A structural welder certified to AWS D1.1 standards in Missouri can expect a mean annual wage near $56,763, according to figures published by East Central College, and can reach that credential in as little as 12 to 16 weeks at a community college. That timeline compresses a career change most people assume takes years into a single semester or two, which is exactly why the state's welding programs draw so many second-career applicants into a career in welding.
The catch is variation. In-state tuition across Missouri's nine leading programs runs from roughly $4,152 to $7,110, and program length swings from a 12-week certificate to a full academic year with paid internship placement, so cost and time-to-credential are not interchangeable across schools.
That spread means the cheapest option and the fastest option are rarely the same school, and picking wrong costs more than money.
The 9 Best Welding Schools in Missouri
Missouri's welding schools range from fast certificate tracks to apprenticeship-linked programs, so the right choice depends on your schedule, budget, and career target. We compared hands-on training, completion signals, and affordability to narrow the state to nine standouts. These are the schools worth a close look for 2026.
- Student-faculty ratio weighted heaviest
- Program completion weighted heavily
- First-year retention weighted less
- Adjusted tuition weighted less
- Regional fit and verified operations considered
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Ranken Technical College
#1Saint Louis, MO · $15,000 – $20,000/yr
Best for: St. Louis learners balancing paid internships
A well-known St. Louis technical college with a one-year fabrication and welding certificate. The 7,500-square-foot shop has 38 welding booths, a plasma cutting table, and two cranes, and day students alternate eight weeks of instruction with eight weeks of paid internship. Evening students can finish in nine months, and the program reports a 100 percent job placement rate with certification tests in stick, MIG, and TIG.
- 38 welding booths in a 7,500-square-foot shop
- Day students complete paid internship rotations
- Evening option finishes in 9 months
- Reports a 100 percent job placement rate
- Certification tests in SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW
- Covers plate, pipe, carbon steel, stainless, and aluminum
- Prepares for welding inspector and pipefitter roles
State Fair Community College
#2Sedalia, MO · $8,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Missouri residents seeking lower tuition rates
A Sedalia option that runs a one-year campus certificate and builds welders through four semesters of shop time. The sequence covers oxy/acetylene, stick, MIG, TIG, and plasma cutting while following AWS guidelines, with students able to test for AWS D1.1 and ASME Section 9 pipe qualifications. Missouri residents receive a lower welding rate than out-of-state learners, and the college participates in the Midwest Student Exchange Program for qualifying students.
- 41 total credit hours across four semesters
- Covers oxy/acetylene, stick, MIG, TIG, and plasma arc cutting
- Aligns with American Welding Society guidelines
- Offers AWS D1.1 and ASME Section 9 qualification tests
- Missouri residents pay a lower per-credit rate than nonresident students
- Training in the Fielding Technical Center
East Central College
#3Union, MO · ~$13,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working adults wanting stackable credit pathways
A Union community college with a Fast Track welding certificate that can be completed in about 16 weeks. The 22-credit program stacks toward an associate degree and covers stick, TIG, MIG, and oxy-fuel welding, with an AWS Sense 1 exam built into the capstone. East Central is a Metallica Scholars Initiative participant and has used that funding to support welding and advanced manufacturing students.
- 16-week Fast Track option with 22 credit hours
- Credits stack toward an associate degree
- Covers SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, and oxy-fuel welding
- AWS Sense 1 exam proctored in capstone
- Classes meet four days or in the evening
- Metallica Scholars Initiative provides student support
- Washington site option through Four Rivers Career Center
Saint Louis Community College
#4Bridgeton, MO · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
A Florissant Valley campus option now housed in the Advanced Manufacturing Center, which opened in 2025 and added dedicated welding booths. Students choose between a foundational Certificate of Specialization and an advanced Certificate of Proficiency, with OSHA 10 safety training built in. In-district tuition is $127 per credit hour, and residents of several neighboring states may qualify for in-state rates through the Midwest Student Exchange Program.
- Two certificate paths: specialization and proficiency
- OSHA 10 safety training built in
- Practices oxy-acetylene, brazing, cutting, SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW
- Small classes with 22:1 student-to-teacher ratio
- Housed in the Advanced Manufacturing Center at Florissant Valley
- In-district tuition is $127 per credit hour
- Complete in as few as 12 weeks
Jefferson College
#5Hillsboro, MO · $7,000/yr (net price)
A Hillsboro college with a welding technology certificate and an associate of applied science option, both built around American Welding Society standards. A U.S. Department of Labor-registered apprenticeship with Leonardo DRS lets eligible students work as paid employees with mentoring and progressive wage increases. Day and night class plans are available, and a required tool kit has students in the shop by the second week.
