Maryland welders earned a median wage of $60,310 in May 2025, with demand concentrated in Baltimore shipyards, Sparrows Point steel fabrication, and the construction corridor running through Anne Arundel and Prince George's counties. Training options are narrower than the job market suggests: only a handful of accredited programs in the state teach the SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW processes employers actually hire for.
That mismatch shapes the real decision. Tuition ranges from a few hundred dollars for grant-funded short courses to roughly $5,500 for a full certificate, and program length swings from a two-week workshop to a two-year associate degree covering the same core processes.
Best Welding Schools in Maryland: Ranked List
Maryland offers a compact set of welding schools that combine shop training with certification prep. From Baltimore County to the Eastern Shore, the programs below differ in price, pace, and process focus. Use the ranked list to compare hands-on formats and the AWS-aligned skills each school builds.
- Student-to-faculty ratio leads most
- Institution-wide completion rates weighted heavily
- Program fit and concentration options
- First-year retention weighted less
- Tuition adjusted for local costs
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Community College of Baltimore County
#1Baltimore, MD · $4,000 – $11,000/yr
Best for: Career changers wanting flexible hands-on tracks
Community College of Baltimore County pairs classroom fundamentals with hands-on shop time at Earlbeck Gases and Technologies. Its welding certificate covers MIG, TIG, and Stick processes, welding codes, metallurgy, and nondestructive examination, with three concentration options. In-state tuition and fees run about $4,432, and students can take courses one at a time or combine them into a single career track. Graduates move into aerospace, automotive, manufacturing, construction, and maritime roles.
- Offers MIG, TIG, and Stick process options across three concentrations
- Hands-on training at Earlbeck Gases and Technologies
- Covers welding codes, symbols, metallurgy, and nondestructive examination
- Maryland employers project about 340 welding openings per year
- Certificate can be taken one course at a time or as a combined track
- Financial aid available
Lincoln College of Technology-Columbia
#2Columbia, MD · $34,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Pipe-focused students wanting individual booths
Lincoln College of Technology in Columbia offers a Welding and Fabrication Technology program with a Pipe concentration. Students train in shielded metal, gas metal, flux core, and tungsten arc welding across flat, horizontal, vertical, and overhead positions in individual booths. The program prepares graduates for pre-qualification tests and an American Welding Society SENSE Certificate of Completion. The campus does not break out a separate in-state rate; its published welding program tuition is around $21,396 for 2026.
- Pipe concentration covers shielded metal, gas metal, flux core, and tungsten arc welding
- Prepares for American Welding Society SENSE Certificate of Completion
- Industry-specific welding facilities with individual booths
- Maryland projects 3,400 welding job openings by 2032
- Practice in flat, horizontal, vertical, and overhead positions
- Graduates pursue construction, manufacturing, shipbuilding, mining, and agriculture
Wor-Wic Community College
#3Salisbury, MD · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Best for: Budget-minded Eastern Shore adult learners
Wor-Wic Community College in Salisbury delivers a Basic Welding certificate built around entry-level industrial skills. The curriculum covers shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, gas metal arc, and oxy-fuel cutting, with an emphasis on industrial safety, blueprint reading, and pipefitting specs. In-state tuition and fees are about $3,840, and Maryland residents in Worcester, Wicomico, and Somerset counties may qualify for the in-county rate; other Maryland residents pay an out-of-county rate. The program also helps students prepare for American Welding Society certification.
- Prepares for American Welding Society certification
- Covers shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, gas metal arc, and oxy-fuel cutting
- Emphasizes industrial safety, print reading, and blueprint interpretation
- Qualifies graduates for entry-level welding positions
- Includes a math requirement and college study course
How to Choose a Welding School in Maryland: Accreditation and Process Training
Pick a Maryland welding school by matching two things: who accredits it and which welding processes it actually teaches. Get those wrong and you will pay tuition for credentials employers do not recognize or skills the local job market does not hire for.
Why accreditation matters
Accreditation is the signal that a program meets outside quality standards, and it directly affects which certifications you can sit for and whether federal financial aid is on the table. In Maryland, look for three markers:
- Institutional accreditation (ACCSC): Lincoln College of Technology in Columbia1 and North American Trade Schools in Baltimore2 are both ACCSC-accredited private trade schools, which supports Title IV aid eligibility.
