Your Guide to Aerospace Welding Schools and Certification

Compare aerospace welding programs, understand AWS D17.1 certification, and find jobs.

Aerospace Welding Schools and Certification: A Practical Guide

Aerospace welding is one of the tightest-tolerance trades in manufacturing: a single porosity defect in a titanium engine mount or Inconel exhaust duct can ground an aircraft or scrub a launch. Employers hiring for flight hardware rarely look at a general welding certificate. They want documented AWS D17.1 qualification on the specific alloy, thickness, and joint configuration the shop runs.

That credential requirement shapes everything upstream: which programs are worth attending, how long training realistically takes, and what a graduate can charge. Community college certificates and specialized TIG academies both feed the pipeline, but they price and pace the path to D17.1 very differently.

What Is Aerospace Welding?

Aerospace welding is precision welding for aircraft, spacecraft, and the components that connect them. It covers thin-wall tubing, ducts, engine parts, landing gear, fuel tanks, fasteners, and structural assemblies. The margin for error is small: a weld that fails in flight can affect safety, so aerospace welders follow approved weld schedules, work to exact joint geometry, and accept that nearly every weld gets inspected. Common inspection methods include liquid penetrant, X-ray, and ultrasonic testing.

Core Welding Processes

  • TIG (GTAW): The dominant manual process for aerospace work. It gives welders the control needed for thin aluminum and stainless steel tubing, tight fillets, and root pass welding on high-purity joints.
  • Laser beam welding: Used for automated, low-distortion welds on sheet metal, sensors, and small assemblies where heat input must stay minimal.
  • Electron beam welding: Performed in a vacuum chamber to produce deep, narrow, high-quality welds in engine components, shafts, and landing gear parts.
  • Resistance welding: Applied to specific thin-gauge spot and seam welds where consistent pressure and current produce repeatable joints.

Materials You Will Weld

Expect to work with aluminum, titanium, nickel alloys, and stainless steel. Each material behaves differently. Aluminum demands careful joint cleaning and heat control. Titanium must be shielded from oxygen and nitrogen during welding, usually with argon back purging and trailing shields. Nickel alloys resist heat and corrosion but require clean, consistent technique. Stainless steel appears across structural and fluid system applications.

Why Standards Matter

Aerospace welding is separated from general fabrication by quality and safety requirements. Shops that produce flight hardware operate under quality management systems such as AS9100 and special process approvals such as NADCAP. These systems govern welder training, procedure qualification, material traceability, and inspection records. That is why a strong aerospace program at welding trade schools drills clean technique, documentation habits, and repeatable weld quality more than a typical production welding course.

Types of Aerospace Welding Schools and Programs

No accredited school in the United States awards a degree titled "aerospace welding." What exists instead are welding programs, usually with a heavy gas tungsten arc (TIG) emphasis, that layer aerospace-specific coursework or AWS D17.1 test prep on top of a standard welding curriculum. Understanding that distinction saves you from searching for a program that does not exist and helps you judge the ones that do.

The four program formats

  • Community colleges: The broadest and usually cheapest route. You take a general welding core (safety, blueprint reading, metallurgy, SMAW, GMAW, GTAW) and then specialize in thin-gauge aluminum and stainless TIG. Programs near aerospace manufacturing clusters are the ones most likely to teach aerospace-relevant joint configurations.
  • Private trade schools: Shorter, more intensive, and typically more expensive per week of instruction. Schedules often run in blocks rather than semesters, which appeals to career-changers who want to finish in months rather than years.
  • Specialized aerospace training providers: These are generally short-course operations, sometimes run by or alongside testing facilities, that assume you already weld and are there to qualify to a specification. Course lengths are measured in days or weeks, not terms.
  • Apprenticeships and employer training: Some aerospace manufacturers and repair stations train welders in-house, moving them from fixture work or assembly into the weld shop. This route pays while you learn but is competitive and depends on local employers hiring.

What credential you walk away with

Community colleges commonly offer three exit points, and how long welding school takes depends on which credential you choose: a short certificate (two or three terms), a diploma (roughly one year), and an associate of applied science (about two years, with general education courses folded in). Private schools usually issue a diploma or certificate of completion. Specialized providers issue a course completion record, not a degree.

None of these credentials is itself a welding qualification. A welder qualification test record is earned by welding a coupon that passes inspection, and that is a separate document from any diploma.

D17.1 prep built in, or added later?