- Certificate and AAS degree options available
- Registered apprenticeship with Leonardo DRS
- Apprentices earn college credit through paid employment
- Day and night class plans offered
- Required tool kit due by second week of class
- Aligns with American Welding Society standards
- Scholarships available, including Bi-State Fabricators award
Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City
#6Kansas City, MO · $8,000/yr (net price)
A Kansas City technical pathway based at the Advanced Technical Skills Institute, which has expanded its welding lab with recent state and Metallica Scholars funding. The campus-based Welding Construction certificate starts in fall, spring, or summer and is designed to move students into welding and construction jobs faster than a full degree. The college also hosted a Project MFG welding competition at the institute in 2025.
- Campus certificate in Applied Technology and Manufacturing pathway
- Starts fall, spring, or summer
- Training at Advanced Technical Skills Institute
- Welding lab expanded with Missouri One Start funding
- Metallica Scholars Initiative supports welding programs
- Hosted Project MFG Kansas City competition in 2025
St. Charles Community College
#7Cottleville, MO · $6,000/yr
A Cottleville-area college that moved welding instruction to the Regional Workforce Innovation Center in Wentzville. The certificate covers SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW while embedding industry credentials through Lincoln Electric and Snap-on partnerships. Credits may transfer to future degrees, and starting fall 2026 welding is a Tier 2 program at $216 per credit hour in-district.
- Training at the Regional Workforce Innovation Center in Wentzville
- Covers SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW
- Industry credentials through Lincoln Electric and Snap-on partnerships
- Offers AWS entry-level and advanced certification opportunities
- Credits transfer to future degree programs
- Tier 2 tuition begins fall 2026
Three Rivers College
#8Poplar Bluff, MO · $8,000/yr (net price)
A southeast Missouri college with a Maintenance Welding certificate at its Dexter location. Instruction covers gas metal, gas tungsten, and shielded metal arc welding plus cutting, shop safety, and blueprint reading. A $1 million federal grant and local match are equipping the new Bootheel Technical Training Center to expand welding and building-trades training in the region.
- Offered at the Dexter location
- Covers GMAW, GTAW, and SMAW
- Includes cutting, shop safety, and blueprint reading
- Focuses on entry-level welding operations
- Part of Career and Technical Education
- Bootheel training center expansion planned
Mineral Area College
#9Park Hills, MO · $10,000 – $15,000/yr
A Park Hills college with a capacity-limited Welding Technology cohort that begins each August. The 4,800-square-foot William Dickerson Welding Technology Center hosts training, and the program currently seats up to 12 students with plans to double capacity in 2027. Advanced TIG welding was offered in the evening for the first time in spring 2026.
- Annual cohort begins in August
- Maximum of 12 seats per year
- Capacity expansion planned for 2027
- Trains in the 4,800-square-foot William Dickerson Welding Technology Center
- Advanced TIG evening section first offered spring 2026
- Catalog years 2024 through 2026 on file
How We Ranked These Schools
What actually determines the order of the nine schools above? A repeatable scoring formula, not editorial preference. Every program in our Missouri list is scored against the same set of published outcome measures, so a small rural technical school and a large metro community college get evaluated on identical terms.
The Data Behind the Scores
Two sources feed the model. The first is the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, which publishes cost, earnings, completion, and borrowing figures reported by the institutions themselves. The second is our own Welding Schools By State catalog, which tracks credential type, program length, and whether a school operates as a certification testing site. No campus pays for placement, and no score is adjusted by hand.
Factors, In Order of Weight
- Net price: Out-of-pocket cost after grant aid, which matters more than the sticker tuition rate.
- Early-career earnings: Reported pay for graduates roughly one year out of the program.
- Completions per cohort: How many welding credentials the school actually awards, a proxy for whether the program is staffed and running at scale.
- Student debt load: Typical borrowing among graduates, weighed against those earnings figures.
One Important Caveat
Graduation rates published for these institutions are campus-wide, covering every program from nursing to business administration. They are not specific to the welding department. A community college with a modest overall completion rate may still run a strong, fast-finishing welding certificate, so treat that number as context rather than a verdict on the shop floor.
Related Articles
How Does Missouri Welding School Cost Compare to Your Future Paycheck?
Missouri welding programs cost a fraction of many four-year degrees, and the payoff can arrive quickly once you are on the job. Because first-year earnings for these programs are not yet reported in federal data, the chart pairs in-state tuition with a broader median earnings figure for working former students.

