Idaho employers in fabrication shops, food-processing plants, and construction crews continue posting welder openings faster than local programs graduate students, and the state's Department of Labor projects steady demand for skilled fitters and welders through the decade.
That leaves prospective students weighing a real tradeoff: a short certificate that puts you in a shop within a year, or a two-year associate degree that costs more but can lead to inspection, supervision, and higher-wage industrial work. Five Idaho schools anchor that decision, each with a different mix of tuition, types of welding, and campus location.
Top Idaho Welding Schools at a Glance
Idaho's welding programs balance classroom theory with extensive shop time, and the schools below stand out for their mix of certificate options, hands-on training, and job-readiness focus. Five institutions offer paths into the trade, from short certificates to associate degrees.
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Program completion rates
- Welding curriculum and credentials
- Cost and financial aid access
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
College of Southern Idaho
#1Twin Falls, ID · $6,000/yr
Best for: Magic Valley beginners seeking affordable certificates
College of Southern Idaho's Welding Technology program emphasizes job-ready skills with hands-on training on current equipment. Students can pursue a Basic Technical Certificate, Intermediate Technical Certificate, or an Associate of Applied Science, depending on career goals. Selective admission keeps cohorts focused, and financial aid and a NextGen scholarship help offset costs for fabrication, manufacturing, construction, and repair pathways.
- Basic Technical Certificate available
- Intermediate Technical Certificate available
- Associate of Applied Science also offered
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Limited enrollment with separate application
- NextGen scholarship up to $3,500
College of Eastern Idaho
#2Idaho Falls, ID · ~$9,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Hands-on learners wanting cohort-based welding training
College of Eastern Idaho's Welding Technology program combines structured classroom time with daily shop work in shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, gas tungsten arc, and flux cored arc welding. Certificate tracks include an Intermediate Technical Certificate and an Advanced Technical Certificate, both financial aid eligible. Small cohorts and close instructor attention support graduates moving into manufacturing, fabrication, and agriculture.
- Advanced Technical Certificate: 54 credits, four semesters
- Intermediate Technical Certificate: 30 credits, two semesters
- Cohort-based structure with 9:1 student-to-teacher ratio
- 4.5 hours daily hands-on training in a live shop
- ASME certified instructor and AWS CWI instructor
- 82.34% positive placement rate for graduates
- Recent starting salaries range from $26,000 to $46,000
- Two start dates per year, fall and spring
College of Western Idaho
#3Nampa, ID · ~$9,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Career changers needing flexible eight-week starts
College of Western Idaho's Welding & Metals Fabrication program pairs Stick, MIG, TIG, and flux cored arc welding with layout, cutting, and fabrication training. The program prepares students for American Welding Society certification and offers a Basic Technical Certificate, Intermediate Technical Certificate, or Associate of Applied Science. Experienced instructors and long workshop hours focus on precision and safety for industrial and custom metalwork roles.
- $5,532 total program tuition
- Complete in 1 to 2 years
- Prepares for AWS certification
- Trains in Stick, MIG, TIG, and Flux Cored Arc Welding
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Layout, cutting, and fabrication training included
- Median salary $49,046 for graduates
- 48 annual openings and 13.75% projected growth in Idaho
Idaho State University
#4Pocatello, ID · $12,000/yr
Idaho State University offers a Welder General, I.T.C. certificate that blends welding technique with math, theory, layout, and blueprint reading. The program targets pipeline, petro-chemical, power generation, sanitation, and high purity welding fields. Students must earn a C or better in core welding courses, and graduates typically pursue welder, pipeline welder, or fabrication worker roles.
- Complete in 1 to 2 years
- Prepares for pipeline and petro-chemical welding
- Careers in power generation and high purity welding
- Coursework includes math, theory, layout, blueprint reading
- Core welding courses require C or better
- Costs for books, tools, uniforms, and fees apply
- Program student handbook available
Lewis-Clark State College
#5Lewiston, ID · $16,000/yr (net price)
Lewis-Clark State College's Welding Technology certificate trains students to American Welding Society standards with hands-on work in shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, flux cored arc, and gas tungsten arc welding. Coursework also includes oxy-acetylene cutting, brazing, plasma arc cutting, blueprint reading, mathematics, and metallurgy. Graduates are prepared for welder, fabricator, and repair technician roles, with an associate degree option for further study.
- 58 total credit hours required
- Hands-on welding lab training
- Trained to American Welding Society standards
- Structural and pipe welding skills taught
- Arc, gas, and tungsten welding processes covered
- Blueprint reading and metallurgy included
- Weldability of metals and alloys studied
- Associate degree option also available
Our Ranking Methodology for Idaho Welding Schools
Every welding student weighs the same tradeoff: the cheapest program isn't always the one that gets you hired fastest, and the flashiest certification list doesn't matter if the school can't back it up. Our rankings of welding schools by state try to balance those competing priorities rather than chase a single number.
What We Weighed
We looked at four factors together: total cost of attendance, post-completion earnings data where available, scheduling flexibility (day, evening, and accelerated formats), and whether the program holds recognized accreditation. No one factor decided a school's placement. A low-cost program with weak outcomes doesn't automatically outrank a pricier one with strong job placement and industry ties, and vice versa.