Ask directly whether the program includes AWS D17.1 preparation or stops at general welding. Many quality programs do the latter deliberately: they build fundamentals, then expect you to qualify at an employer or testing facility once you have the hand skill. Neither approach is wrong, but the answer changes your timeline and your total welding school cost.

How Long Does Aerospace Welding School Take? Program Lengths and Schedules

The real tradeoff isn't just weeks versus months, it's how a school measures time at all. Community colleges tally credits or units across quarters and semesters, while private trade schools count clock hours or straight calendar weeks, and those two systems don't translate cleanly into each other. That makes "how long" a harder question than it looks.

Certificate, Diploma, and Associate Timelines

As a rough guide, standalone aerospace welding certificates tend to run 6 to 12 months, diploma-style programs stretch 12 to 18 months, and an associate degree that folds in aerospace welding coursework typically takes about two years alongside general education requirements. These are ranges, not guarantees. South Carolina's Aviation Welding Fundamentals Technical Certificate of Credit, for example, requires just 17 credit hours and a minimum of one term, with fall, spring, and summer entry points, making it one of the fastest published paths. Everett Community College's Aerospace Welding and Fabrication Certificate runs 35 credits over two quarters.1 Cerritos College's Aerospace Welding Certificate totals 20 units, built from lab courses like the Aerospace GTAW Certification Laboratory (2 units, meeting two days a week for three hours a day) and its prerequisite Advanced GTAW Laboratory (same schedule).2

Clock-Hour and Week-Based Formats

Private trade schools often measure differently. Southern California Welding Training School's Aerospace Welder Program is built around 920 total hours, offered in a daytime track (Monday through Saturday, 9:00 AM to 2:30 PM) or a night track (Monday through Thursday, 6:00 PM to 9:30 PM). SoCal Welding's Aerospace Welder Training Course runs 24 weeks across 48 classes, totaling 384 hours of TIG-focused instruction.3 Neither publishes a hybrid or online option for the aerospace track, and full-time versus part-time labeling isn't always spelled out, so it's worth confirming directly with admissions before enrolling.

What Actually Changes Your Timeline

A published length is a starting point, not a promise. Three factors commonly shift how long a program takes in practice:

  • Prior welding experience: Programs with GTAW prerequisites, like Cerritos's Advanced GTAW Laboratory ahead of the aerospace certification course, mean students without a foundation may need extra semesters before they even start the aerospace-specific work.
  • Program intensity: A 920-hour daytime schedule compresses into fewer calendar weeks than the same hours spread across evening classes.
  • Externship or lab-hour requirements: Some certificates fold in additional supervised bench time beyond listed credit or clock hours, which can extend a program past its catalog estimate.

Before committing, compare actual credit or clock-hour loads side by side using the welding schools directory, and check the certification test guides to see which credentials each timeline is actually built to prepare you for.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics doesn't break out aerospace welders specifically, but its broader numbers hint at steady opportunity: welding, cutting, soldering, and brazing jobs are projected to grow 2% nationally between 2025 and 2035, adding roughly 10,300 positions. With 63% of these workers already in manufacturing, aerospace's precision welding niche is well positioned to share in that growth.

Specialized Aerospace Welding Providers vs Community College Programs

Specialized aerospace welding providers tend to be faster and more tightly focused on flight hardware, but they cost significantly more than community college programs. Community college certificates and associate degrees usually cover general welding first, with aerospace-specific content available only as an elective or advanced track. The right choice depends on whether you need a quick, targeted path into aerospace or a lower-cost foundation that can later be built into a specialty.

FactorSpacetronSoCal WeldingMTUCommunity College
Program length24-week intensive; Titanium Specialist: 12 weeks; Human-Rated Flight Hardware: 24 weeks48 classes / 384 hours (bundle); Aerospace Welder program: 920 hours5 days3 to 7 months (certificate); 2 years (associate degree)
Estimated total costNot published on provider site; contact for current pricing$21,500 estimated (includes $250 registration, $450 textbook, $19,800 bundle fee, $1,000 consumables)Course fees cover materials and instruction; exact fee not published$2,000 to $10,000 (certificate); $10,000 to $20,000 (associate degree)
Curriculum focusAerospace and reactive metal welding, including titanium; NADCAP-ready systems-operator training for human-rated flight hardwareOAW and GTAW/TIG from basic steel through advanced aluminum and stainless; expert tubing; aerospace levels 1 through 3; fabrication fundamentalsGeneral welder training with practical and theoretical components; aerospace-specific content not detailedGeneral welding certificates and associate degrees; aerospace-specific curriculum often limited or elective-based
Equipment and technologyTitanium and reactive metal processing equipment; training tied to flight hardware systemsOAW and GTAW/TIG stations for steel, aluminum, stainless, and tubingPractical welding training environment; specific equipment list not publishedStandard welding labs with SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW; aerospace alloys may be limited by campus
Job placement supportApprenticeship pathway suggests employer connections; no placement rate publishedCertification fees included and certifications awarded on completion; placement support not specified in available materialsPlacement support not specified in available materialsPlacement services vary by college; directory data does not detail aerospace-specific placement
Certification alignmentTargets specialty certifications and NADCAP-ready training for flight hardware standardsCertification fees included; certifications awarded upon successful completion; aerospace levels 1 through 3 align with industry tiersPractical and theoretical welder training; specific welding certifications not statedMay prepare for general AWS certifications; aerospace-specific AWS D17.1 alignment not guaranteed in directory data