Missouri Welding School Cost and Financial Aid
The table below shows each school's published in-state and out-of-state tuition, net price, and graduation rate from the latest federal data. Net price is an institution-wide average for full-time beginning students after grant aid, so it is not a program-specific welding quote. For current program pricing, State Technical College of Missouri lists 2026-27 welding tuition at $460 per credit for Missouri residents and $920 for nonresidents, Midwest Technical Institute-Missouri advertises $18,716 for its 10-month welding program plus $3,680 in books and supplies, Missouri Welding Institute lists total program costs of $25,900 and $18,900 depending on the program variant, and St. Louis Community College charges district residents $127 per credit. On funding, Missouri Welding Institute explicitly states that the Post-9/11 GI Bill can pay tuition for eligible active duty, reserve, veteran, and dependent students; published sources do not clearly confirm WIOA funding or formal tuition payment plans for these welding programs, so veterans and workforce-funded students should contact the school's financial aid office directly.
| School | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Net Price Effective | Graduation Rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Charles Community College | $3,048 | $6,096 | $5,837 | 24.8% |
| Jefferson College | $5,250 | $8,850 | $7,378 | 38.3% |
| State Fair Community College | $4,176 | $7,416 | $7,985 | 44.1% |
| Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City | $3,630 | $9,600 | $8,398 | 33.6% |
| Saint Louis Community College | $3,660 | $6,990 | $8,440 | 21.3% |
| Three Rivers College | $4,950 | $6,180 | $8,496 | 33.3% |
| Mineral Area College | $5,660 | $8,570 | $12,045 | 49.1% |
| East Central College | $4,272 | $7,680 | $13,128 | 47.6% |
| Ranken Technical College | $18,008 | $18,008 | $18,795 | 53.1% |
AWS Accreditation and Welding Certifications in Missouri
Accreditation and certification options vary by campus. This table includes only schools where process coverage or certification testing could be confirmed from current public sources; some SENSE-accredited centers do not publish detailed process or testing lists.
| School | AWS SENSE Accredited | Welding Processes Covered | Certification Tests Available |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crowder College | SENSE School Level 1 and 2 | SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, FCAW (listed as FCW), and pipe welding using SMAW, GTAW, and GMAW | Qualifies welds to AWS, ASME, or API codes; specific AWS D1.1 and API 1104 tests not named |
| State Technical College of Missouri | AWS-certified program structured for AWS SENSE Entry and Advanced Welder certifications | GMAW, FCAW, GTAW | AWS SENSE Level I welder performance qualification tests |
| Ozarks Technical Community College | Springfield lab is an AWS Accredited Testing Facility; SENSE accreditation not explicitly stated | SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, FCAW | Not reported in cited sources |
| State Fair Community College | Not reported in cited sources | Structural welding and pipe welding; SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and FCAW not enumerated | Several AWS structural welding certifications and ASME pipe welding certifications |
| Missouri State University | Not reported in cited sources | SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, GTAW | Lincoln Electric-NC3 certifications for at least three listed processes; AWS D1.1, API 1104, or ASME tests not named |
Admissions Requirements: What You Need to Enroll
Admissions requirements vary by school, but most Missouri welding programs welcome career-changers with no prior welding experience. Use this checklist to plan your application.
- High school diploma or GEDMany schools, like State Technical College of Missouri and Three Rivers College, require a high school diploma or equivalent. Missouri Welding Institute lists it as recommended but may ask for a final transcript.
- Minimum ageRequirements range from 17 to 18. Missouri Welding Institute admits 17-year-olds with a parent or guardian co-signature; other schools often set the age at 18.
- Placement or entrance examsNot universal. Some programs, such as State Tech, require ACT or Accuplacer Next Gen scores; many others have no entrance exam.
- Prior welding experienceGenerally not required. Most Missouri welding programs are open to beginners, and some schools do not accept transfer credit for previous training.
- Background check or other requirementsVaries by school. SoMoTech requires a Missouri State Highway Patrol criminal background search; Missouri Welding Institute requires good eyesight, a $100 fee, and may evaluate prior credit.
Night, Weekend, and Part-Time Schedules by School
Scheduling flexibility often determines whether a career-changer can actually finish a welding program while keeping a paycheck coming in. Here's what's currently documented for Missouri's top schools.
Evening and Weekend Options
- Midwest Technical Institute (Springfield): Offers daytime and evening classes for its 7-month Welding program and 10-month Welding & Pipefitting track.1 This is the clearest night-class option among Missouri schools and gives working students a realistic path to train after a day job.
