Programs at WyoTech
Welding
- AWS, ASME, API accredited
- 6-Month program
- 4 start dates per year
- Starts winter/spring/summer/fall
- Capstone required
- Financial aid available
- 70% of time in the shop
- Day and night classes available
- Tools and PPE provided
- Careers: pipe welder, structural welder
- Curriculum aligned with AWS standards
- Project-based learning
- Advanced pipe welding training
- Metallurgy and blueprint reading
What Wyotech Welding Program Costs: Breaking Down Tuition, Tools, and Housing
WyoTech's 6-month Applied Welding Technology program carries a published direct cost of $27,600 for 2026-2027, while the 9-month program with Applied Service Management is $36,100. Housing runs $500 per month for a shared bedroom or $660 per month for a private bedroom on the Laramie campus, and non-housing living costs are not published on the 2026 cost sheet. A $100 refundable tool deposit is included in the direct total.

Wyotech Welding Accreditation: Institutional Vs. Programmatic Approval
When a school says it is accredited, that usually means the whole institution has been reviewed and approved by a recognized agency, not that every individual program has its own seal. WyoTech's institutional accreditor is the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, also known as ACCSC. ACCSC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. WyoTech holds accredited status with ACCSC and identifies that status in its 2025-2026 catalog and accreditation page.
Institutional Accreditation: ACCSC
A City of Laramie document reported that WyoTech's previous five-year ACCSC grant was scheduled to expire in November 2024.1 WyoTech submitted for re-accreditation, completed a campus site visit, and awaited the visit report while remaining in good standing.1 Current materials identify ACCSC accreditation, but they do not state the post-2024 grant's exact effective date, expiration date, or term. WyoTech also received ACCSC's 2024-2025 School of Excellence recognition.2 That award is a recognition, not a separate welding-program accreditation.
Programmatic Approval and State Licensing
Among welding trade schools, WyoTech's Applied Welding Technology program does not list a separate welding-specific programmatic accreditation. The school states that training follows AWS, ASME, and API standards. However, standards alignment is not the same as programmatic accreditation from those organizations. WyoTech is licensed by the Wyoming Department of Education for post-secondary education.1 That state license covers the institution; it is not a separate Wyoming license for the welding program and is not a substitute for institutional or programmatic accreditation.
What the Nine-Month Applied Service Management Credential Adds
WyoTech's 2025-2026 catalog labels Applied Welding Technology as a six-month, 960-clock-hour, 36-semester-credit-hour diploma. Outside reporting sometimes calls the shorter offerings "certifications," but the catalog credential is a diploma. Historical WyoTech Laramie Catalog 2007-2008 and WyoTech Laramie Catalog 2008-2009 describe a separate nine-month Applied Service Management diploma with 500 clock hours and 25 credit units. That online credential added service-management coursework in six consecutive six-week periods and was described as leading to an occupational associate degree in the student's core program. Available current sources do not confirm that this nine-month Applied Service Management credential is still offered under the 2026 catalog.
AWS Certifications and Performance Tests at Wyotech
Employers increasingly ask for proof of specific weld performance rather than just a diploma, and WyoTech's welding program centers its assessments on AWS-style D1.1 plate tests. This matters because many welding job postings list D1.1 qualifications as a preferred credential. The school does not call these qualifications identical to AWS certifications, but says they are "different but very similar."
Credential levels available
WyoTech's Applied Welding Technology program gives students the chance to practice for and complete D1.1 3G and 4G plate tests. These are process-specific:
- GMAW: 3G and 4G plate tests are completed in the GMAW course, supporting 3G MIG Welding Certification preparation.
- FCAW: 3G and 4G plate tests are completed in the FCAW course, supporting 3G FCAW Certification preparation.
- SMAW: Students practice and have the opportunity to complete SMAW tests in Weld II, which teaches flat, horizontal, vertical, and overhead positions on steel plate, including groove and fillet joints, and prepares them for 3G SMAW Certification.
What you pay
WyoTech does not pay certification costs. If a student pursues AWS certification, the student is responsible for any fee. The school's published program charges ($27,500 for the six-month Applied Welding Technology program and $36,000 for the nine-month Applied Welding Technology and Management program, plus a $100 application fee and $100 deposit) are tuition and equipment charges, not stated AWS certification fees. Specific D1.1, SMAW, GMAW, or FCAW certification fees are not published in the catalog. Because AWS fees can vary by test site, budget for any credential attempt separately from tuition.
