Welding school in Virginia splits into two realities. A one-semester, 17-credit certificate at Wytheville Community College carries about $5,007 in tuition and teaches entry-level SMAW and blueprint reading; a 15-month private program at Advanced Technology Institute runs nearly $14,600 and keeps students in the booth 80 percent of the time.
The practical tension is proximity versus specialization. Community college tuition, typically $5,000 to $5,600, makes plate welding affordable in seven months to a year. But welding jobs in shipyard and pipe work demand 6G welding certification, GTAW, and more shop time than a 17-credit certificate provides. Program-level earnings remain unpublished for most of the 16 ranked schools, so cost and placement figures matter more.
Best Welding Schools in Virginia: Ranked and Compared
The ten programs below are ranked from strongest overall fit to more specialized options for Virginia welding students. Each card focuses on what makes the school distinct, including hands-on training intensity, credential options, cost, and completion outcomes. Program length and exact tuition are covered in later sections to keep these cards focused on fit.
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Program completion rate
- Net price after aid
- Program-specific outcomes
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Advanced Technology Institute
#1Virginia Beach, VA · $16,000/yr
Best for: Maritime-focused career changers
ATI's Maritime Welding diploma stands out for its depth of hands-on training: about 80% of the 15-month program is shop time, with each student getting a dedicated welding booth. The curriculum covers five welding processes, blueprint reading, and structural and pipe welding on steel and aluminum. On-site AWS testing lets students earn certifications up to 6G pipe while enrolled. The school's high completion rate and small classes support this intensive, career-focused path.
- 15-month diploma program
- About 80% of training time in the shop
- Dedicated welding booth with tools provided
- Trains in 5 welding processes, including structural and pipe
- AWS certifications up to 6G pipe with on-site testing
- Blueprint and schematic reading included
- Option to upgrade to associate's in 15 weeks
Wytheville Community College
#2Wytheville, VA · $5,000 – $11,000/yr
Best for: Budget-conscious adults needing quick entry
Wytheville Community College offers a one-semester Welding I Career Studies Certificate that packs fundamental SMAW, GMAW, TIG, and welding drawing skills into 17 credits. Designed for rapid entry into apprentice or lab assistant roles, it has one of the lowest net prices among Virginia welding programs. The campus-based format and general admission requirements make it easy to start quickly without a separate welding application. On-time graduates typically leave with no debt, an unusual advantage for a short credential.
- One-semester, 17-credit certificate
- Covers SMAW, GMAW, TIG, and drawing interpretation
- Campus-based, job-ready entry for apprentices
- General admission requirements, no separate welding application
- On-time graduates typically leave with no debt
Central Virginia Community College
#3Lynchburg, VA · ~$7,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Lynchburg-area beginners wanting hands-on fundamentals
CVCC's Welding Fundamentals program is built for beginning welders in the Lynchburg area, with a clear stack toward NCCER-aligned levels and a Welding Plus certificate option. Students train on campus for roles like welder, metal fabricator, and welding layout worker. Advising support and financial aid availability lower the barrier to entry. The regional workforce-development expansion makes this a practical choice for learners who want a local, employer-connected start.
- Skills for beginning welders in Lynchburg
- NCCER credential levels available
- Welding Plus CSC option for continued advancement
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Careers: welder, metal fabricator, welding layout
New River Community College
#4Dublin, VA · ~$6,000/yr (est.)
New River Community College's Welding Technology Certificate is a job-focused credential within the Division of Business & Technologies. Credit for prior learning lets experienced welders accelerate, while the American Welding Society connection supports industry networking. The Dublin campus program emphasizes the core processes employers expect, positioning graduates for entry-level welding roles.
- Credit for prior learning accepted
- Welding processes coursework included
- American Welding Society connection
- Division of Business & Technologies program
- Prepares for entry-level welding roles
Brightpoint Community College
#5Chester, VA · $5,000 – $12,000/yr
Brightpoint's Welding CSC is a one-year, entry-focused program that teaches enhanced SMAW skills, blueprint and welding symbol reading, and safe lab practices. Military benefits and G3 tuition assistance make it financially accessible for many Virginia students. The Chester campus setting and hands-on instruction prepare graduates for welder, cutter, and fitter roles.
