Welding is 64% more concentrated in Arkansas than the national average, a labor-market signal that keeps demand steady even as manufacturing shifts elsewhere. In-state tuition at the twenty programs profiled here ranges from roughly $2,570 to $9,292, and completion timelines run from a single semester to a two-year associate degree.
That spread creates the real decision: a nine-month academy in Camden gets you into a $25-to-$45-per-hour job faster, while a stackable certificate at a community college costs less upfront but stretches the timeline. Certification adds another variable, since AWS D1.1 plate testing and pipe qualifications carry more weight with employers than a diploma alone.
Cost, speed, and which credential actually gets tested locally rarely line up neatly.
How We Ranked the Best Welding Schools in Arkansas
Every Arkansas welding program on this list had to publish enough outcome data to compare against its peers on price, completion, and delivery format. That threshold alone narrowed the field considerably, because many trade programs still report only enrollment counts.
What We Weighed
- Net price after aid: The actual out-of-pocket cost a typical student pays once grants and scholarships are applied, not the advertised sticker tuition.
- Graduation rate: How reliably enrolled students finish the credential they started, which signals program structure and student support.
- Program type: Whether instruction runs on-campus, hybrid, or online, so readers can match a school to their commute and work schedule.
- Program size: The number of welding completions a school produces annually, which reflects capacity and demand.
- Earnings and debt outcomes: Where the U.S. Department of Education publishes program-level figures, we factored in what graduates typically earn against what they typically borrow.
What We Did Not Rank On
Program length and current accreditation status are not ranking inputs. Both change often, and both require direct verification with the school and the accrediting body before you enroll. Treat those as due-diligence items on your shortlist, not as tiebreakers between programs.
Why This Differs From Other Directories
Many directories of welding schools by state list every program in the state alphabetically or by paid placement, with no disclosed criteria. That is useful for a phone book, not for a career decision. Our approach favors programs that publish enough data to be measured, and it flags where information is missing rather than filling the gap with marketing copy.
Top Arkansas Welding Schools: 2027 Rankings
These Arkansas welding schools stand out for a mix of hands-on instruction, certification preparation, and practical affordability. The list below highlights ten community college programs that combine shop time with technical coursework, from accelerated nine-month academies to stackable certificates. Use the rankings as a starting point, then check program details for your specific location and schedule.
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Program completion rate
- Program highlights and concentrations
- Net price after aid
- Local cost-of-living adjustment
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
University of Arkansas Community College-Batesville
#1Batesville, AR · $8,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Evening learners balancing work and training
This public community college combines hands-on welding training with technical coursework, moving students through Welding I, II, and III plus engineering drawings, industrial safety, and technical methods. The program offers both a Technical Certificate and a Certificate of Proficiency, with Fast Track options and evening sections that help working students fit training around a job. High school pathways and a secondary career center give younger students an early start, and the Work Ready credential signals job-readiness to area employers.
- Technical Certificate track
- Certificate of Proficiency option
- Fast Track welding options
- Evening classes available
- High school pathways offered
- Secondary career center available
- Work Ready credential
- In-person campus training
Southern Arkansas University Tech
#2Camden, AR · ~$9,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Career changers seeking intensive nine-month training
SAU Tech's Welding Academy of South Arkansas delivers a nine-month, shop-heavy program taught by American Welding Society certified instructors. Students progress from beginner techniques to advanced welding, with most time spent building fabrication skills for construction, shipbuilding, pipelines, oil and gas, and manufacturing. The school reports starting wages of $25 to $45 per hour for graduates, with grants, scholarships, and loans available to help cover costs.
- 9-Month program
- $25 to $45+ per hour
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Taught by AWS certified instructors
- Prepares for immediate employment
- Curriculum: beginner to advanced techniques
- AWS-aligned skill development
Black River Technical College
#3Pocahontas, AR · $5,000 – $7,000/yr
Best for: Pipe welding hopefuls pursuing AWS certification
This one-year welding certificate emphasizes lab practice across arc, MIG, and TIG welding, with students spending most of their time setting up, operating, and maintaining equipment. Graduates must pass at least one plate certification under the American Welding Society Structural Welding Code D1.1 plus a radiographic examination. The program offers both a Technical Certificate and a Certificate of Proficiency, and instructors with industry experience guide small groups. The college also advertises a separate 18-week evening pipe-welding preparation course for students who want an accelerated route into pipe welding.