- AWS recognition: Earlbeck operates as an AWS Accredited Test Facility, meaning welder qualification tests are administered under American Welding Society standards.3 Third-party directories list 14 Maryland schools as AWS SENSE-approved, though coverage varies and you should confirm SENSE status directly with the school.4
- NCCER through CTE: Maryland's high school Career and Technical Education welding pathway is built around NCCER Core and NCCER Welding Level 1, often paired with OSHA 30 and AWS credentials.5
Without one of these backings, a program's completion certificate may not translate into a testable, portable welder qualification.
Match processes to your career goal
The four types of welding processes that dominate Maryland classrooms and job postings are MIG (GMAW), TIG (GTAW), Stick (SMAW), and pipe welding. Coverage is not uniform:
- Structural and fabrication work: Lincoln Tech's Columbia program teaches SMAW and GMAW, the everyday processes for structural steel and general fabrication.
- Stick fundamentals: CCBC's continuing education offering includes a Stick Welding Option A track for students focused on SMAW.
- Pipe and higher-paying field work: North American Trade Schools is listed as offering pipe welding and prepares students for AWS Welder Certifications, which matter for pipefitting, process piping, and industrial contractors.2
Before you enroll, write down the job you want (shipyard, pipefitter, sheet metal shop, rig welder) and confirm the school teaches the specific process that job tests on.
Welding Program Costs and Financial Aid in Maryland
Welding program costs in Maryland vary widely by school, funding source, and residency. For programs that publish complete costs, totals in the examples below range from about $100 for personal protective equipment in a grant-funded program to $5,520 for a 90-hour series at CCBC, while Garrett College lists tuition from $2,000 to $4,830 depending on residency. Because some schools package materials and fees differently and many publish only per-credit rates, request a full written cost breakdown before enrolling.
| School | Tuition | Fees/Equipment | Financial Aid Options |
|---|---|---|---|
| Community College of Baltimore County (MIG/TIG/Stick Option A, 90-hour series) | $827 tuition ($5,520 total series) | $4,693 fees; course materials provided | Not financial-aid eligible; public or private funding, payment plans, and tuition waivers may be available |
| Community College of Baltimore County (Career MIG/TIG/Stick Option B, 90-hour series) | $762 tuition ($5,080 total series) | $4,318 fees; course materials provided | Financial-aid eligible; public or private funding, payment plans, and tuition waivers may be available |
| Wor-Wic Community College (SMAW/FCAW/GMAW/GTAW) | $0 under EARN Maryland grant | Personal protective equipment estimated at $100; no additional tuition or supply charge published | Funded by EARN Maryland Grant Program; requires working and/or living in Maryland in welding industry upon completion and reporting |
| Garrett College (Welding program) | Maryland senior $2,000; in-county $4,400; out-of-county $4,615; out-of-state $4,830 | $25 non-refundable registration fee; no separate equipment or supply cost published | Not specified in cited program page |
| Anne Arundel Community College (Welding program) | $135 per credit for Anne Arundel County residents; $317 per credit for other Maryland residents; $459 per credit for out-of-state or international students | $672 published for books, course materials, supplies, and equipment in 2026-2027 student budget; not welding-specific | Maryland Community College Promise Scholarship may provide up to $5,000 toward remaining tuition and mandatory fees after other aid; program-specific federal aid or veterans benefits not confirmed |
| Howard Community College (Welding Technology Certificate) | Howard County resident $144 per credit hour; $2,160 maximum listed in Maryland community-college tuition schedule | Set by course and includes registration fee; no welding-specific equipment or supply amount published | Not specified for federal aid, EARN grants, or veterans benefits |
Welding Program Lengths and Class Schedules in Maryland
A welding program's length in Maryland can mean anything from a two-week weekend workshop to a two-year associate degree, so the first thing to check is whether a school is quoting clock hours, weeks, or semesters, since those numbers don't translate directly into each other.
Short Courses vs. Full Certificates
At the short end, noncredit training runs roughly 36 to 455 clock hours. Allegany College of Maryland offers a 120-hour SMAW certification, Chesapeake College runs a 190-hour Work Ready track, and Jane Addams Resource Corporation's Fast Track program covers 375 hours. Wor-Wic Community College's core program totals 372 hours over about 19 weeks, meeting weekdays from 8 a.m. to noon, and also offers a separate 80-hour, 10-week pipe welding course on Monday and Friday evenings for welders who already have two years of experience.