- 1-year career studies certificate
- Enhanced entry-level SMAW welding skills
- Blueprint and welding symbol reading
- Safe laboratory duties training
- Military benefits and financial aid accepted
- Careers: welder, cutter, welder fitter
Virginia Western Community College
#6Roanoke, VA · $5,000 – $12,000/yr
Virginia Western's Welding & Metal Processing CSC covers four core processes and metal fabrication in a flexible day or night schedule. As an AWS accredited testing facility, the college lets students earn an AWS Certified Welder credential on site. The 17-credit certificate is quick and can stack toward an associate degree later, making it a strong value for Roanoke-area students.
- 1-2 semester, 17-credit certificate
- Trains in FCAW, GTAW, GMAW, and SMAW
- Metal fabrication included in training
- AWS accredited testing facility on campus
- Flexible day and night class options
- Can stack a second CSC toward an associate degree
Paul D Camp Community College
#7Franklin, VA · $5,000 – $11,000/yr
Paul D. Camp's General Welding CSC delivers four welding processes plus out-of-position work, blueprint reading, and AWS qualification paths in two semesters or as little as seven months. A 3.0 GPA qualifies graduates for a paid apprenticeship with RepairTech LLC, a rare direct-to-work pipeline. The program's low net price and regional demand data make it a high-value option in the Hampton Roads area.
- Two-semester program, as little as seven months
- Trains in SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW
- Out-of-position welding and plate fitting included
- AWS SENSE Level 1 Entry Welder credential path
- Paid apprenticeship with RepairTech LLC for 3.0 GPA
- Projected 495 annual welding job openings in region
Danville Community College
#8Danville, VA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Danville Community College offers both a Welding Technology certificate and a longer Welding diploma, giving students the choice of a fast credential or deeper training. Welding sits inside the Advanced Manufacturing and Skill Trades department, so students train alongside related trades and get a fuller view of modern shop work. The certificate gets learners job-ready quickly, while the diploma supports advancement.
- Welding Technology certificate and diploma options
- Part of Advanced Manufacturing and Skill Trades
- Hands-on shop time with real job-site equipment
- Small classes with experienced instructors
- Basic Welding career studies certificate also offered
Mountain Gateway Community College
#9Clifton Forge, VA · $5,000 – $11,000/yr
Mountain Gateway's Fundamentals of Welding CSC is a fast, practical entry into core welding processes for modern fabrication facilities. G3 eligibility helps eligible Virginia students cover costs. The program's focus on employer expectations and strong industry demand across manufacturing and construction makes it a sensible starting point for Clifton Forge-area learners.
- Career Studies Certificate in welding
- Basic skills for modern fabrication facilities
- G3 tuition assistance eligible
- Strong demand for qualified welders
- Higher pay for specialty welding skills
J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
#10Richmond, VA · $5,000/yr
Reynolds Community College's Career Studies Certificate in Welding combines a pipe welding focus with hands-on training in newly built labs. Students learn carbon steel, stainless steel, and alloy welding in multiple positions, with no prior welding required. AWS accreditation, G3 tuition assistance, and a high share of debt-free graduates support an accessible path into construction and fabrication welding.
- 1-year, 28-credit career studies certificate
- Pipe welding focus for construction and shipbuilding
- No prior welding experience required
- Trains on carbon steel, stainless steel, and alloys
- AWS accredited program with modern labs
- More than 91% of graduates leave debt-free
How We Ranked Virginia Welding Schools
What actually separates the top-ranked welding programs in Virginia from the rest of the Welding Schools By State list? The order you see reflects a handful of measurable factors pulled from federal higher-education data, not opinion or marketing copy.
What Goes Into the Ranking
Each school's position weighs net price, overall graduation rate, program type (certificate, diploma, or associate degree), and whatever program-level earnings or debt figures are publicly reported. When a school offers multiple credential paths, we looked at how those options compare on cost and completion.