How to Evaluate an Aerospace Welding Program Like a Hiring Manager

Evaluating a welding program the way a hiring manager would means asking one blunt question about every claim on the school's website: does this produce a welder I could put on a D17.1 test coupon next month? Shop supervisors do not care about brochure photos. They care about credentials they can verify, hours on a torch, and whether the graduate has touched the alloys their parts are made from.

The Checklist

Run every program you are considering through these criteria before you put down a deposit:

  • Accreditation: Confirm the institution is accredited by a recognized agency such as ACCSC1, and that the accreditation covers the specific campus and program you plan to attend, not just a main location.
  • AWS SENSE alignment: SENSE gives a school a common set of welding education standards to build its curriculum around.3 It is a quality signal, not accreditation, and it does not by itself make a school an AWS Accredited Test Facility.
  • Instructor credentials: Ask what your instructors welded professionally, and whether any hold current AWS certifications or came out of aerospace or defense production.
  • Lab equipment and materials: You want current TIG machines, purge setups, and hands-on time on aluminum, stainless, titanium, and nickel alloys, not just mild steel plate.
  • Lab hours: Ask for the ratio of hands-on hours to classroom hours and the number of students per booth.
  • Placement: Ask which employers hired last year's graduates, how many, and into what Welding and Fitting Jobs.

Verifying Accreditation and Aid

Do not take the school's word for it. ACCSC publishes a searchable directory of accredited schools2, plus public notices and consideration lists (candidate status is not full accreditation). A past review date on a listing does not mean a school lost accreditation; ACCSC considers a school accredited while review is underway.

Federal student aid rests on three separate things: state authorization to operate, accreditation by a recognized agency, and Department of Education certification to participate.4 Look up the exact campus in the federal school code search, and ask specifically whether Pell Grants and Direct Loans apply to your program.4 Short-term and noncredit certificates are often ineligible even at an eligible school.4 If the answer is vague, "financial aid" may mean only private or workforce funding. Separately, state workforce boards may approve a program for WIOA funding or Individual Training Accounts, which is useful money but a different approval entirely.4

Red Flags

Walk away from programs with no aerospace alloys in the lab, TIG equipment that is an afterthought behind the stick and MIG booths, instructors with no industry welding history, and no named employer relationships. Finally, ask directly how the program prepares students for D17.1 testing. If nobody on staff can explain the qualification process, the training will not get you there either.

Aerospace Welding School Costs and Financial Aid, Compared

Aerospace welding training costs vary widely by school type and location. Community college certificates can start around $1,728 in-state at Cochise College, while out-of-state tuition at Mt. San Antonio College reaches $20,040 for a 60-unit program. Many students reduce out-of-pocket costs through federal Pell Grants, AWS scholarships, state workforce grants, GI Bill benefits, and employer tuition reimbursement.

