Pueblo Community College Welding: Programs, Costs & Requirements

Compare certificate and AAS options, get cost details, and see how to start welding at PCC.

A one-semester Multi-Process Certificate can put a welder in front of an AWS qualification test before a two-year degree finishes its first general-education course. PCC runs that short path alongside a 34-credit Welding Certificate and a 64-credit Welding Technology AAS.

Across Colorado's Front Range and Western Slope, fabrication, energy, and construction employers report shortages of welders who can pass a hands-on test without extra training. The three PCC options differ sharply in cost and general-education load, and the multi-process track folds certification testing directly into the schedule. Employers tend to hire the welder who passes the test, not the one with the longer transcript.

Programs at Pueblo Community College

Welding

  • 2-Semester program
  • 34 total credit hours
  • Financial aid available
  • Careers in construction and manufacturing
  • Self-employed welder option
  • Advanced instruction available
  • Qualification tests offered
  • SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, Oxyacetylene cutting
  • Print reading and applied metal properties
  • Employment in shortest possible time
  • Small job shops and government centers

Welding Programs at Pueblo Community College: Certificate, AAS, and Multi-Process

Pueblo Community College organizes its welding training around three credentials: a two-semester Welding Certificate (34 credits), a one-semester Multi-Process Certificate, and a Welding Technology Associate of Applied Science (AAS). The certificate and multi-process options are skills-focused; the AAS adds general education coursework to advanced welding training. The 2026-2027 catalog confirms the broad shape of each program, but does not publish complete course-by-course prerequisite sequences or credit totals for every credential, so confirm details with a PCC advisor.

ProgramDurationTotal CreditsCore Welding ProcessesIntended Career Outcome / Notes
Welding Certificate2 semesters34 creditsSMAW, GTAW, GMAW, oxyacetylene cuttingEntry-level skills across joining and cutting; includes print reading and applied metal properties. Full course list and prerequisites are not published in the current catalog.
Multi-Process Certificate1 semester (fast-track)Not published in current catalogSMAW, GTAW, cutting processesRapid process versatility training with qualification exams at semester end; offered fall, spring, and summer on the Pueblo campus only.
Welding Technology AASNot stated in current catalog (associate degree pathway)Not published in current catalogSMAW, GTAW, cutting processesAdvanced degree-level training; adds general education for broader career mobility. Emphasizes metal properties, print reading, and qualification-exam preparation. Full course sequence and duration not specified in 2026-2027 catalog.

Tuition, Fees, and Total Program Costs at PCC Welding

PCC publishes a 2026-2027 per-credit tuition schedule that lists welding school cost starting at $183.75 per credit for Colorado residents using the College Opportunity Fund. The schedule also lists $299.75 without COF, $275.60 for eligible Western Undergraduate Exchange students, and $754.25 for nonresidents.

2026-2027 Tuition Rates

  • Resident with COF: $183.75 per credit
  • Resident without COF: $299.75 per credit
  • WUE: $275.60 per credit
  • Nonresident: $754.25 per credit

PCC does not separately list an in-district rate in the 2026-2027 schedule. Colorado students should use the resident categories above, and confirm residency classification with the admissions office before budgeting.

Mandatory Fees and Lab Costs

Every semester includes a $17.95 registration fee. The catalog also lists several campus or site fees per credit hour, including a student use fee, student center fee, fitness center fee, and student life facility fee, plus a health clinic flat fee. The exact combination charged at the welding program's site may vary, so treat these as a starting point rather than a fixed add-on.

Welding courses can also carry a $150 lab fee per course in several lecture/lab sequences. The schedule does not indicate whether that fee applies once per course or scales with credit load, so students should confirm the final lab fee total with the program.

PCC has not published current 2026-2027 prices for required welding tool kits or personal protective equipment in the materials reviewed. Plan for a separate equipment budget for a welding helmet, safety glasses, welding jacket or flame-resistant clothing, gloves, boots, and hearing protection, but get the current list and dollar amounts from the welding department.

