Programs at Maysville Community and Technical College
Welding
- 13 concentration options
- Go to work in many industries as a specialist in one of the most highly paid skilled trades
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Lowest tuition in Kentucky
- Work Ready KY Scholarship available
- Hands-on welding techniques
- Prepares for certification standards
- Combination Welder Diploma available
- AWS National Skills Standards Level I Certificate
- Pipeline welding certificates offered
- Read blueprints and fabricate
Welding Programs and Credential Pathways at MCTC
Maysville Community and Technical College (MCTC) structures its welding training as a progressive path within the Welding and Metal Fabrication program. The credit-bearing options move from certificate to diploma to associate degree, allowing students to enter the workforce or continue toward the next credential. A separate non-credit online Welder Technician course is also listed in some continuing education materials, but its schedule and credit details are not published with the credit program.
| Credential | Credits | Typical Time to Complete | Scheduling | Stacking / Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Welding Certificate | 27 credits | 1 year / 2 semesters (typical full-time schedule) | Day and evening | First credential; can be built upon in the diploma and A.A.S. |
| Welding and Metal Fabrication Diploma | 45 credits | Not specified in available materials | Not specified; not confirmed as day/evening/weekend | Middle credential; offered as an option after or alongside the certificate, but exact transfer/stacking map is not published. |
| Welding and Metal Fabrication A.A.S. | 60 credits | Not specified in available materials | Not specified; not confirmed as day/evening/weekend | Highest credit-bearing option; includes additional coursework beyond the diploma, but detailed stacking and general-education breakdown are not stated. |
MCTC Welding Campus Locations and Facilities
MCTC's Welding Technology program is distributed across several campuses, although campus level details are limited. Maysville, Rowan, and Licking Valley campuses each list welding courses as offered. The Montgomery campus in Mt. Sterling has a welding training facility planned through a federal grant, with program details not yet fully published.
| Campus | City | Credentials Offered | Lab/Booth Capacity | Facility Highlights |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maysville Campus | Maysville, Kentucky | Welding courses are offered | Not reported | Not reported |
| Rowan Campus | Morehead, Kentucky | Welding courses are offered | Not reported | Not reported |
| Licking Valley Campus | Cynthiana, Kentucky | Welding courses are offered | Not reported | Not reported |
| Montgomery Campus | Mt. Sterling, Kentucky | Not reported | Not reported | Welding training facility planned using a federal grant (2024) |
Admissions Requirements and Application Steps for MCTC Welding
Welding at Maysville Community and Technical College uses the college's open-admission process, not a separate competitive application. Check with the program for any year-specific updates.
- Basic eligibilityA high school diploma or GED is the standard route. MCTC may admit students conditionally if neither is on file, so reach out to admissions if you are finishing high school or need to complete a GED.
- Placement testingThe published admissions page does not require a welding-specific reading or math placement test. ACT Composite 21 or WorkKeys is listed for a separate selective program, not for welding.
- Program courseworkWelding skillset and certificate plans are built around required courses such as WELD 115, WELD 120, WELD 105, WELD 112, COM 125, MAT 135, and IT 101. Course lists can vary by catalog year, so review the current plan before registering.
- Application windowMCTC lists an application window of January 1 through May 31 for classes beginning the following January. A welding-only deadline is not published, so plan around the college deadline unless the program says otherwise.
- Steps to enrollSubmit the Application for Admission, send high school and/or college transcripts and any relevant test scores to the Admissions Office, and apply for financial aid. For welding-specific questions, call (606) 780-6348 or email [email protected].
Online vs. Hands-On: MCTC's Two Welding Training Options
MCTC's online Welder Technician course is a 12-month accelerated training package1, while the Welding Technology program is an industry-driven, hands-on pathway2. The two options serve different schedules and goals, so the right choice often comes down to how much supervised lab time you need and which credential you want to leave with. Understanding the delivery format, lab expectations, and credential outcome for each can prevent wasted time.
Delivery Format and Time Commitment
The online Welder Technician course is delivered remotely and designed to be completed within 12 months, a format common among best online welding schools.1 That structure fits working adults, parents, or students who need to train around a job and cannot attend campus every day. The hands-on Welding Technology program is built around scheduled in-person instruction and workshop practice at MCTC facilities, so it requires a more traditional time commitment and regular campus attendance.2
Lab Time and Skill Development
Online delivery covers theory, safety, and technical knowledge portions of welding, but it does not replace booth time. Students in the online course should plan local hands-on practice or confirm with MCTC how any lab requirements are satisfied. The Welding Technology program builds supervised lab work directly into the curriculum, which means regular time under the hood to develop weld technique and pass hands-on assessments.