- 1-Year program
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Arc, MIG, and TIG welding
- AWS D1.1 certification exam
- Radiographic Examination required
- $30 plate certification fee
- Technical Certificate option
Arkansas State University-Newport
#4Newport, AR · $8,000/yr
Arkansas State University-Newport's Technical Certificate in Welding is a nine-month, workshop-based program covering MIG, TIG, stick, structural, pipe, and fabrication skills. Courses start in fall or spring at the Jonesboro campus, with small class sizes and direct instruction from experienced welders. The certificate prepares students for certification exams and entry-level work in construction, manufacturing, shipbuilding, and oil and gas, with financial aid and scholarships available.
- 9-Month program
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Hands-on training in workshop
- Covers MIG, TIG, stick welding
- Structural and pipe welding
- Prepares for certification exams
- Jonesboro campus location
East Arkansas Community College
#5Forrest City, AR · $7,000/yr (net price)
East Arkansas Community College's welding program focuses on shielded metal arc and gas metal arc welding, along with layout, alignment, and inspection skills needed in fabrication and manufacturing. Students practice flat, vertical, and overhead positions and learn to detect defects, preparing for roles such as MIG welder, fitter, fabricator, and maintenance welder. The 31-credit Technical Certificate costs about $3,442 for in-county residents, with concurrent enrollment available for some high school students.
- $3,442 total program tuition
- 31 total credit hours
- Financial aid available
- Careers: welder, fabricator, fitter
- Flat, vertical, overhead welding positions
- Safe tool and equipment operation
- Arkansas median salary $37,480
- 9% projected 10-year employment demand
Arkansas State University Mid-South
#6West Memphis, AR · $3,000 – $5,000/yr
ASU Mid-South trains students in flux-core, MIG, TIG, and stick welding, with standalone certificate tracks and a longer path to an Associate of Applied Science. Certificates can be completed in as little as one semester, while all welding classes meet in person to build hands-on skill. The program also includes cutting, fabrication, and blueprint reading, and evening sections are available for working students.
- 5 concentration options
- 1-4 semesters, 16-62 credit hours
- Financial aid available
- Train in flux-core, MIG, TIG, stick
- Skills in cutting, fabrication, blueprint reading
- Welding Fabrication/Fitter certificate offered
- Certificates finish in one semester
- All welding classes are in-person
Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas
#7De Queen, AR · ~$4,000/yr (est.)
UA Cossatot's Welding Technology program offers a Certificate of Proficiency, Technical Certificate, and an advanced Pipe Welding Certificate, covering shielded metal arc, MIG, and TIG plus oxyfuel cutting and weld testing. Instruction follows NCCER curriculum and prepares students for NCCER and American Welding certification. Hands-on lab work develops precision on mild steel, stainless steel, and piping components in multiple positions for fabrication, construction, manufacturing, and energy-sector trades.
- Complete in less than two years
- Financial aid available
- NCCER-based welding curriculum
- Careers in pipe welding and fabrication
- Shielded Metal Arc Welding fundamentals
- MIG (GMAW) welding training
- TIG (GTAW) precision welding
- NCCER Welding Level Two certification
Ozarka College
#8Melbourne, AR · under $5,000/yr
Ozarka College's 12-month Technical Certificate in Welding Technology covers 30 credits of hands-on work at campus locations in Melbourne, Ash Flat, and Mountain View. Students practice SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and TIG on plate and pipe in flat, horizontal, vertical, and overhead positions, plus blueprint reading, cutting, and basic metallurgy. Modern labs with industry-standard equipment support both credit and non-credit paths into welding, fabrication, and maintenance roles.