Program Total Cost: What You Can Compare Now

Exact total program costs are not published in the current materials. The certificate credit total has appeared as 64 credits in an older catalog, and the AAS credit sequence is incomplete in the 2026-2027 listing. Using the 64-credit figure as an illustrative baseline before fees, lab fees, tools, and protective equipment, tuition alone would be:

  • Resident with COF: 64 x $183.75 = $11,760
  • Resident without COF: 64 x $299.75 = $19,184
  • WUE: 64 x $275.60 = $17,638.40
  • Nonresident: 64 x $754.25 = $48,272

Those are not final program totals. Add the applicable term fees, welding lab fees, tools, and protective equipment before comparing Best Welding Schools. Students enrolling in the Welding Technology AAS should ask for the full degree plan before calculating, because the published semester credit totals are incomplete and exact totals would be misleading. For a current cost sheet, contact Pueblo Community College's welding program or admissions office directly.

PCC Welding Certificate vs. AAS: Which Path Is Right for You?

The main trade-off at Pueblo Community College is speed to the workforce versus longer-term career advancement. The multi-process certificate is the shortest option at 18 credits, while the Welding Technology AAS carries 64 credits and includes broader general education and technical preparation. Published total costs tend to follow credit load, so compare the tuition section figures for the exact cost difference before choosing.

Comparison factorWelding CertificateMulti-Process CertificateWelding Technology AAS
Credit loadNot stated in reviewed materials18 credits64 credits
Typical durationShorter than the AAS, but published duration was not stated in reviewed materialsShortest option, likely one or two terms depending on schedulingAbout two years of full-time study
Skill depthEntry-level welding skills for immediate employmentFocused multi-process welding skills for production and fabrication settingsBroader technical instruction plus general education for fabrication, supervision, or continued study
Career outcomesEntry-level welding, production welding, or helper positionsEntry-level multi-process welding positionsFabrication, construction, heavy equipment, transportation, and self-employment pathways with more advancement potential
Total costNot stated in reviewed materials; compare published tuition figures in the cost sectionLower published tuition exposure because of the 18-credit loadHigher published tuition exposure because of the 64-credit load

Admissions Requirements and Deadlines for PCC Welding

PCC’s welding credentials follow the college’s open-door admission process, with a few practical steps to keep in mind.

  • Age and open-door admission
    Pueblo Community College uses open-door admission. Applicants must be at least 17 years old; there is no separate welding-specific minimum age listed in current admission information.
  • High school diploma or GED
    A high school diploma or GED is not listed as a welding-entry requirement in PCC’s current admissions guidance. However, a diploma or GED may still be needed for federal financial aid, some employment pathways, or transfer to a four-year program.
  • Placement testing
    PCC offers an Assessment Test to help advisors place students in the correct courses. The current admissions page does not state that every welding applicant must take it, and no welding-specific minimum score is published for the Certificate, AAS, or Multi-Process Certificate.
  • Application steps
    Start with PCC’s free online general admissions application. After applying, meet with an academic advisor to review program options and register. No separate welding program application or program-specific form is identified for the three welding credentials.
  • Deadlines
    No welding-program-specific deadline is published for domestic applicants. International applicants must apply by the first Monday in April for fall and the first Monday in November for spring or summer. Check PCC’s academic calendar for term registration and start dates.
  • Selective entry and waitlists
    PCC does not list selective admission criteria or a waitlist policy for welding programs. Admission to the college does not guarantee a seat in a specific course; prerequisites and capacity can still affect enrollment.

Financial Aid, Scholarships, and Employer Connections

Federal Aid and FAFSA

The first step for most welding students is completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and listing Pueblo Community College. Use the school code shown on PCC's financial aid site, not a code from a prior year. Because federal aid eligibility depends on the specific program, ask the financial aid office for the current aid-eligible list for Welding Technology certificates, diplomas, and AAS options. PCC's catalog describes standard packaging that may include grants, scholarships, loans, and work-study. The 2014-2015 PCC catalog described work-study as need-based and typically requiring 10 to 20 hours per week; current award rules and wage rates should be confirmed with the aid office.

Scholarships and Workforce Funding

PCC's catalog identifies several general scholarship funding sources, including State of Colorado programs, the Pueblo Community College Foundation, corporations, local businesses, foundations, individuals, and civic or service clubs. The welding program pages reviewed do not name a current welding-only scholarship, so treat these as possible sources rather than guaranteed awards and contact the PCC Foundation for the latest list. Workforce development grants and employer-sponsored tuition assistance may also be options. PCC does not publish a named employer tuition assistance program for welding on its program pages, so students should ask their employer about tuition reimbursement or third-party billing and contact the aid office about workforce funding arrangements.