Full certificate programs typically run 32 to 44 weeks. NATS in Baltimore offers a 36-week combination welding program, available as a day track or an evening track. Lincoln Tech's Columbia campus runs a 30-credit, roughly 32-week program with day, afternoon, and evening sections, plus a longer 40-credit option. Carroll Community College's Spring 2026 offering runs 6 months, and Garrett College's certificate spans 8 months. Howard Community College structures its program around two semesters but offers day, evening, weekend, and online sections for flexibility.
Fitting Welding Training Around a Job
Most hands-on welding cannot be taught remotely, but several schools push theory and safety instruction online or hybrid. Lincoln Tech blends some coursework online with in-person lab time, and Howard Community College offers online components alongside its evening and weekend sections.
For working adults, the practical move is matching shift availability to a school's schedule options rather than picking a program by name alone. Evening tracks at NATS, Wor-Wic, and Lincoln Tech, plus weekend sections at Howard, let career-changers keep a day job while building welding hours, though shorter noncredit courses may demand full weekday mornings for a few weeks straight.
Admission Requirements for Maryland Welding Schools
Maryland welding admission rules vary by program, so confirm details with each school. Use this checklist as a starting point.
- Age requirementMany adult welding programs require 18 or older. Wor-Wic accepts 17-year-olds for workforce-linked training, and Mayland may admit 16 or 17 in limited cases when space allows.
- Diploma or GEDCollege-credit and adult workforce programs usually require a high school diploma or GED. Some non-credit and open-enrollment options may be more flexible, and Maryland does not have a statewide legal education requirement for welders.
- Placement testingTesting varies by school. Garrett requires the TABE before enrollment. Mayland may waive placement with a 2.8 unweighted GPA or acceptable GED/HiSET scores, and Wor-Wic’s associate program requires MTH 091 or an acceptable math placement score.
- Information or orientation sessionAnne Arundel requires a Welding Information Session. Other programs may require orientation or an info session before registration, so check the school’s application steps.
- Physical and screening requirementsExpect lifting 35–50 lbs, prolonged standing, hand-arm steadiness, near vision, depth perception, and manual dexterity. Wor-Wic requires a drug test and background check; CCBC notes lifting 35 lbs and prolonged standing.
- Application, fees, and PPESubmit the application and pay any fees, such as Garrett’s $25 non-refundable registration fee. Wor-Wic also requires specific PPE: steel-toed boots and 100% cotton long-sleeve shirt and pants.
How Maryland Welding Schools Prepare You for AWS Certification
What does "AWS certified" actually mean when a Maryland welding program advertises it? In the trades, AWS stands for the American Welding Society, and the credentials that matter to employers fall into two buckets: SENSE program completion certificates earned through a school, and performance qualifications tested against a code such as D1.1 for structural steel.1
SENSE Levels and What They Cover
AWS SENSE (Schools Excelling through National Skills Education) is the society's standardized curriculum framework.1 Level I is the entry tier, covering shop safety, blueprint reading, weld symbols, and hands-on skill in the core processes: shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, flux cored arc, and gas tungsten arc. Level II is the advanced tier. A student can earn up to four Level I certificates, one for each process completed, and up to 10 at Level II.1 Level I exams are delivered either online through the SENSE system or on paper; Level II is currently paper only.1
Schools, not students, register with the SENSE program. Registration is a one-time facility fee, commonly $600 for Level I or $700 to run both levels, with a $25 enrollment charge per new student and no renewal fee.1 That structure is why SENSE training is usually baked into tuition rather than sold as a separate test-prep add-on.
How Programs Build Prep Into the Curriculum
At institutions that follow this model, SENSE content is embedded in the credit hours themselves. One community college welding technology certificate aligned to SENSE Level I, for instance, is structured as 17 total credits.2 Instruction tracks the SENSE topic outline, lab time builds plate and pipe coupons in each process, and the written and performance assessments arrive as course milestones rather than as a separate exam you book later.