What the Numbers Don't Tell You
Graduation rate here is institution-wide, meaning it reflects the whole college, not the welding program specifically. Community colleges with large, varied student bodies may show different completion patterns than their welding cohort alone. Net price is also an average after grants and scholarships are applied, so what you personally pay could be higher or lower depending on your income, residency, and aid eligibility.
Tuition and Length Were Checked Separately
The exact 2026 tuition figures and program lengths were researched independently for accuracy and don't factor into how schools are ordered. A shorter or cheaper program isn't automatically ranked higher; it simply gets reported alongside the other data so you can weigh it yourself.
All figures come from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, accessed in September 2026. Where a program's earnings or debt outcomes weren't available, we say so directly rather than guess.
Virginia Welding School Costs and Financial Aid: What You'll Pay
Tidewater Community College charges $200.40 per credit for its 18-credit Welding Essentials program, putting in-state tuition at roughly $3,607 before books and supplies, which TCC estimates at $300 to $500 per semester. That's the low end of what welding training costs in Virginia, and it illustrates the core rule: price scales with credential level, not just school name.
What You'll Actually Pay by School
Among ranked programs, in-state tuition for one-semester and one-year welding certificates runs from about $5,000 to $5,500, with out-of-state rates roughly double, near $11,400 to $11,800. Wytheville Community College ($5,007 in-state / $11,445 out-of-state), Southwest Virginia Community College ($5,075 / $11,513), Brightpoint Community College ($5,082 / $11,520), Reynolds Community College ($5,280 / $11,718, at $187.60 per credit in-state), and Virginia Western Community College ($5,400 / $11,838) all cluster in this range for certificate-level welding tracks.
Northern Virginia Community College's welding coursework runs $232.05 per credit plus a $22.50-per-credit materials fee that covers required textbooks; NOVA's published tuition and fees total $3,143, with a broader estimated program cost near $11,196 once other charges are factored in. New River Community College lists tuition and fees at $5,127, plus roughly $900 per semester for books, tools, and supplies that students purchase separately, along with a $26 per-semester-hour capital fee for out-of-state students only.
Net Price After Aid
Published sticker prices rarely reflect what students pay after aid. Federal Pell Grants, Virginia's G3 workforce funding for high-demand trades like welding jobs, and school-specific scholarships routinely cut the out-of-pocket cost for eligible students well below listed tuition, sometimes to a few thousand dollars for a full certificate. Financial aid offices at each college can calculate an individualized net price once you've filed a FAFSA.
The Real Range, Certificate to Degree
So how much does welding school cost in Virginia? Expect roughly $3,600 to $5,500 in-state for a standalone certificate, and closer to $9,000 to $12,000 for a longer diploma or associate-degree track once additional general-education credits, tools, and testing fees are added. Veterans and eligible dependents can offset much of this through VA education benefits, covered in more detail in the admissions section.
Program Length, Credentials, and Class Formats: Certificate, Diploma, or Associate Degree?
Virginia welding programs range from five-week workforce courses to 18-month associate degrees, so the right choice depends on how quickly you need to enter the field and which credential fits your career path. Use the comparison below to see how certificate, diploma, and associate options stack up on length and schedule.
| Program | Credential | Typical Duration | Class Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Highlands Community College Welding Career Studies Certificate, evening track | Career Studies Certificate | One to two semesters | Evening classes (day program starts in even-numbered years, evening in odd-numbered years) |
| Tidewater Community College Shielded Metal Arc Welding course | Workforce training course | Five weeks | Evening, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday at 5 p.m., four-hour sessions |
| Virginia Peninsula Community College Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (GTAW) | Workforce training course | Five weeks | Not specified |
| Advanced Technology Institute Maritime Welding diploma | Diploma | 15 months | Not specified |
| Advanced Technology Institute Maritime Welding associate degree | Associate degree | 18 months total | Not specified |
Accredited Welding Schools in Virginia and AWS Certification Prep
Accreditation and AWS certification are not the same thing, and confusing them can cost you financial aid eligibility or a wasted testing fee. Understanding which Virginia welding programs carry institutional accreditation versus which ones simply host AWS testing changes how you should evaluate a school.