On-site testing and scheduling
All training is in person at the Laramie, Wyoming campus. The catalog describes these as performance-test opportunities students practice for and have the opportunity to complete, not as guaranteed tests for every student. There are no fixed test dates, recurring exam periods, or guaranteed testing availability listed. WyoTech instructors help students who want to pursue AWS certification, but the available program information does not confirm an AWS-accredited testing facility on campus. Students should confirm current test-day logistics and any outside proctor requirements with admissions before enrolling.
WyoTech announced in 2026 that its Laramie campus acquired a new building and expanded its welding program into a second shop, adding 30 welding booths across 5,500 square feet. The expansion doubles the Applied Welding Technology program starting April 2026.
Wyotech Welding Schedule: Day Shift, Second Shift, and Weekly Shop Hours
WyoTech's welding training follows a full-time Monday through Friday schedule for both the day and evening cohorts. Day shift students attend from 7:00 AM to 4:20 PM, while the second shift runs from 4:30 PM to 1:50 AM. The table below shows the published schedule, hands-on shop time, and cohort capacity before and after the 2026 Laramie facility expansion.
| Schedule Element | Day Shift | Second Shift |
|---|---|---|
| Weekly schedule days | Monday through Friday | Monday through Friday |
| Daily class times | 7:00 AM to 4:20 PM | 4:30 PM to 1:50 AM |
| Hands-on emphasis | Over 50% of time in the shop doing hands-on work on real equipment | Over 50% of time in the shop doing hands-on work on real equipment |
| Shop and classroom split | About 70% shop and 30% classroom | About 70% shop and 30% classroom |
| Cohort capacity after 2026 facility expansion | 30 students attending during the day | Another class for the evening shift students |
| Cohort size before 2026 facility expansion | Around 29 students during the day | Around 29 students during night hours |
Salary Insight: National Median Wage for Welders Is $53,750
The most recent national median wage for welders is $53,750 per year, or $25.84 per hour.
Wyotech Welding Admissions Requirements and Application Steps
WyoTech uses a rolling admissions process for Applied Welding Technology. Applicants may apply at any time, and acceptance is granted after all required documents are received and qualifications are reviewed.
- EducationHigh school diploma or GED (or recognized equivalent) is required.
- AgeStudents must be at least 18 years old. Applicants under 18 may be considered case-by-case with parental consent and a parent/guardian-signed enrollment agreement.
- ApplicationSubmit application documents, including proof of high school graduation or GED, and pay the $100 application fee.
- InterviewAn interview with a WyoTech admissions representative is required before acceptance.
- Program-specific prerequisitesNo additional welding prerequisites are listed beyond the education and age requirements. Students should be prepared for 240 clock hours per Weld I–IV course and meet laptop specifications (Intel i3 or AMD Ryzen 3, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD).
- Deadlines and start datesRolling admissions. Apply at any time; however, some recent public documents indicate April 2026 and later enrollment periods for welding. Contact admissions to confirm upcoming cohort start dates.
Financial Aid and Scholarships for Wyotech Welding Students
Trade-school funding is moving toward earlier FAFSA filing and stricter verification, so WyoTech welding applicants should treat financial aid as a two-step process: submit early and respond quickly if selected.
Federal Aid: FAFSA and Verification
To be considered for federal aid, WyoTech requires the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Use school code 009157 when listing WyoTech. Prospective welding students may apply any time within six months of their expected start date. After the FAFSA processes, the U.S. Department of Education may select an applicant for verification. If selected, WyoTech instructs students to provide requested tax transcripts and forms promptly so the financial aid review can continue. Completing the FAFSA is the only way to get an official eligibility and award determination; no published welding school cost table guarantees a specific grant or loan.
Institutional Scholarships and Outside Funding
WyoTech lists several institutional scholarship opportunities, including Merit, SkillsUSA, FFA, and Prior Training scholarships. In the 2023-2024 catalog, combined institutional scholarships were capped at $10,000, but current award amounts, deadlines, and whether each applies to welding students are not confirmed for 2026. A separate WyoTech Scholarship Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that awards scholarships for automotive, collision and refinishing, and diesel technology programs. The available sources do not identify welding as an eligible field for that foundation, and no WyoTech-specific welding scholarship or workforce grant is currently documented for Applied Welding Technology students.
Payment Plans and Employer Tuition Reimbursement
After other aid is applied, WyoTech can arrange an interest-free payment plan paid in installments while enrolled, with final payment due before course completion. One WyoTech catalog described a six-payment structure with the first payment due on or before the first day of class and the last due before graduation, but that structure is not confirmed as the standard for every 2026 welding enrollment. Employer tuition reimbursement partnerships are not identified in the available WyoTech financial aid sources, so students with employer benefits should confirm eligibility directly with their employer and WyoTech admissions. For aid questions, call WyoTech financial aid at 800-521-7158.
