey of 234 alumni)85%Not reportedSpaceX; Steam 88; UFO MotorsportsNot reportedNot reported
Penn FosterOnline Welding Technology70% placement (third-party estimate, unverified)Not reportedNot reportedSelf-paced online program; no independently verified outcomesNot reportedNot reported
GoodwillWelding training program70% enrolled to placedNot reported$14.66/hr average starting wage66% still employed after 6 months; 211 full-time placementsNot reportedNot reported
North Florida State CollegeWelding Technology program90% job placementNot reportedNot reportedNo fully online verification or employer partner listNot reportedNot reported
Lake Technical CollegeApplied Welding TechnologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSunbelt Metals & Manufacturing; NCAD Products; Belew's WeldingNot reportedNot reported

How to Choose the Right Fully Online Welding School

The real decision isn't online versus campus. It's how you combine the flexibility of online theory with the supervised practice and physical weld testing that employers still demand. Welding cannot be fully completed online; the coursework you finish from home has to connect to real hands-on hours somewhere.

Match the Credential to Your Goal

Credentials carry different weight, and the labels vary between schools:

  • Certificates: The fastest path. Short-term entry certificates run 6 weeks to 4 months, while standard certificates run 6 to 18 months. A focused MIG certificate can prep entry-level work in as little as 6 months.
  • Diplomas: Typically 8 months to a year, with broader process coverage than a short certificate, though there's no standardized national curriculum.
  • Associate degrees: Usually around two years full time. Beal University's online associate completion runs 8 months, but it requires an existing Welding Technology Diploma first, so the full path from diploma to degree takes longer.

If your goal is a shop job soon, a certificate or diploma with verified practice may serve you. If you're eyeing supervisory or engineering-adjacent roles, an associate degree adds academic depth.

Weigh the Online Trade-Offs

Online delivery excels at academics: metallurgy, blueprint reading, codes, and safety theory. It fits working students and those far from a campus. What it can't replicate is supervised equipment operation, position practice, instructor correction, and a proctored weld test. Many employers test applicants regardless of what's on the résumé, so a theory-only credential without demonstrated skill may fall short.

Verify Before You Enroll

Before paying anything, confirm the practical details: exact supervised lab hours, where the hands-on training happens, whether equipment is supplied, how many certifications the program prepares you for, and where you'll take your physical weld test. Also verify the school is authorized to operate in your state.