- 12-Month program
- 30 total credit hours
- Hands-on credit and non-credit training
- Locations: Melbourne, Ash Flat, Mountain View
- Modern labs, industry-standard equipment
- Processes: SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, TIG
- Weld structural components and pipe
- Read blueprints and welding symbols
University of Arkansas Community College Rich Mountain
#9Mena, AR · $5,000/yr
University of Arkansas Community College Rich Mountain's Certificate of Proficiency in Basic Welding builds skills in oxy-fuel and electric welding, weld integrity, and safety habits that protect people and the environment. Students prepare for state and national welding certifications and apply the math and measurements used on the job. The focused campus-based certificate leads to work in manufacturing, construction, maintenance, and fabrication.
- Meets industry welding standards
- Prepares for state and national certifications
- Safe oxy-fuel and electric welding
- Weld integrity and appearance skills
- Basic welding on various metals
- Applies math and measurements in welding
- Develops safe work habits
- Certificate of Proficiency in Basic Welding
University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana
#10Hope, AR · $9,000/yr
The University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana offers a Certificate of Proficiency in Welding with a Construction Welding track focused on structural and construction work, welding positions, and blueprint reading. The hands-on, career-focused curriculum moves learners into entry-level welding jobs quickly, with safety practices woven throughout. Classes meet on campus in southwest Arkansas, and financial aid and scholarships are available for those who qualify.
- 2 concentration options
- A relatively short time frame
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Entry level employment skills
- Blueprint reading skills
- Welding in various positions
- Basic welding skills and safety
Accredited Welding Schools in Arkansas: State Approval and Status
The table below lists Arkansas welding schools with available accreditation and state approval information as of 2026. Schools approved under the American Welding Society SENSE program are noted separately from those licensed by the Arkansas Division of Higher Education. Where approval or accreditation is not publicly reported, the table indicates that gap.
| School | Accreditation(s) | State Approval |
|---|---|---|
| Arkansas Welding Academy (Jacksonville) | AWS SENSE Level 1 and Level 2 | Approved |
| American Welding Laboratories (Fort Smith) | Not reported | Licensed by Arkansas Division of Higher Education (August 2025) |
| Arkansas Elite Welding Academy (Quitman) | Not reported | Licensed by Arkansas Division of Higher Education (August 2025) |
| Arkansas Iron & Pipe Welding Academy (Salem) | Not reported | Licensed by Arkansas Division of Higher Education (August 2025) |
| Ozark Welding Institute (Fort Smith) | Not reported | Licensed by Arkansas Division of Higher Education (August 2025) |
| United Welding Institute (Pottsville) | Not reported | Licensed by Arkansas Division of Higher Education (August 2025) |
| Conway Pipeline Welding Institute (Conway) | Not reported | Licensed by Arkansas Division of Higher Education |
| Arkansas State University Mountain Home | AWS SENSE | AHECB approved Certificate of Proficiency and Technical Certificate in welding technology (2006) |
| Arkansas State University Mid-South (West Memphis) | AWS SENSE | ADHE 2025 agenda item: Certificate of Proficiency in Welding, 15 credit hours |
| Ozarka College | Not reported | AHECB approved Stick, MIG, TIG certificates, Technical Certificate, and AAS in Welding Technology (2018) |
| Pulaski Technical College (North Little Rock) | AWS SENSE | Not reported |
| South Arkansas Community College (El Dorado) | AWS SENSE | Not reported |
Community College Vs. Private Welding Academy in Arkansas
The table below compares Arkansas community colleges and private welding academies using reported figures and typical program features. The completion, debt, and graduate numbers come from different institutions and reporting periods, so treat them as directional rather than directly equivalent.