- Crider's Institute of Welding Technology (Kansas City/Columbia): Class days include Monday, Tuesday, Saturday, and Sunday, a nontraditional split that suggests weekend availability for students who need weekdays open for work or family obligations.
- Missouri Welding Institute (Nevada): New welding classes start every two weeks, so students aren't stuck waiting months for the next cohort. This frequent-start model adds scheduling flexibility even though specific day/night session details aren't published.
Campus-Based Programs Without Published Part-Time Tracks
- Ranken Technical College (St. Louis): Runs its Fabrication and Welding program on campus. Ranken lists day and evening delivery for its Fabrication and Welding program.
- St. Louis Community College: Offers Welding Technology on campus. Same as Ranken, specific evening or part-time schedule information isn't currently listed.2
- State Technical College of Missouri (Linn): Offers both certificate and associate paths, giving students a choice between a faster credential and a fuller degree, though published schedule flexibility (nights, weekends) isn't detailed.
Hybrid and Online Theory
Welding is a hands-on trade, and none of the Missouri programs reviewed here advertise hybrid or fully online instruction. Booth time, torch time, and instructor feedback on bead quality simply don't translate to a screen, so expect to be on campus or in a shop for the technical core of any program, even if some classroom theory is folded into evening sessions.
What Flexibility Means for Program Length
Schedule format directly shapes how long a program takes. A student who can only attend evenings or weekends around a full-time job will typically stretch a 7-month day program into something longer, while frequent-start schools like Missouri Welding Institute let you begin sooner even if the pace afterward is fixed. Before enrolling, ask directly whether attendance is fixed full-time or can be paced part-time, since that answer affects both your timeline and your budget.
Graduate Earnings and Employer Partnerships
Program-level earnings data for Missouri welding completers is not yet available, so this section focuses on employer partnerships and published placement support. Placement rates are published unevenly across schools; Ranken Technical College is the only program with a publicly reported percentage in our current research.
| School | Program | Employer Partner / Placement Support | Published Placement Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ranken Technical College | Fabrication and Welding (Day and Evening) | General Motors and Missouri Smelting Technology (2023-2024) | 100% |
| Missouri Welding Institute | Welding | Placement support available | N/A |
| Crowder College | Welding | MOKAN partnership with Missouri One Start and Workforce Investment Board of Southwest Missouri | N/A |
| Missouri State University-West Plains | Advanced Welding and Fabrication | Local employers and Delta Regional Authority; U.S. Department of Labor WORC Grant ($960,000, 2020-2021) | N/A |
| East Central College | Welder Apprenticeship Program (2019) | Clemco Industries, Washington, Missouri | N/A |
| Sikeston Technology and Career Center | Welding | Construction Trailer Specialists; students contributed over $25 million in production | N/A |
Choosing the Right School: Specializations and Locations
Missouri's welding programs cluster around three hubs: St. Louis, Kansas City, and the south-central corridor, so most residents can find a serious program within an hour's drive.
Geography shapes your commute
Ranken Technical College, Saint Louis Community College, St. Charles Community College, East Central College, and Jefferson College all sit within the greater St. Louis region, giving that metro the state's densest concentration of options. Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City covers the west side of the state. State Fair Community College in Sedalia, Three Rivers College in Poplar Bluff (with a Dexter location), and Mineral Area College in Park Hills serve central and southeastern Missouri, where commute times matter as much as curriculum.
Process specialization varies by campus
Every school teaches the core types of welding (SMAW, GMAW, GTAW), but depth differs. State Fair layers in oxy/acetylene cutting and plasma alongside AWS D1.1 and ASME Section 9 code qualifications. St. Charles Community College explicitly preps students for AWS entry-level and advanced-level welder certifications across SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW. Ranken pairs process training with an 8-week paid internship and a 100 percent job placement track record, useful if you want structural welding or inspector work. Jefferson College flags paths toward Underwater Welding Schools and aerospace work for students chasing niche careers, while Three Rivers focuses on maintenance welding fundamentals for industrial upkeep roles.
Filtering by schedule and goal
If evenings are your only option, Ranken and East Central both run night classes for working adults. If you want the fastest exit, Saint Louis Community College's Welding Technology program can be completed in as few as 12 weeks. For a targeted certification path rather than a full degree, look at whichever school's highlights mention the specific AWS code or process you need (D1.1 structural, 6G Pipe Welding, aluminum) rather than picking by name recognition alone.
Confirm details before you commit
Program highlights, tuition, and schedules change between catalog years. Once you've narrowed your list, contact the schools directly through gowelding.org's listings to confirm current start dates, seat availability, and certification offerings before enrolling.