Where the Numbers Come From
Tuition figures, net price after aid, and graduation rates are pulled from federal higher-education datasets (the kind published through IPEDS and the College Scorecard). Accreditation status, certification offerings, and program specifics were researched directly from each school, since federal databases don't track curriculum details for different types of welding.
A Note on Graduation Rates
One caveat worth flagging plainly: graduation rate figures reflect the entire institution, not the welding program specifically. A community college's overall graduation rate includes nursing students, business majors, and everyone else on campus. We include it because it's the only standardized completion metric available, but treat it as a rough signal of institutional support rather than a verdict on the welding shop itself.
We're explaining this openly so you can weigh the same tradeoffs we did, and decide which factors matter most for your own situation.
Compare Welding Program Costs and Financial Aid in Idaho
Costs shown below reflect institution-reported tuition and fees for the credential level offered at each school, and they do not include books, tools, or program-specific fees unless separately noted. Average net price is the institution-wide cost after grants and scholarships, not a program-specific figure, so individual out-of-pocket costs can differ. Idaho LAUNCH may cover up to 80% of tuition and fees (maximum $8,000) for eligible students, with a first-year cap of $4,000 for programs shorter than 12 months; College of Southern Idaho lists several welding courses as LAUNCH-approved, while other schools offer federal aid, institutional scholarships, and veteran benefits that can further reduce costs.
| School | In-State Tuition and Fees | Out-of-State Tuition and Fees | Average Net Price (After Aid) |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Southern Idaho | 4560 | 6840 | 6095 |
| College of Western Idaho | 4446 | 7454 | 8500 |
| College of Eastern Idaho | 4390 | 6750 | 8778 |
| Idaho State University | 8610 | 27720 | 12193 |
| Lewis-Clark State College | 7610 | 22028 | 15635 |
Welding Certifications and Specializations Offered by Idaho Schools
Process coverage varies more than most prospective students expect, and it is worth checking a program's current curriculum page before enrolling, since course offerings shift year to year.
What Each School Teaches
College of Western Idaho in Nampa covers the broadest documented range among the group, with instruction in Stick Welding (SMAW), MIG (GMAW), TIG (GTAW), and flux-cored (FCAW) welding, plus layout, cutting, and fabrication coursework. The school states its program is designed to prepare students for AWS certification, though it is not confirmed whether testing happens on campus or through a partner facility.
North Idaho College's Workforce Training Center offers introductory TIG, MIG, stick, and torch cutting instruction, and some sections allow students to bring their own equipment. A separate directory also links North Idaho College and Idaho State University to pipe welding and blueprint reading coursework, though it is unclear whether that description reflects the current 2026 offerings.
Idaho State University is associated with pipe welding, blueprint reading, and welder certification prep, making it a reasonable stop for anyone eyeing pipeline or industrial fabrication work, though specific process breakdowns were not confirmed.
Pro-Weld Welding School stands out for its 6G Pipe Welding course, a challenging all-position pipe qualification that industrial and pipeline employers often ask about by name, along with oxygen-acetylene burning training.
Detailed curriculum specifics for College of Eastern Idaho were not confirmed in available materials, so ask directly about process breadth if that program is on your shortlist.
AWS Testing and Exam Costs
None of these five schools were confirmed as accredited AWS testing facilities, so treat any AWS-prep language as coursework alignment rather than guaranteed on-site testing. AWS itself sets a certification application fee, which rose to $70 in late 2025, but that figure is separate from the local testing facility's charges for materials, labor, and exam administration. Idaho test-takers have seen quoted figures around $150 for standard certified welder testing and $250 for additional process or position exams, though these numbers can vary by facility and are not guaranteed to stay fixed. Accredited test facilities elsewhere commonly charge roughly $35 to $50 per weld position tested, and most candidates test two to four positions.
Because fees and facility access shift, confirm directly with each school and with AWS's own facility directory before budgeting for certification.
How Do You Become a Welder in Idaho?
Idaho welding careers typically follow a clear sequence: build foundational skills in a formal program, practice under supervision, pass an industry-recognized certification exam, and then move into entry-level work. The timeline depends on whether you choose a certificate or an associate degree.

Career and Salary Outcomes for Idaho Welding Graduates
Program-specific median earnings are not yet available for Idaho welding completers in the latest federal data, and college-wide earnings figures do not isolate welding graduates. The table below reports school-published placement outcomes and employer connections, with the reported timeframe for each figure. For occupational wage context, Idaho's welder workforce included about 3,300 workers with 441 projected annual openings and 24.4 percent expected growth; the May 2025 median annual wage for welders in Idaho was $50,530, with a 10th percentile of $40,370 and a 90th percentile of $70,790.