Credit and Credential Outcomes
The hands-on Welding Technology program is the main path to MCTC welding credentials, including certificate and diploma options. It is structured to move students toward industry certification and entry-level welding jobs. The online Welder Technician course is a focused training package, so students should ask MCTC admissions whether it carries college credit, counts as non-credit workforce training, or stacks into the hands-on program before enrolling. Students who plan to stack credentials should map out how the online course fits that sequence.
- Best for flexibility: Online Welder Technician course, 12-month timeline, remote delivery.
- Best for supervised skill-building: Hands-on Welding Technology program, in-person lab time and stackable credentials.
If you can attend campus and want the longest credential ladder, start with the Welding Technology program. If you need to train remotely first and gain experience later, the online Welder Technician course is a smaller, faster first step.
AWS Certification Testing and Lab Experience
Welder certifications have shifted from a nice-to-have credential to a hiring gate at many employers, making the path from lab practice to an AWS test a central part of program choice. For Maysville Community and Technical College (MCTC), that path begins with AWS-aligned welding instruction, but several practical details require direct confirmation.
Certification Preparation and Testing Availability
MCTC describes its Welding Technology program as providing a foundation for American Welding Society (AWS) certification. The college does not currently state that it is an AWS Accredited Test Facility, and its Testing Center page describes proctored exam scheduling rather than AWS welder certification testing specifically. Students may need to complete AWS certification at an outside accredited test facility. MCTC also has not published the specific AWS credentials, welding processes, positions, or code qualifications covered in the program.
Lab Experience and Booth Time
MCTC has not published specific lab details such as booth count, welding machine inventory, ventilation setup, or supervised practice hour totals in the materials reviewed. Without those figures, students cannot tell how much one-on-one booth time to expect. Prospective students should ask the welding faculty directly about booth availability, equipment condition, process coverage, and how much of each class period is spent under the hood.
Published Pass Rates
No AWS certification exam pass rate is currently published for MCTC's welding program. The absence of a published rate does not mean students are not passing, but it does mean applicants should ask whether the program tracks first-time pass rates and whether students typically test during or after completing the sequence.
For current testing and lab details, contact MCTC's welding program office or Testing Center directly before enrolling.
Salary Insight: Welding Wages in Kentucky
Welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers in Kentucky earn a median annual wage of $51,470 as of May 2025.
Employer Connections and Welding Job Placement
Maysville Community and Technical College has not released a welding-specific job placement rate for its welding graduates. The program's public materials are light on formal employer partnership lists, so prospective students exploring welding schools in Kentucky should treat local hiring connections as something to confirm with faculty rather than a published metric. Employer connections often happen through apprenticeships and faculty referrals, so the absence of a published list does not mean there are no hiring partners.
Link-Belt Cranes as a Visible Hiring Pipeline
The clearest outcome story available involves Link-Belt Cranes. One MCTC student completed an apprenticeship and moved into a full-time welding position after earning credentials.1 Link-Belt reports that its relationship with the college has led many former students into welding, machining, and diesel mechanic roles, and that some of those hires have been promoted into leadership positions.1 This suggests a real local pathway, but it is a single employer story, not an official placement rate.
What MCTC Does Not Claim
MCTC's welding program pages do not list a formal roster of hiring manufacturers or construction firms for the Maysville campuses. No welding-specific placement percentage is reported in the available program materials. Students who want a clearer picture of current employer demand should ask the welding faculty which companies have recently hired graduates or hosted apprentices.
Questions to Ask Before You Enroll
- Which employers have hired recent MCTC welding graduates?
- Are apprenticeship-to-full-time pathways available in your area?
- Does the program host on-campus recruiting events or job fairs?
- What resume and interview support does MCTC offer welding students?
While the welding pages themselves do not detail a separate employer relations program, MCTC students can use the college's general career services to prepare resumes, practice interviews, and connect with local Welding and Fitting Jobs postings. The most reliable route is to contact the welding program coordinator directly, since many employer relationships in this field are maintained by instructors rather than a central placement office.
Did you know? In 2026, AWS Certified Welders nationwide earn roughly 30 percent more than non-certified welders, a difference that often adds an extra $10,000 to $15,000 per year. That makes credential stacking after a Maysville Community and Technical College welding program a direct way to raise your pay.