Program / School TypeLocationEstimated Tuition RangeDurationFinancial Aid Options
Aerospace Welding Technology Certificate (community college)Cochise College; ArizonaIn-state tuition $1,728; total in-state program cost $4,256; out-of-state tuition $4,644; total out-of-state program cost $7,172Not specifiedFinancial aid office available; common aid may include Pell Grant up to $7,595, AWS scholarships, state workforce grants, GI Bill, federal loans, employer reimbursement
Combination Welding Program (private trade school)Aviation Institute of Maintenance; campus location not specifiedNot specified33 weeksInstitutional assistance covering up to 10% of total program cost, including fees and books
Welding Certificate (community college)Ridgewater College; Minnesota$3,573 tuition; tools and safety equipment $700 to $1,000Not specifiedFederal Pell Grant up to $7,595 per year (2025-26); AWS scholarships $500 to $10,000+; state workforce grants; GI Bill; federal loans; employer reimbursement $2,000 to $10,000 per year
Welding Diploma (community college)Ridgewater College; Minnesota$7,147 to $14,294 tuition; tools and safety equipment $700 to $1,000Not specifiedSame options as Welding Certificate: Pell Grant, AWS scholarships, state grants, GI Bill, loans, employer reimbursement
Welding AAS (community college)Ridgewater College; Minnesota$16,080 tuition; tools and safety equipment $700 to $1,000Not specifiedSame options as Welding Certificate: Pell Grant, AWS scholarships, state grants, GI Bill, loans, employer reimbursement
Welding Certificate 1 (community college)Alvin Community College; TexasIn-district $1,986; out-of-district $3,159; tool kit approximately $1,600Not specifiedFinancial assistance available for those who qualify; common aid may include Pell Grant, AWS scholarships, state workforce grants, GI Bill, federal loans, employer reimbursement
Welding Certificate 2 (community college)Alvin Community College; TexasIn-district $4,105; out-of-district $6,400; tool kit approximately $1,600Not specifiedFinancial assistance available for those who qualify; common aid may include Pell Grant, AWS scholarships, state workforce grants, GI Bill, federal loans, employer reimbursement
Welding Technology A.A.S. (community college)Alvin Community College; TexasIn-district $4,975; out-of-district $8,035; tool kit approximately $1,600Not specifiedFinancial assistance available for those who qualify; common aid may include Pell Grant, AWS scholarships, state workforce grants, GI Bill, federal loans, employer reimbursement
Welding program (community college)Mt. San Antonio College; California60-unit core plus general education tuition: in-state $2,760; out-of-state $20,040Not specifiedCommon aid may include Pell Grant, AWS scholarships, state grants, GI Bill, federal loans, employer reimbursement
Welding coursework (community college)South Seattle College; WashingtonWelding materials fee $154.50 per course; WABO certification fee $90 students, $150 non-students; materials fee $19 per credit; alternative WABO fee $93 students, $154.50 non-studentsNot specifiedAWS Foundation scholarships may be used for tuition, fees, books, supplies, or required equipment; common aid may also include Pell Grant, state grants, GI Bill, federal loans, employer reimbursement

Aerospace Welding Certifications: AWS D17.1 and Beyond

Why AWS D17.1 Rules Aerospace Welding

AWS D17.1 is the code that decides whether a fusion weld is acceptable on aircraft and space hardware.1 It applies to flight and non-flight components and covers design, procedure and performance qualification, fabrication, inspection, acceptance, and repair. The current 2024 edition places qualification requirements in Clause 5,2 and the standard applies when a contract or engineering document specifies it.6 For welders, those requirements are not optional classroom outcomes; they are pass-fail production tests that form the basis of Welder Certifications.

How a Welder Performance Qualification Works

Aerospace employers do not treat a school transcript as proof that a welder can weld production parts. They require a welder performance qualification, or WPQ, under AWS D17.1.3 The test is not generic. It is tied to the exact production variables:3 - Process: The fusion welding process used in production. - Base material group: Matched to the workpiece alloy family. - Thickness: Limited to the range actually tested. - Position: Flat, horizontal, vertical, and overhead.4 - Joint type: The joint design used in production.

Test filler metal must match the production base metal filler type. The welder runs a test coupon under production-equivalent conditions, then the weld is evaluated using Clause 5 performance criteria. Documentation is issued only after passing. Common aerospace alloys covered by the code include titanium, magnesium, cobalt, iron, and nickel-based materials.5 A fillet weld test qualifies fillet welds in thicknesses up to 0.063 inch, or 1.6 millimeters.4 This is why a welder qualified on thin titanium sheet is not automatically qualified on thick nickel-based forgings.

School Certificate vs. Employer-Administered Qualification

A school certificate of completion means instruction was finished. It is not an AWS D17.1 qualification. The employer or a qualified testing agency administers the performance test for the specific production context. A school may teach code navigation and weld technique, but only a passed performance test under the governing code creates a production qualification.

AWS education products show the same split. The D17.1 Code Clinic has no formal prerequisites and teaches how to navigate and interpret the code. The D17.1 endorsement for certified welding inspectors is a separate open-book exam: 50 multiple-choice questions, with a pass score of 72 percent.7 It covers qualification, fabrication, inspection, reports and records, materials and design. Neither training product is a welder performance qualification.

