New Jersey's refineries, shipyard welding facilities, and structural steel fabricators are short on certified welders, and the gap shows up in job postings from Newark to Camden. Manufacturers along the Turnpike corridor and pipefitting contractors near the ports routinely list openings that sit unfilled for months, a direct result of retiring tradespeople outpacing new certifications.
The decision facing prospective students isn't whether welding is a good career, it's which program actually gets them AWS-certified without wasted tuition. Program length runs from seven weeks to two years, and sticker price alone tells you almost nothing about job placement.
Schools across North, Central, and South Jersey differ sharply in shop hours, equipment access, and certification testing built into the curriculum, not just in brochure claims.
Best Welding Schools in New Jersey: Ranked & Reviewed
These seven New Jersey welding programs offer a range of schedules, concentrations, and price points for career changers and first-time students. The list below includes certificate and diploma options from private career schools and community colleges, with details on topics like pipe welding, GMAW, GTAW, and SMAW. Use the school summaries and program bullets to compare what fits your schedule, budget, and career goals.
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Program completion rates
- Net price affordability
- Hands-on training hours
- Industry-relevant curriculum
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Lincoln Technical Institute-South Plainfield
#1South Plainfield, NJ · ~$32,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Hands-on learners seeking pipe specialization
Lincoln Technical Institute in South Plainfield offers a hands-on Welding and Fabrication Technology with Pipe certificate. The program runs about 42 weeks and includes 960 instructional hours, covering SMAW, GMAW/MIG, FCAW, and GTAW/TIG with a dedicated pipe concentration. Students also train in oxyfuel, plasma, and air carbon arc cutting plus weld inspection and repair. Day, afternoon, and evening schedules support students who are working or managing family responsibilities.
- 42-week program, 40 semester credits
- 960 instructional hours, day/afternoon/evening schedules
- Covers SMAW, GMAW/MIG, FCAW, GTAW/TIG and pipe welding
- Weld quality inspection, repair, and symbol reading
- Oxyfuel, plasma, and air carbon arc cutting
Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield
#2Bloomfield, NJ · $28,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Employed adults balancing work and training
Universal Technical Institute's Bloomfield campus runs a 36-week Welding Technology program built around the four main arc welding processes. The 12-course sequence includes pipe welding and training in fixed, rolling, and overhead positions. Career Services advisors provide resume, interview, and job search support, and the Early Employment Program lets qualifying students work part-time while finishing training. This is a strong fit for students who want a structured, industry-aligned path into welding.
- 36-week program, 12 total courses
- Covers GTAW, FCAW, GMAW, and SMAW processes
- Training in fixed, rolling, and overhead positions
- Part-time work option while completing training
- Career Services resume, interview, and job search support
Sussex County Community College
#3Newton, NJ · $6,000 – $9,000/yr
Best for: Budget-conscious community college learners
Sussex County Community College offers a Certificate of Achievement in Welding Technology on its Newton campus. The program covers shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, gas tungsten arc, and flux-cored processes alongside blueprint reading, metallurgy, and shop safety. Most time is spent at the bench practicing beads and joints until they hold up to inspection. Graduates are prepared for entry-level work as welding technicians, fabricators, and maintenance welders in construction, manufacturing, and repair shops.
- Certificate of Achievement in Welding Technology
- Covers SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and flux-cored processes
- Blueprint reading, metallurgy, and shop safety
- Small campus with focused hands-on training
- Prepares for entry-level welding technician and fabricator roles
Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester
#4Sewell, NJ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr
Rowan College of South Jersey's Gloucester campus offers a Welding and Fabrication certificate that packs a lot into a single year. Students learn MIG, TIG, and stick welding, plus metal fabrication, blueprint reading, and safe equipment operation. Coursework covers joining, cutting, and shaping metals for structural steel, pipe welding, and custom work. The program is a new offering shaped around employer needs, with financial aid available.
- 1-year certificate program
- Covers MIG, TIG, and stick welding
- Metal fabrication and blueprint reading
- Structural steel and pipe welding
- Welding safety and quality control training
- Financial aid available
Rowan College of South Jersey-Cumberland Campus
#5Vineland, NJ · $11,000/yr
Rowan College of South Jersey's Cumberland campus offers a Career Training Certificate in Welding that can be completed in three to six months. The program mixes technical instruction with hands-on practice and focuses on joining metal safely, workplace standards, and job-site habits. Free information sessions let prospective students ask questions before committing. Graduates can pursue entry-level roles in manufacturing, construction, and industrial maintenance.