Welding Graduates' Job Placement and Employer Connections
What WyoTech Publishes
WyoTech reports outcomes at the school level, not for welding separately. The most relevant published figures are: - Employed at graduation: 80% of all program graduates. - Graduates employed in 2023: 458 across all programs, up from 255 in 2018. - Graduation rate: 82% in 2025, up from 78% in 2018.
These are institution-level numbers, so welding students should treat them as a general signal rather than a welding-specific placement rate.
Employer Connections
WyoTech does not publish a welding-specific employer partner list. Its career services team supports students through job fairs and employer events; one school post mentioned more than 100 employers at a job fair1, but that is not an official outcomes report and does not break out welding. Because the Laramie campus sits near energy, construction, and manufacturing activity, welding employers often recruit from the school, but WyoTech does not list specific hiring companies for welding graduates. Without a published welding employer list, the best evidence of hiring demand is the number of employers attending job fairs and the school's overall placement rate.
Starting Pay Context
WyoTech does not publish a welding starting salary. Third-party wage data for Wyoming trade school graduates suggests starting wages typically fall between $20 and $30 per hour, but this is not WyoTech-specific. Federal earnings data for Wyoming welding program completers is not yet available. For a realistic expectation, students should compare those statewide trade wages with local job postings and ask career services about recent welding cohorts.
How to Use These Numbers
When evaluating the 6-month Applied Welding Technology diploma, keep in mind that placement outcomes are not reported separately for that program. Instead, use the school-wide 80% employed-at-graduation figure alongside career services conversations, employer attendance at job fairs, and local demand signals. Ask admissions whether they can share recent welding graduate outcomes or employer names; if they cannot, that gap is normal for trade school reporting but still worth noting.
Facilities, Booth Time, and Student-To-Instructor Ratio After the 2027 Expansion
After the April 2026 expansion, WyoTech's Laramie welding program operates 59 welding booths across an expanded shop.
Lab Layout and Equipment
The expanded training space adds 5,500 square feet to the existing welding shop. WyoTech reports that the 30 new booths were built by current welding students alongside the 29 booths already in use, bringing the total to 59. The Applied Welding Technology curriculum covers SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW processes, but WyoTech does not publish separate station counts for each process in its facilities or tour materials. If a specific process, such as TIG welding pipe practice, is central to your goals, ask admissions about station availability before enrolling.
Class Size and Shop Time
Before the expansion, the program housed about 58 students at a time: 29 in the day class and 29 in the night class. After the expansion, WyoTech planned a day class of roughly 30 students and continued an evening class, although the school has not published a post-expansion evening class size. WyoTech reports an overall student-to-instructor ratio of 18:1 with more than 60 instructors, but that ratio is institution-wide and not specific to welding. The welding program states that about 70 percent of training time is hands-on shop time and about 30 percent is classroom, with theory taught in the hands-on environment. WyoTech does not convert that percentage into a published weekly booth-hour figure.
What the 2026 Expansion Changed
The added 30 booths more than doubled the available welding booth capacity from 29 to 59. The new 5,500-square-foot shop increases space for layout, fitting, and practice, and the student-built booths mean more dedicated stations during both day and night classes. For prospective students, the key takeaway is more booth access and a stronger day class footprint, while the exact weekly hands-on welding school hours and a welding-specific instructor ratio remain unpublished.
Related Articles
Wyotech Laramie Campus: Housing and How to Contact Admissions
WyoTech's Laramie campus ties apartment-style housing directly to its admissions office, which makes it easy to confirm costs, contact details, and a campus visit in one conversation.
Housing in Laramie
WyoTech publishes housing as a separate line in each program's cost breakdown. Exact monthly or per-term rates depend on room type, meal plan, and start date, and the school directs applicants to request a current Laramie housing sheet from admissions because published figures change between award years. On-campus housing is located near the main training facility, so students can walk to the welding lab and classrooms. For financial planning, separate housing from tuition rather than merging them into one number. Prospective welders should compare the housing quote with the tuition and tool estimates for their start date, since the combined cost is what affects financial aid planning.
Admissions Contact for Welding Students
- Phone: (307) 742-3776 or (800) 521-7158
- Email: [email protected]
- Web: wyotech.edu
- Campus address: 4373 N 3rd St, Laramie, WY 82072
Next Step
Call or email the Laramie admissions team and ask for the welding program representative. Request a current cost sheet that includes tuition, tools, and housing, then schedule a campus tour to see the welding lab and housing options in person before committing to a start date.