| Factor | Community College | Private Welding Academy |
|---|---|---|
| Institution Type | Public | Private, For-Profit |
| Credential Type | Associate Degree, Certificate | Certificate |
| Typical Program Length | Often 1 to 2 years for an associate degree or certificate, following a semester calendar | Often 7 to 9 months for a full-time certificate with accelerated scheduling |
| Schedule Flexibility | Fixed semester start dates; some evening and online general education courses | Rolling start dates; day and evening cohorts may be offered |
| Instruction Style | Blends welding labs with general education and classroom theory; may include broader academic requirements | Focused, hands-on skill training with fewer general education courses; direct preparation for welding certification tests |
| Typical Cost Structure | Lower per-credit tuition; total cost depends on program length and financial aid | Higher upfront program cost, often bundled with tools and materials |
| Reported Median Graduate Debt | $6,500 to $11,153 across reporting institutions, but sources vary | $5,500 reported by one private academy, but this figure comes from a different dataset and may not be directly comparable |
| Financial Aid and VA Benefits | Broad access to federal financial aid, state grants, scholarships, and VA education benefits for eligible students | May accept federal aid and VA benefits, but availability varies by school; payment plans may be offered |
| Job Placement Assistance | Career services available through the college; employer connections vary by campus | Often promotes job placement assistance and employer partnerships, but definitions and verification vary |
| Reported Completion Rate | 57.3% across public institutions, but this is institution-wide and not specific to welding | 94.4% at one private academy, but not confirmed as a welding-only cohort or directly comparable |
| Annual Graduates (reported range) | 148 to 938 across public institutions | 69 at one private academy |
Job Placement Rates and Employer Partnerships at Arkansas Welding Schools
Job placement data tells you what actually happens to graduates after the torch goes cold, whether they land work in different types of welding, keep it, and earn a living from it. Arkansas schools report this information inconsistently, so treat every number as a starting point for questions rather than a guarantee.
Arkansas Welding Academy in Jacksonville has published figures showing a 94% completion rate with 61% placement in one report, and a separate 2025 cohort report citing 94% placement, along with 91% employment at one year and 89% at five years out. The gap between these numbers likely reflects different cohorts or counting methods, so ask the school directly which figure applies to a class you'd actually join.
Arkansas Elite Welding Academy in Quitman reported 97% placement for its 2024 graduates, defined as landing welding-related work and submitting a pay stub within 30 days of finishing. UA Monticello's College of Technology in McGehee has reported 100% placement across multiple recent years, though its graduating classes are small.
Employer Ties Worth Asking About
Schools that name employer partners give you a clearer picture of where graduates actually go. UA Fort Smith lists ties to Nabholz, Gerdau, ArcBest, and Lockheed Martin among others. Arkansas State University-Newport connects with Hytrol and American Rail Car. Arkansas Northeastern College works with Big River Steel and Kimberly-Clark. The Arkansas Construction Education Foundation maintains a network of over 400 contractors statewide.
What Schools Don't Publish
Many programs, including several community college offerings, don't publish placement percentages at all. Always request a current placement report and ask which employers actively hire from that specific program.
Related Articles
Welding School Costs in Arkansas: Tuition, Tools, and Financial Aid
The real trade-off in Arkansas welding costs isn't cheap versus expensive; it's low upfront price versus how fast you can start welding jobs. Community colleges post the lowest sticker prices, but private academies compress a year or more of training into a few months, and that time savings has a price tag attached.
The 10 Cheapest Programs by Net Price
Our internal rankings, sorted by net cost to attend, put Cossatot Community College at the bottom near $4,385, followed closely by Ozarka College, UA Rich Mountain, Phillips Community College, Black River Technical College, Arkansas Northeastern College, and ASU Mid-South, all landing between roughly $4,500 and $5,400. East Arkansas Community College, UA Community College-Batesville, and ASU Three Rivers round out the list between about $7,200 and $8,100. These are net figures after typical aid, not the full sticker price, and most bundle in credit-hour tuition plus mandatory fees.
What Private Academies Charge
Arkansas Welding Academy lists $18,713 in tuition plus $11,097 in equipment costs, totaling $29,810, with a separate $100 nonrefundable registration fee. Arkansas Elite Welding Academy runs $18,200 tuition plus a $2,800 lab fee and $1,000 tool fee, landing near $22,100 total, also with a $100 registration charge. Arkansas Iron & Pipe's Salem campus charges $12,300 for its 10-week structural program or $19,500 for the 20-week pipe and structural combo. Community college certificates and degrees, by contrast, typically total between $2,500 and $15,670 depending on residency and program length, with AWS certification testing , such as 3G welding certification , sometimes bundled in and sometimes billed separately (one program charges $30 per plate test).