- Complete in 3-6 months
- Career Training Certificate
- Free information sessions available
- Hands-on training, real-world skills
- Prepares for manufacturing, construction, and industrial maintenance
Camden County College
#6Blackwood, NJ · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Camden County College offers a one-year, 30-week online Welding Apprentice certificate focused on the theory behind welding. Students learn to set up welding systems, choose welding and cutting techniques, and work safely in industrial settings. The certificate produces credit that may transfer into an associate degree, and it is delivered through Workforce Development. This program is especially useful for students who need online flexibility or are already working in an apprenticeship.
- 30-week online certificate, 12 credit hours
- Related technical theory for apprenticeships
- Credits may transfer to associate degree
- Prepares maintenance technicians for fabricating and repair
- Register through Workforce Development division
Passaic County Community College
#7Paterson, NJ · ~$8,000/yr (est.)
Passaic County Community College offers an 18-credit Certificate of Achievement in Welding at a state-of-the-art facility in Paterson. The program covers blueprint reading, welding fundamentals, and intermediate and advanced welding, including gas metal arc, shielded metal arc, and gas tungsten processes. Instruction is individualized based on experience, and the college is an American Welding Society educational member. Graduates find entry-level technician roles in construction, manufacturing, fabrication, and pipeline work.
- 18-credit Certificate of Achievement
- Covers GMAW, SMAW, and GTAW processes
- State-of-the-art welding facility in Paterson
- Individualized instruction based on experience
- Prior learning credit and part of AAS Technical Studies
- American Welding Society educational member
How We Ranked These Welding Schools
We ranked New Jersey Welding Schools using four public data points: net price, program-level earnings and debt, graduation rate, and the number of welding completers. No single metric decides the list, and we do not treat school reputation, instructor charisma, or campus amenities as objective scores. The goal is to surface programs that give students the clearest return on investment in Welding Jobs.
The Four Metrics We Compared
- Net price: This is the average annual cost after grants and scholarships for full-time, first-time students. It reflects what a typical student actually pays, not the sticker tuition.
- Program-level earnings and debt: Where available, we look at median earnings for students who completed welding or closely related programs and compare those earnings to typical debt loads. This pair shows whether graduates can realistically pay back what they borrow.
- Graduation rate: This is the share of all students at the institution who finish a credential within a set time. It is not specific to the welding program.
- Completers: The number of students finishing welding programs signals program size, faculty capacity, and consistent output.
Why Cost and Earnings Get More Weight
We weight net price and program-level earnings and debt more heavily than graduation rate or completions. A program with a low tuition bill and strong graduate earnings can still rank well even if the institution-wide graduation rate is middling. Conversely, a school with a high completion count but weak earnings outcomes does not automatically climb the list. Cost and earnings are the closest public proxies for student ROI, so they carry more influence in the final order.
What This Ranking Does Not Claim
Two limitations matter. First, the graduation rate is institution-wide, not program-specific. A strong welding cohort may be dragged down by other departments, or a weak one hidden by strong overall completion. Second, net price is an average after aid. Your actual cost may be higher or lower depending on financial aid eligibility, residency, and whether you attend full time or part time. Some New Jersey welding programs also may not have program-level earnings data reported yet, in which case we leave that row without an earnings figure and note the gap rather than substituting an institution-wide number or inventing one. The ranking method is transparent about those gaps and does not award points for missing data. The result is a practical starting point for comparing schools, not a claim that we measured every factor in a student's decision.
Welding Program Costs and Financial Aid in New Jersey
Tuition for welding training in New Jersey ranges widely, from a few thousand dollars for short workforce courses to more than $30,000 for private career schools. Net price after grants and scholarships is usually lower than the published list price, but each student's final cost depends on residency, program type, and aid eligibility. The figures below are approximate and may vary by specific welding program within each school.