Institutional Accreditation Matters for Financial Aid
Of the ranked programs, Virginia Western Community College carries confirmed regional accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). That status matters because it underpins eligibility for federal financial aid, transferable credit, and employer recognition of your credential. Community college status alone does not guarantee SACSCOC accreditation, so don't assume it for every two-year school on your list. When a program's regional accreditation isn't publicly confirmed, ask the admissions office directly before enrolling if aid eligibility matters to you.
AWS Accredited Testing Facilities vs. SENSE Curriculum
An AWS Accredited Testing Facility (ATF) designation means a school is authorized to administer on-site testing for Welder Certifications, typically through a Certified Welding Inspector. It says nothing about regional accreditation or financial aid eligibility. Virginia Peninsula Community College has held ATF status since 2014 and offers on-site testing (reach the welding center directly at 757-825-4076). Virginia Western (ATF since 2016), Advanced Technology Institute (2016), Tidewater Tech (2015), the Southern Virginia Higher Education Center (2018, with on-site testing and NCCER program accreditation), Southside Virginia Community College, Botetourt Technical Education Center (2016), American Institute of Welding (2014), and Dennis Welding School all appear on AWS's ATF list as well.
Separately, AWS SENSE is an education framework setting minimum training standards, not a testing credential or accreditation body. Paul D. Camp Community College, New Horizons Regional Education Centers, and Byers Technical Institute each offer SENSE Levels 1 and 2, while the College and Career Academy at Pruden offers SENSE Level 1.
D1.1 and Code-Specific Certification
New River Community College graduates report certification in AWS D1.1 (the structural welding code, currently the D1.1/D1.1M:2025 edition) and ASME Section IX, valuable for pipeline and structural fabrication work, including 6G Pipe Welding. Most other schools don't specify D1.1-level prep, so ask directly if that code matters for your target employer.
Welding Processes and Hands-On Training: What You'll Learn in Virginia Welding Programs
Virginia welding programs are built around hands-on practice in the major welding processes: shielded metal arc welding (SMAW), flux-cored arc welding (FCAW), gas metal arc welding (GMAW), and gas tungsten arc welding (GTAW). The state's career and technical colleges usually introduce all four because employers in shipbuilding, structural steel, and piping tend to hire welders who can read and run multiple processes.
Virginia Peninsula Community College allocates 120 hours each to SMAW and FCAW, 75 hours to GMAW, and 100 hours to GTAW. Virginia Technical Institute, Virginia Western Community College, and Centura College also cover all four processes. Northern Virginia Community College takes a more focused route, offering FCAW with 2 lecture hours and 3 laboratory hours each week.
These four arc welding methods represent the core types of welding you will encounter in production and construction settings. Hands-on training dominates the schedule because welding is a motor-skill trade; students spend most of their hours in the booth, starting with flat and horizontal joints before moving to vertical and overhead positions.
Program length varies by credential. Centura College structures the same four-process curriculum as an 8-month program of six courses totaling 24 credits. The heavy SMAW block at Virginia Peninsula Community College is especially useful for students aiming at structural code work, since it provides a practical foundation for pursuing a 4G SMAW Certification.
Welding Certification and Career Outcomes in Virginia: Earnings, Debt, and Job Placement
Program-level median earnings and employment shares are not yet published in federal data for most Virginia welding schools, so the table below shows institution-level median debt and reported placement figures where schools publish them. Among schools that do report placement, Advanced Technology Institute lists an 85 percent rate and Tidewater Tech lists 80 percent, but most Virginia community colleges describe welding placement as strong without a numeric rate. Virginia Works FY2025 data shows 58 percent of workforce programs met or exceeded placement goals, though that is a statewide metric, not a welding-program percentage.