Testing Locations and Job Impact
We were not able to verify a current, statewide list of Maryland schools registered with SENSE or of AWS Accredited Test Facilities in the state, so confirm this directly with any program you are considering. Ask two specific questions: is the program a registered SENSE facility, and can you test for a D1.1 performance qualification, such as a 3G MIG welding certification, on site or through a partner facility?
That second question carries real weight. Structural fabricators, bridge contractors, and shipyard employers frequently require a documented D1.1 qualification in a specific position before you touch production work, and arriving with one already in hand shortens the hiring conversation for Welding Jobs considerably.
Welding Schools in Baltimore and Other Maryland Cities
Geography matters as much as curriculum when picking a welding program from Welding Schools By State: the right school on paper does you no good if the drive or transit connection eats two hours a day. Maryland's welding training is concentrated in and around Baltimore, with a handful of outliers in Columbia and the Eastern Shore.
Baltimore's Cluster of Options
Baltimore has the most choices, and most sit along a handful of commercial corridors rather than downtown. Earlbeck Gases and Technologies runs a welding supply showroom and training and testing center on Pulaski Highway, offered in partnership with Anne Arundel Community College and CCBC. CCBC itself runs a continuing-education sequence through that same Earlbeck partnership, moving students from welding fundamentals into intermediate and advanced types of welding (MIG, TIG, and Stick work), plus metallurgy, codes, and symbols. CCBC is also expanding with a new welding center on its Dundalk campus, backed by a $1 million grant, which broadens Baltimore-area capacity even if it's not a downtown location. North American Trade Schools offers a Combination Welding program covering Stick, MIG, TIG, and Flux Core, though its listed address varies between a Wabash Avenue site and a Security Boulevard site, so confirm the current campus before applying. Delta School of Trades, on Pulaski Highway, focuses on pipe welding, blueprint reading, and certification prep.
Beyond the City: Columbia, Hagerstown, and Elsewhere
Lincoln College of Technology in Columbia offers a certificate in Welding and Metal Fabrication Technology, a suburban, car-based campus with no walk-up transit option. Hagerstown doesn't have a clearly documented standalone welding campus right now. If you're in that area, look at the Maryland Department of Labor's free 19-week manufacturing and welding training based in Baltimore, or Wor-Wic Community College down in Salisbury. Silver Spring doesn't currently show up as a welding training hub in available program listings.
Commute Reality Check
Most Baltimore programs cluster on Pulaski Highway or Security Boulevard, corridors built for driving, not for walk-up transit. None of the schools above publish clear bus or rail directions, so call ahead and ask directly about transit access if you don't drive. Better yet, visit the campus in person before enrolling. Seeing the booth setup, shop hours, and instructor availability tells you more than any brochure.
Maryland welders earned a median annual wage of $60,310 as of May 2025, according to the Maryland Department of Labor's occupational wage data. That's well above many entry-level trade careers, and it reflects steady demand across the state's shipbuilding, construction, and manufacturing sectors for skilled, certified welders.
Welding Graduate Outcomes in Maryland: Earnings and Job Placement
Program-level median earnings at one and four years after completion are not yet available for the three ranked welding programs in the 2024 College Scorecard data. The table below shows the available median graduate debt and program-level return on investment ratio for each school; employment share one year after completion is also not reported. Use these figures as a directional comparison, not a complete earnings picture.
| School | Median earnings 1 year after completion | Median earnings 4 years after completion | Median graduate debt | Program return on investment ratio |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community College of Baltimore County | Not reported | Not reported | $11,528 | 3.79 |
| Lincoln College of Technology-Columbia | Not reported | Not reported | $11,250 | 3.44 |
| Wor-Wic Community College | Not reported | Not reported | $7,828 | 4.69 |
Related Articles
Welding Schools by State
Northeast
Southeast
Midwest
Southwest
DC & Territories
Explore More Welding Schools Topics
- Aerospace Welding
- Affordable Welding Schools
- Fastest Welding
- MIG Welding Classes
- Pipe Welding Training
- Pipeline Welding Training
- Structural Welding Training
- TIG Welding Classes
- Best Welding Schools
- CWI Certification
- How Long Is Welding School
- Welding School Cost
- Online Welding Classes
- Paid Welding Training
- Orbital Welding Training
- Underwater Welding Schools
- Welding Classes
- Welding Scholarships & Financial Aid
- Welding School Requirements
- Trade School vs Apprenticeship
- Welding Training