| School | Program Cost (Approx.) | Accreditation | Title IV | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Camden County College | $2,000 to $6,500 (2026 third-party estimate for welding certificate) | Not reported for this workforce program | No for this non-credit program | Duration 10 to 18 weeks. College average net price after aid is about $6,000. |
| Passaic County Community College | Not published for 2026; college in-district tuition is $6,300 | AWS educational institution member, not SENSE | Not confirmed for this program | 15-credit, 3-semester welding and metal program. Average net price after aid about $7,800. |
| Sussex County Community College | Not published separately; college in-district tuition is $5,544 | Not reported | Not confirmed | Certificate of Achievement in Welding. Average net price after aid about $7,900. |
| Rowan College of South Jersey, Cumberland Campus | Not published separately; college in-district tuition is $5,160 | Not reported | Not confirmed | Career Training Certificate, 3 to 6 months. Average net price after aid about $10,600. |
| Rowan College of South Jersey, Gloucester Campus | Not published separately; college in-district tuition is $5,160 | Not reported | Not confirmed | Welding and Fabrication certificate. Average net price after aid about $12,400. |
| Universal Technical Institute, Bloomfield | $22,000 for 9-month welding program (2026, tuition only) | ACCSC | Yes | Application fee $50. Total cost of attendance about $33,070. Net price varies widely after aid. |
| Lincoln Technical Institute, South Plainfield | Not published separately; annual cost of attendance is $35,680 | ACCSC | Yes | Median debt $11,730; 52.7% of students receive Pell Grants. Welding-specific tuition not itemized. |
| County College of Morris | $4,999 for AWS L1 workforce courses (2026, non-credit) | Not SENSE or regional for this program | No | Price is for workforce training, not credit tuition. |
| Bergen Community College | $2,000 to $6,500 (2026 third-party estimate) | Not reported | No for this program | Duration 10 to 18 weeks. |
| Burlington County Institute of Technology, Adult Education | $5,574 (2025 published; 2026 not established) | Not reported | No | 2026 estimate conflicting across reporting contexts. |
| Lincoln Technical Institute, Mahwah | $26,332 for 11-month Welding Tech certificate (2026) | ACCSC | Aid available, Title IV status not specified | |
| Hohokus School of Trade and Technical Sciences | $22,401 (related Precision Metal Working certificate, not confirmed as welding) | Not specified | Yes | Median debt $7,600. |
| The Training Center, New Jersey | $22,000 all-inclusive (gear, tools, materials, books, PPE, AWS D1.1 testing) | None reported | No | Financing available. |
| American Welding Institute | Not published for NJ | Not specified | Yes | Structural and combination programs approved for Title IV. |
Welding Program Lengths, Schedules, and Admission Requirements
Program lengths vary widely across New Jersey, from seven-week certificate tracks to two-year programs. Students can choose daytime, evening, weekend, or part-time schedules depending on the school. Admission requirements also vary, with some adult programs open to anyone over 18 and others requiring a high school diploma, GED, or prior welding experience.
| School | Program Length | Schedule Options | Admission Requirements |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lincoln Tech, Mahwah | Approximately 42 weeks | Day, afternoon, and evening | N/A |
| Lincoln Tech, South Plainfield | Approximately 42 weeks | Day and evening | N/A |
| The Training Center, Branchburg | 10 months (45 weeks) | 5 days a week, 4 hours a day | N/A |
| County College of Morris, AWS Level 1 Welding | Approximately 7 weeks | Evening and weekend, including weekday evenings and Saturdays | Introduction to Welding or 1 year of work experience as a welder; registration is by invitation; students are expected to supply their own safety gear and clothing |
| Eastwick College, Welding Diploma, Hohokus | 6 months (day) to 12 months (evening) | Day and evening | N/A |
| Universal Technical Institute, Bloomfield | 36 weeks | Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. | High school diploma or an equivalent, such as a GED certificate |
| Gloucester County Vocational-Technical School, Adult Programs | N/A | Wednesday and Thursday, 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.; dates vary by term | Open to high school graduates or adults over age 18 who are not currently enrolled in high school; applicants must be capable of performing the coursework, meet prerequisite requirements, and pay applicable tuition fees |
| Bergen County Technical Schools, Basic Welding | 78 hours | Monday and Wednesday, 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.; Teterboro; sessions begin September 23 and January 25 | N/A |
| Monmouth County Vocational School District, Welding | 2 years | N/A | High-school program; specific admission requirements are not stated |
Welding Certifications and How to Get AWS Certified in NJ
A school certificate proves you finished a program. An AWS certification proves you can weld to a specific code, under test conditions, in front of a Certified Welding Inspector (CWI). Employers hiring for structural steel, pressure vessels, or pipeline work almost always want the second one, regardless of how good the first one looks on paper.