| School | City | Median Debt After Graduation (Institution) | Graduation Rate (Institution) | Job Placement Rate (Reported) | Top Employers (Reported) | Graduates per Year (Ranking Source) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced Technology Institute | Virginia Beach | $14,873 | 79% | 85% | Ford, GM, Mercedes-Benz, Cummins, BAE Systems | Not reported |
| Brightpoint Community College | Chester | $9,500 | 38% | Not published | Not reported | Not reported |
| New River Community College | Dublin | $9,000 | 50% | Not published | FreightCar America, Volvo Trucks North America, Hall's Construction Corporation, Radford Army Ammunition Plant, Imperial Group | Not reported |
| J Sargeant Reynolds Community College | Richmond | $10,500 | 32% | Not published | Not reported | Not reported |
| Virginia Western Community College | Roanoke | $11,000 | 40% | Not published | Not reported | 33 |
| Tidewater Community College | Norfolk | $10,000 | 32% | Not published | Not reported | Not reported |
| Central Virginia Community College | Lynchburg | $8,625 | 45% | Not published | Not reported | 101 |
| Paul D Camp Community College | Franklin | $6,880 | 36% | Not published | Not reported | 3 |
| Wytheville Community College | Wytheville | $7,500 | 47% | Not published | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mountain Gateway Community College | Clifton Forge | $9,182 | 38% | Not published | Not reported | Not reported |
Related Articles
Choosing the Right Virginia Welding School for Your Goals
The hardest tradeoff in this decision is rarely cost. It is proximity versus specialization: the campus twenty minutes from your house may teach solid entry-level plate work when the job you actually want is 6G pipe or shipyard structural. Sort by what you intend to weld first, then see how far you have to drive.
Start with your region
In Hampton Roads and the Tidewater area, Tidewater Community College runs an 18-credit Welding Essentials certificate out of its Portsmouth campus that explicitly points graduates toward Virginia shipyard welding jobs, manufacturing, and oil refineries. Advanced Technology Institute in Virginia Beach offers a maritime welding track with AWS testing on-site. Further south, Paul D Camp Community College in Franklin runs a two-semester program tied to AWS D1.1 structural code and a paid apprenticeship with RepairTech LLC.
Southwest Virginia has the deepest concentration of options: Wytheville, New River in Dublin, Virginia Highlands in Abingdon, Mountain Empire in Big Stone Gap, and Southwest Virginia Community College in Cedar Bluff. Central Virginia readers can look to J Sargeant Reynolds in Richmond, Brightpoint in Chester, or Central Virginia Community College in Lynchburg. Note that our ranked list does not include a Northern Virginia or Culpeper-area campus, so readers in that corridor should plan on either commuting toward Richmond or checking community college and adult-education offerings in their own district directly.
Match the program to your experience level
If you have never struck an arc, look for an introduction to welding program built for that. Reynolds states no previous welding experience is required, Central Virginia frames its Welding Fundamentals course around beginning welders, and Virginia Western's 17-credit certificate is the fastest on-ramp in the group.
If you already weld and need paper, the calculus changes. Southwest Virginia Community College is an Accredited Test Facility offering low-cost testing and a free skills evaluation, which is worth a call even if you do not enroll. Virginia Western is AWS accredited and runs day and night classes; Virginia Highlands offers a separate evening track. Both matter if you are training around a current job.
Pick by the work you want
- Pipe: Reynolds (hands-on pipe practice), Southwest Virginia, Southside Virginia (structural plate and pressure pipe), and ATI for certifications up to 6G.
- Structural: Paul D Camp, Brightpoint's SMAW-heavy certificate.
- Shipyard and maritime: Tidewater, ATI.
- Manufacturing and fabrication: Virginia Western, Mountain Empire, Southside Virginia.
Shortlist two or three, then request program details, current start dates, and testing fees from each before you commit.
Additional Welding Schools in Virginia to Consider
Virginia's community college system offers welding training well beyond the programs in our top ten. The six schools below are grouped by region, and each entry notes the credential, campus format, and reported average net price so you can compare options near you. Net prices reflect average costs after grant and scholarship aid and will vary from student to student.
Hampton Roads
- Welding
Eastern Shore
- Certificate in Welding
Southside Virginia
- Welding Certificate
Southwest Virginia
- Welding
- Welding
- Welding