| School | Reported job placement | Timeframe or basis | Employer connections and notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Idaho State University | 99% placement | 5-year program-specific | School also lists average salaries of $57,380 in Idaho and $62,970 nationally, but does not confirm these are welding-graduate-only figures. |
| College of Eastern Idaho | 82.34% positive placement | 5-year average | May include employment, continuing education, or military; employer settings cited include manufacturing, metal/steel fabrication, agriculture, and dairy farms. |
| Lewis-Clark State College | 100% job placement | 2021 announcement | Based on state labor department data; the announcement also cited 508 regional welding openings per year. Current 2026 status is not established. |
| College of Southern Idaho | Not reported | N/A | Community partner list includes Amalgamated Sugar, Barin Group, Gem State Welders Supply, Glanbia Nutritionals, Idaho Power, and IESM. |
| College of Western Idaho | Not reported | N/A | Partnered with Mission Critical Group in 2026 for employer-focused welding training. |
How to Choose the Right Idaho Welding School for You
Choosing a welding school in Idaho means looking past tuition and rankings. It is about finding a program that fits your schedule, budget, location, and career plan. Start by comparing net price after financial aid, then confirm admission requirements and job placement support before committing.
Match Cost, Location, and Program Length
Cost and commute are usually the first filters. A short certificate can get you into welding jobs faster, while an Associate of Applied Science may include more general education and broader training. Program length varies by credential and school, so ask how many semesters or 8-week sessions you will actually need. Location matters too: programs are spread across Boise, Nampa, Idaho Falls, Coeur d'Alene, Twin Falls, Pocatello, and Lewiston, so housing and travel are part of the real cost.
Rather than comparing sticker prices, compare net price after grants and scholarships. Use each school's financial aid office or net price calculator, and ask what welding-specific aid is available.
Verify Admission Requirements and Deadlines Early
Admission rules differ sharply by school, and some details are not published online. For example, College of Eastern Idaho describes welding as competitive-entry. Applicants should expect to submit a high school diploma or GED, official transcripts, a work observation, and a cover letter or resume. There is no waiting list, and students reapply each semester if not accepted.
College of Southern Idaho operates a limited-enrollment welding program with a separate welding application and a Welding Entrance Exam. North Idaho College states that students must complete each semester successfully or get instructor permission to continue. At College of Western Idaho, welding courses run in 8-week blocks, and entry may be possible at the start of a block depending on capacity.
For several ranked schools, current minimum age, application process, and 2026 cohort deadlines are not stated on official pages. Contact the admissions office directly to confirm what applies to you.
Confirm Certifications and Career Support
Ask which welder certifications are built into the curriculum and whether exam fees are included. Also confirm job placement help, employer partnerships, and recent graduate outcomes. If possible, visit the shop floor, talk with current students, and ask instructors about class size and hands-on time. A school that is accredited and transparent about placement results is a safer bet.
Frequently Asked Questions About Welding Schools in Idaho
These are the questions Idaho students ask most when comparing welding programs. The answers below draw on the tuition, program length, and credential details covered throughout this guide.
- How much does welding school cost in Idaho?
- Costs in Idaho vary by credential. Short entry-level courses often run $499 to $1,539 for one to eight weeks. Welding certificate programs are typically $2,000 to $6,500 over 10 to 18 weeks. Associate degree programs generally range from $8,000 to $15,000 over about 24 months. Annual tuition at trade and community colleges usually falls between $4,000 and $8,000. Fees and materials may be extra.
- Are there welding schools in Idaho for beginners?
- Yes. Several Idaho schools offer beginner-friendly options. College of Eastern Idaho has a five-week Essentials of Welding 1 course at $650 for in-state students. Workforce catalogs also list introductory MIG, TIG, and Stick classes lasting 30 to 50 hours, often $499 to $1,089, with open enrollment and no prior experience typically required. Credit programs usually start at the 100 level, but check for placement or safety orientation.
- What is the best welding school in Idaho?
- There is no single universally accepted best welding school in Idaho. Rankings use different criteria, such as cost, completion rates, and student outcomes. The schools most consistently cited by directories and employers include College of Southern Idaho, College of Eastern Idaho, Idaho State University, College of Western Idaho, Lewis-Clark State College, North Idaho College, and BYU-Idaho. See the ranking section above for how those options compare.
- Do welding schools in Idaho offer online classes?
- No source reports a fully online, lab-free welding qualification in Idaho. Welding requires hands-on practice, so programs are in person or hybrid. Some Idaho colleges marked as online options offer select coursework online while labs remain on campus. If you need flexibility, ask each school whether general education or welding theory courses can be completed remotely before enrolling.
- What certifications can I earn at Idaho welding schools?
- Idaho welding schools offer institutional certificates and associate degrees. College of Southern Idaho and Lewis-Clark State College provide AWS SENSE School Level 1 and 2 credentials. Many students also pursue the AWS Certified Welder credential, though specific qualifying codes vary by program. Short workforce courses award skill-gain or institution credentials. Idaho does not require a state journeyman license.
- How long does it take to complete a welding program in Idaho?
- Timelines vary by credential. Short entry-level or workforce courses can take one to eight weeks. Welding certificate programs typically run 10 to 18 weeks, including 2026 PellPath options. Associate degree programs generally require about 24 months of full-time study. Your pace may be longer if you attend part time or add prerequisites, so confirm scheduling with the school.