School Certificate vs. AWS Certification
Completion certificates from a welding program document hours logged and coursework passed. They matter for entry-level hiring and for enrollment in advanced classes, but they are not a substitute for a process-specific qualification test. AWS certification, most commonly under the D1.1 structural welding code, requires you to weld actual test coupons that get bent, broken, or X-rayed to verify sound welds, a process known as Destructive Weld Testing. Passing that test, not finishing a semester, is what leads to higher-paying fabrication, structural, and pipe welding jobs across New Jersey.
Where to Test in NJ
AWS Accredited Test Facilities (ATFs) are the only places authorized to administer official certification tests. In New Jersey, two facilities are recognized ATFs:
- District Council of Northern New Jersey: 12 Edison Place, Newark, NJ. Phone (973) 376-7230 Ext 609.1
- Atlas Evaluation & Inspection Service: 943 E. Hazelwood Ave., Rahway, NJ. Contact Nagesh Goel at (732) 388-7711 or [email protected].2
AVNA Learning Center operates training locations in Jersey City, North Brunswick, and Secaucus that support welding instruction and test prep, though they are not listed as accredited test facilities.3 Confirm current ATF status directly with any facility before scheduling, since accreditation can change. AWS also maintains an online locator that searches accredited facilities by city, state, or ZIP code if you need options outside these two.4
The Certification Pathway
The process is straightforward once you know the steps:
- Train: Build proficiency in the specific process and position you plan to certify in, whether that's flat, horizontal, vertical, or overhead.
- Show up with ID: A photo ID such as a driver's license is required at the testing site.4
- Test: A CWI supervises your weld on coupons, which are then evaluated for defects.
- Certify: Passing coupons earn you a documented AWS Certified Welder credential in that process and position.4
Costs run in the neighborhood of $350 for a single position test like 1G or 2G, and around $450 for the more demanding 3G SMAW Certification and 4G all-position certification, though facility pricing can vary.4
Beyond D1.1: Niche Codes
New Jersey's refineries, chemical plants, and power facilities also value ASME Section IX certification for pressure vessel and piping welds, and API certifications for pipeline and storage tank work. These credentials layer on top of AWS qualifications and typically come after you've established solid structural or pipe welding fundamentals.
How to Become a Welder in New Jersey: Step-By-Step
The typical route combines classroom training, verified hands-on hours, and a performance-based AWS certification test. Some welders substitute a paid union apprenticeship for a college or technical school program, but either path ends with the same goal: passing an AWS welding test and landing an entry-level job.

Welding Careers in New Jersey: Job Outlook and Salaries
What can you actually earn as a welder in New Jersey, and where is demand strongest? Wages vary by certification, industry, and location, but the state’s overall numbers give a useful baseline.
New Jersey welders earned a median annual wage of about $59,630 in 2026, or roughly $28.67 per hour.1 For comparison, the national median for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers was $53,750 in May 2025.2 That puts New Jersey roughly $5,900 above the national median. The state employed about 3,700 welders as of May 2025, so the field has a compact labor pool but above-average pay.3
Where welding demand is strongest
Welding work in New Jersey clusters in four industries: - Construction and steel erection - Manufacturing and fabrication - Shipbuilding and repair - Infrastructure, including bridges, ports, and utilities
Ports, highway projects, industrial facilities, and fabrication shops rely on welders, and proximity to the New York City metro area adds demand in northern counties. Employers that hire for these roles often look for Welder Certifications such as AWS credentials or process-specific qualifications, which can make a candidate more competitive.
How certifications affect pay
A median wage only tells part of the story. Welders with AWS certifications, 6G Pipe Welding qualifications, or experience in TIG and structural work tend to earn above the median, while entry-level production welders often start below it. Overtime and shift differentials in shipbuilding and infrastructure can also push annual earnings higher.
North Jersey vs. South Jersey
Regional demand is uneven. North Jersey, including Newark, Jersey City, and the Meadowlands corridor, has a larger base of manufacturing, logistics, and infrastructure employers, which typically means more openings. South Jersey has fewer welding jobs overall, but some pockets pay above the state median. In the Atlantic City-Hammonton area, welders averaged about $65,460 in 2023, even though only about 70 welders were employed there.4 That points to a smaller market where skilled welders can command strong wages.
Job outlook and placement rates
The Bureau of Labor Statistics and the New Jersey Department of Labor do not currently publish a welding-specific projected growth rate for New Jersey. National BLS data provides welding employment and wage context, but state-level growth projections are not broken out for this trade in the latest materials reviewed. On school outcomes, no verified job placement rate or employer partnership list for individual New Jersey welding schools is available in the published data reviewed here. Students comparing programs should ask schools directly about recent placement numbers and which employers recruit from their welding classes.