Financial Aid, Piece by Piece
No single Arkansas program confirms acceptance of all four major aid sources. Pell Grants are explicitly available at UAHT's welding certificate and one AAS program. The Arkansas Future Grant applies to one AAS track. WIOA workforce funding covers Arkansas Welding Academy, a GMAW certificate, and one AAS program. VA education benefits are confirmed only at UAHT. Always confirm current aid eligibility directly with the school before enrolling.
How Long Does Welding School Take in Arkansas?
Arkansas welding credentials vary by institution, but most programs follow a predictable sequence. Short-term certificates can be finished in about one semester, while technical certificates run about a full academic year and associate degrees typically take two years. Some colleges offer evening and weekend sections, and private academies may compress training into specialized clock-hour programs.

What Welders Earn in Arkansas
Welders in Arkansas earn a median annual wage of $47,970, based on the latest BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics.
Arkansas employed 5,580 welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers in May 2022, with a location quotient of 1.64, meaning the occupation is 64% more concentrated in Arkansas than the national average, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics.
Frequently Asked Questions About Arkansas Welding Schools
Welding programs in Arkansas vary by location, cost, schedule, and credential path. These answers reflect publicly available program information and state and industry sources as of September 2026. Always confirm current tuition, accreditation, and certification details directly with the school before enrolling.
- What is the best welding school in Arkansas for pipe welding?
- No single school can be ranked as the best for pipe welding from available state data. Arkansas Tech University-Ozark includes a pipe welding course and covers pipe techniques, but it does not list a standalone pipe welding specialization or pipeline certificate.3 Students interested in pipe work should compare course content, instructor experience, shop equipment, and job placement support before choosing.
- How much does welding school cost in Arkansas?
- Costs vary by school, credential, and credit load. Arkansas Tech University-Ozark lists 2025-2026 tuition at about $140 per credit for in-state students, plus a $50 per credit welding course fee. Out-of-state tuition is about $280 per credit.2 ASU-Beebe's workforce training class has a separate cost that includes tuition, supplies, and certification fees.1 Ask each school for a complete program price.
- How long does welding school take in Arkansas?
- Short-term workforce training can run around 40 hours, such as ASU-Beebe's AWS preparation class.1 College credit programs are longer, often leading to a certificate of proficiency, technical certificate, or Associate of Applied Science degree. Exact completion time depends on whether you attend full time or part time and on each program's credit requirements, so contact schools directly for current timelines.
- Which welding schools in Arkansas are accredited?
- Accreditation is not uniform across all Arkansas welding schools. State approval by the Arkansas Division of Higher Education does not mean a school is institutionally accredited or that a program is AWS-accredited. Students should check institutional accreditation with a U.S. Department of Education recognized agency and confirm any program approvals directly with each school before enrolling.
- Do Arkansas welding schools offer AWS certification preparation?
- Yes, several programs include preparation for American Welding Society Welder Certifications. ASU-Beebe's workforce training prepares students for the AWS certification test in various welding processes.1 The AWS Certified Welder credential is performance-based with no course prerequisites;4 candidates test at an AWS Accredited Testing Facility5 using the My AWS Portal.6 Not every graduate obtains certification.
- Are there welding schools in Little Rock or Jonesboro?
- Arkansas Welding Academy is located in Jacksonville, not within Little Rock city limits, but it serves the broader Little Rock area. No current UALR welding program was confirmed. No current ASU-Beebe welding campus in Jonesboro was established; ASU-Beebe is separate from ASU Jonesboro. Verify campus locations and program offerings directly.
- Do Arkansas welding schools offer evening or flexible schedules?
- Some workforce training options are designed for working adults. ASU-Beebe's 40-hour welding prep class typically meets weekday evenings from 6 to 10 p.m.1 College credit programs may offer day or evening sections depending on enrollment. Scheduling varies by campus and term, so ask the school for the current class schedule before you apply.
- Is financial aid available for welding programs in Arkansas?
- Financial aid depends on the school and program type. Credit-bearing certificate and degree programs at eligible institutions may qualify for federal aid through the FAFSA. Non-credit workforce training classes may not be eligible for the same aid. Confirm tuition, fees, tools, and aid eligibility with the school's financial aid office before enrolling.