Other Credentials Employers May Ask For

Beyond D17.1, employers may expect ASME Section IX qualification for pressure-containing work that falls outside aerospace specification, or NADCAP accreditation of the facility's special processes. ASME Section IX is commonly referenced for pressure vessels and piping, while NADCAP is an industry managed special process accreditation, not an individual welder certification. Employer-specific on-the-job training records are also used to show experience on particular alloys, joint designs, and equipment. Those records support a welder's background, but a live D17.1 performance test remains the gatekeeper for production work.

Your AWS D17.1 Qualification Roadmap

Qualifying to AWS D17.1 is a structured sequence, not a single test. Most welders move through formal training, supervised alloy practice, qualification testing, and employer sign-off before they are cleared to weld aerospace hardware.

Five-stage pathway from welding program completion through alloy practice, qualification testing, employer sign-off, and log maintenance for AWS D17.1.

Aerospace Welding Jobs and Salary Outlook by Region

Median wages for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers serve as a practical proxy for aerospace welding pay in many regions. The table below combines national and state level data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics with aerospace manufacturing hubs identified in industry reports. Where state level earnings or employer information is not published for a specific region, cells are marked N/A.

State / RegionMedian Annual SalaryTotal EmploymentTop Aerospace Employers
United States (national)$51,000423,920N/A
Hawaii$76,970N/AN/A
Tennessee$47,28012,610N/A
Alabama$47,17012,570N/A
Arkansas$47,1007,240N/A
West Virginia$47,0002,280N/A
WashingtonN/AN/ABoeing, Lockheed Martin
CaliforniaN/AN/ABoeing, Lockheed Martin

Aerospace manufacturing welders typically earn above this national median, and D17.1-certified specialists often command higher pay.

Frequently Asked Questions About Aerospace Welding Schools

Below are answers to common questions about aerospace welding schools, certification, and training costs. Program lengths, prices, and credential requirements vary, so use these responses as a starting point while you compare schools.

What is AWS D17.1 certification for aerospace welding?
AWS D17.1 is a specification for fusion welding of aerospace hardware, covering aluminum- and nickel-based alloys.1 The AWS credential is the D17.1 Aerospace Welding Endorsement for current CWI or SCWI holders. It requires an open-book 50-question exam, 150 minutes, with a 72% passing score. It is not a standalone general aerospace welder license.
How long does it take to become an aerospace welder?
There is no single nationally mandated timeline to become a welder. One listed Aerospace Welding Technology certificate takes about 36 weeks, while general welding programs range from 24 to 40 weeks. School completion alone does not automatically qualify you for aerospace hardware; employers may require process proficiency, materials knowledge, blueprint reading, inspection, and qualification tests.
How much does aerospace welding school cost?
Costs vary. One Aerospace Welding Technology certificate lists in-state tuition around $1,728 and out-of-state around $4,644, with total in-state program cost near $4,256 and total out-of-state program cost near $7,172. Other 24- and 40-week programs report tuition of about $14,200 and $23,700, respectively. These are examples, not a national range; check inclusions like tools, housing, testing, and transport.
What welding processes are used in aerospace?
Common aerospace processes include GTAW (TIG), GMAW (MIG), SMAW (stick), and FCAW. GTAW is often emphasized for precision on sheet metal and tubing. Not every employer uses all processes; the process depends on hardware, material, joint, specification, and employer qualification.
Are there aerospace welding schools near me?
It depends on your location. Examples include UTI Canton, Michigan, with close focus on GTAW for aerospace and motorsports, and Southern California Welding Training & Testing Center, which offers an Aerospace Welder program covering GTAW, D17.1, and ASME IX. Calhoun Community College and Simi Institute also offer relevant training; Simi provides onsite certification exams.2 Use a school directory to compare options near you.
Do aerospace welders have good job prospects?
Aerospace welding remains in demand for precision work on aircraft and spacecraft. Employers typically look for demonstrated process proficiency, drawing reading, and passing qualification tests. Completing an employer-recognized program and earning AWS credentials can improve prospects, but actual placement depends on location, experience, and industry demand.
Should I pursue an apprenticeship or a certificate program?
Both paths can work. A structured certificate program offers a faster, classroom-focused route and may lead to entry-level welding roles, but completion alone does not guarantee aerospace qualification. Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with instruction and may help you meet employer-specific requirements more directly. Choosing depends on your schedule, finances, and whether you need foundational skills or immediate exposure.