Choosing the Right Type of Welding Program in NJ
The real choice isn't which single school is "best," it's which type of program matches your budget, timeline, and how much hand-holding you need finding a job afterward. Community colleges, private trade schools, county vocational districts, and union apprenticeships all teach different types of welding, but they differ sharply in cost, pace, and what happens after graduation.
Community Colleges vs. Private Schools
Community colleges tend to run cheaper per credit and often stack welding certificates into an associate degree, which matters if you want a fallback credential or plan to move into inspection or engineering technology later. Private welding schools usually cost more but compress training into fewer months and lean harder on job-placement staff and employer relationships. If speed to a paycheck matters more than a broader academic record, private programs often win. If you want flexibility to pause, transfer credits, or layer on general education, a community college fits better.
County Vocational Programs
County vocational-technical schools frequently offer the lowest tuition in the state, especially for adult postsecondary welding tracks, but pricing usually favors residents of that county. Check in-district versus out-of-district rates before assuming a program is affordable, since the gap can be substantial. These programs also vary in how much shop time and certification testing they build in, so ask directly rather than assuming parity with a community college.
Unions and Apprenticeships
Don't overlook union-sponsored welding apprenticeship programs through pipefitter, ironworker, or boilermaker locals. These pathways pay you while you train, cover much of the instructional cost, and lead directly into structured career ladders. The tradeoff is a longer commitment (typically several years) and a competitive application process, so they suit people who know welding is a long-term career rather than those testing the waters.
Schedule Fit Matters Most
For career changers juggling a current job or family obligations, schedule flexibility often outweighs prestige or even cost. Evening and weekend cohorts, self-paced lab hours, and hybrid theory instruction let adult learners keep earning while training. Before enrolling anywhere, ask how shop-time slots are scheduled and whether missed sessions can be made up, since rigid daytime-only programs quietly eliminate a lot of working adults from finishing on time.
Welding Schools Near You: Major NJ Cities and Regions
Should you pick the closest campus or the best-fit program? In a dense state like New Jersey, the two often line up, but where you live still shapes your realistic options. Welding is a hands-on trade you cannot learn remotely; the types of welding all require in-person training, so options vary by region.
North Jersey (Newark, Jersey City)
The Newark area anchors North Jersey's industrial base, with port and warehouse activity driving steady demand for skilled welders and fabricators.
- Essex County College (Newark): Identified as a Newark welding and fabrication location. Program and schedule details were limited in our research, so contact the school directly to confirm current offerings.
- Hohokus School of Trade & Technical Science (Paterson): A trade-focused option along the North Jersey corridor at 634 Market Street.
- Lincoln Tech (South Plainfield / Mahwah): The Mahwah campus serves far North Jersey; South Plainfield is a reasonable structured alternative for commuters willing to head toward Central Jersey.
Jersey City students should note that no local welding school surfaced in our research. The practical move is commuting to Newark, Paterson, or another North Jersey campus.
Central Jersey
Central Jersey's most clearly described structured program is Lincoln Tech in South Plainfield (901 Hadley Road), offering Welding Technology. Its position on the Route 287 corridor makes it accessible from both northern and central towns. Ask about part-time and evening formats if you are training while working, since availability varies by term.
South Jersey (Camden, Pennsauken, Collingswood)
South Jersey carries strong local demand tied to Camden's port and industrial waterfront, making it one of the more active regions for welding employment.
- Camden County College (Blackwood): Its Welding Technology program at 200 College Drive covers SMAW, including 4G SMAW Certification, along with oxyfuel cutting, blueprint reading, and hot work safety in a college setting.
- Camden County Technical Schools (Pennsauken): A public vocational option at 6008 Browning Road, the most direct choice for Camden, Pennsauken, and Collingswood commuters. A second campus sits in Sicklerville.
- Elite Welder Training & Testing (Mickleton): A smaller training and testing shop convenient for Camden and Gloucester county residents who want a focused, hands-on path.
- Rowan College of South Jersey: Campuses in Sewell (Gloucester) and Vineland (Cumberland) extend coverage across the southern counties.
Collingswood itself has no dedicated welding school, so Pennsauken and Blackwood are the nearest practical picks. Cross-river commuters sometimes consider Universal Technical Institute in Exton, PA, described as near Camden, though it sits outside New Jersey. Whichever region you choose, confirm start dates, part-time slots, and commute distance before enrolling.