Employer Demand and Outcomes

A 2026 local news report on PCC enrollment said more than 300 welding students were enrolled across PCC campuses.1 In that same report, employers described demand with the phrase "We need more," and PCC indicated it graduates as many welders as its facilities accommodate.1 That is a qualitative statement of employer demand for Welding Jobs, not a published placement rate. PCC's welding pages do not list numeric completion rates, job placement percentages, or median earnings for welding graduates. For the most current welding job outlook, request data directly from the welding department or PCC's institutional research office.

Quick Checklist

  • Complete the FAFSA using PCC's current federal school code.
  • Confirm aid eligibility for the exact welding program you plan to enter.
  • Ask the PCC Foundation for the latest scholarship names and deadlines.
  • Ask your employer about tuition reimbursement or third-party billing.
  • Request outcome data from the welding department or institutional research office.

Certification Testing and Hands-on Lab Experience

The 18-credit Welding Multi-Process Certificate at Pueblo Community College includes a one-credit course called AWS Qualification Testing, so credential testing is built into the program rather than left as an optional add-on.

Welding Processes Taught in PCC Labs

PCC's welding training covers the four core processes most shops expect: SMAW (stick), GTAW (TIG), GMAW (MIG), and oxyacetylene cutting. The renovated welding labs, announced by the college in September 2020, use machines that allow students to run four major processes on one unit: stick, TIG, MIG, and flux-cored. That setup gives learners a chance to practice multiple techniques without changing equipment between stations. Learning these four processes in a single lab sequence matters because entry-level welding jobs often ask for stick and MIG skills, while TIG and oxyacetylene cutting show up in fabrication, repair, and pipe work. Flux-cored arc welding, also supported by the multi-process machines, is common in structural and outdoor work.

On-Site AWS Qualification Testing

The program includes WEL 1050, AWS Qualification Testing, a one-credit course. PCC's catalog describes this as qualification testing rather than a general exam for Welder Certifications. Students can take qualification exams at the end of the semester in various welding processes. However, the publicly available materials do not list which specific AWS code qualifications are offered on site, such as AWS D1.1 structural, ASME Section IX, or API. They also do not publish testing fees, required prerequisite courses, instructor approval rules, or minimum performance standards. The end-of-semester timing means students generally spend the term building weld samples before attempting recorded qualifications. Still, because the published materials do not list a prerequisite path, students should confirm with instructors whether specific PCC courses, attendance benchmarks, or safety training must be completed first.

Lab Facilities and Booth Availability

PCC has publicized its renovated welding labs, but the materials reviewed do not include a total booth count or a complete equipment inventory. Published information focuses on the four-process machines and the range of processes taught rather than brand-by-brand equipment lists. The absence of a published booth number should not be read as a lack of hands-on access, but program staff can provide current floor capacity, class sizes, and equipment details. Students who want to know booth availability, power source brands, fume extraction setup, or oxyacetylene station capacity should ask the program directly.

How to Confirm Testing and Lab Details

For current testing fees, prerequisites, and lab scheduling, contact the welding program: Catlin Davis at 719-549-3464 or [email protected]. The PCC Testing Center can be reached at 719-549-3091 or [email protected], but the college's public Testing Center page does not confirm that welding qualification exams are handled through that office.

PCC Welding Campus Locations and Schedules

Where Welding Classes Meet

PCC currently reports welding offerings at three locations: the Pueblo Campus at 900 West Orman Avenue in Pueblo, Cañon City High School, and the Southwest Campus at 33057 Highway 160 in Mancos. For Southwest Campus questions, the listed phone number is 970-564-6201.

The Pueblo Campus welding lab was renovated in 2020 with a $1.3 million investment. The project added more than 1,600 square feet to bring the facility above 6,000 total square feet and added 10 new welding stations.

Pueblo West is a planned expansion. PCC announced in 2026 that it intends to purchase a building for welding, automotive, and other trades. As of August 2026, the college stated that welding was still taught at Orman Avenue, Cañon City High School, and Southwest Campus, so Pueblo West is not yet described as an active welding classroom. No opening date or schedule has been published.

Scheduling for Working Students

PCC describes morning, afternoon, and evening class options to help meet demand. The program also reports waiting lists in welding and automotive, though current materials discuss that demand collectively rather than by campus. Exact 2026 days, start times, and section formats are not published for each location. Regular weekend welding classes are not listed in the program materials reviewed.

If you need a specific time block, contact the campus where your classes will meet and ask about current sections before enrolling.

Online and Hybrid Components

Welding instruction is primarily hands-on and delivered on campus. Current PCC materials do not describe an online welding program or identify specific welding theory courses as online or hybrid. If you need to plan around work or family obligations, ask the program coordinator about the schedule for your chosen campus and whether any non-lab coursework can be taken in a different format.

Common Questions About Pueblo Community College Welding

Here are direct answers to some of the most common questions about PCC welding programs, costs, requirements, testing, and locations. Because costs and admission details can shift with residency and aid, use these answers as a starting point and verify current details with the college.

What welding programs does Pueblo Community College offer?
PCC offers a Welding Technology AAS, a 34-credit Welding Certificate, an 18-credit Multi-Process Certificate, and shorter certificates such as Structural Welder, Fitter or Combination Welder, High Pressure Pipe Welder Mini-Certificate, Low Pressure Pipe Welder Mini-Certificate, and Introductory and Intermediate Structural certificates. Instruction covers SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, and oxyacetylene cutting.
How much does the PCC welding program cost?
PCC does not publish one fixed welding program price. Your total will depend on residency status, tuition rate, number of credits or courses taken, fees, tools, materials, books, and any financial aid you receive. Because these factors vary, use PCC's current tuition and fee information or contact the college for a program-specific estimate rather than relying on a single published dollar amount.
What's the difference between the PCC welding certificate and AAS degree?
The Welding Technology AAS is a 64-credit associate degree that typically takes four semesters and offers broader, more advanced training. The 34-credit Welding Certificate covers SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, and oxyacetylene cutting. The 18-credit Multi-Process Certificate is a one-semester fast track focused on core processes and offered only on the Pueblo campus. Smaller certificates target narrower occupational skills, so the main difference is program length and scope.
What are the admission requirements for PCC welding?
PCC does not list separate welding-specific admission requirements in the published program materials reviewed. General PCC admission steps apply, but placement testing, age, prerequisite, physical capacity, immunization, and documentation requirements for welding are not spelled out. Contact PCC admissions for the current checklist before applying.
Does PCC offer welding certification testing?
Yes. PCC offers end-of-semester qualification exams in multiple welding processes for students in the AAS and Multi-Process Certificate. Published materials do not identify the certifying organization, exact processes or positions, exam fee, or whether non-PCC students can test, so contact the welding department for current exam options and scheduling.
Which PCC campuses offer welding programs?
PCC welding instruction is offered at the Pueblo campus including Orman Avenue, at Cañon City High School, and at the Southwest Campus in Mancos. The Multi-Process Certificate is offered only on the Pueblo campus. PCC announced plans to expand trade programs at a new Pueblo West location, but that expansion was not an operating welding program as of September 2026.

How to Apply to Pueblo Community College Welding

Welding education has largely consolidated around a shared enrollment portal, so the path into a PCC welding program is less about a separate craft audition and more about completing the standard admissions sequence on time. For Pueblo Community College welding, that means four steps: complete the PCC application, submit transcripts, apply for financial aid, and schedule an advisor meeting.

The Four-Step Enrollment Sequence

  • PCC application: Complete the online Pueblo Community College application and select welding as your program of interest. There is no separate welding entrance exam at the application stage.
  • Transcripts: Request official high school or GED transcripts, plus any prior college transcripts if you want transfer credit evaluated.
  • Financial aid: File the FAFSA using PCC's school code and submit any requested verification documents as early as possible. Do this before the priority filing date so your award letter is ready when registration opens.
  • Advisor meeting: Schedule an appointment with an academic advisor to confirm your start term, review placement requirements, and map your certificate or AAS plan.

Before You Commit, Talk to the Coordinator

The welding program coordinator can clarify whether the multi-process certificate or the AAS is the better first step for your schedule and career goals. The coordinator's current phone and email are posted on the Pueblo Community College welding program page; use that page rather than a third-party directory because office hours and lab visit times change. Ask about booth time, certification testing on site, and which start term still has open seats.

Take the Next Step

Once your application is in, schedule a campus tour or lab visit to see the welding booths and equipment before classes begin. A lab visit is the best way to confirm the environment matches the kind of work you want to do, and it often gives you a chance to ask the coordinator questions face to face. If you are still weighing the certificate against the AAS, bring that question to the advisor meeting rather than delaying your application.