Welding Schools in Iowa: Top Programs, Costs, and Careers

Compare top Iowa welding schools by cost, length, and outcomes to find your fit.

Iowa's manufacturing and ag-equipment plants need welders faster than community colleges can graduate them, and federal Bureau of Labor Statistics data shows median pay for the trade already outpaces many two-year degree fields. A short certificate can get you into a shop in two months; a two-year AAS degree takes longer but opens supervisory and inspection roles.

That gap, fast entry versus deeper credentialing, is the real decision facing Iowa welding students in 2026. Thirteen ranked programs across the state show tuition spans of thousands of dollars, narrowed considerably once state and federal aid are applied.

Cost matters, but so does which types of welding a program teaches, how classes are scheduled around work, and whether graduates leave ready to sit for American Welding Society certification. Those four factors, not brand name alone, separate a program worth your time from one that leaves you undertrained.

Top Iowa Welding Schools: Ranked by Graduate Outcomes

This ranking identifies ten Iowa welding schools using graduate outcomes. Program-level earnings and completion counts are not yet reported in federal data for these certificate and diploma programs, so each entry below shows school-wide median earnings ten years after entry, median graduate debt, and the institution-wide graduation rate. The list leads with schools that combine small classes, strong completion, and manageable debt.

Factors considered
  • Student to faculty ratio
  • Institutional completion rate
  • Graduate debt loads
  • Median earnings after entry
  • Tuition adjusted for area costs
Data sources
  • Independent program research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

Northwest Iowa Community College

#1

Sheldon, IA · ~$15,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Rural learners wanting fast production welding

Northwest Iowa Community College in Sheldon offers a short production welding certificate combining print reading, shop safety, and heavy lab time on modern equipment including robotic welders. Program-level earnings and completion counts are not separately reported, but school-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $50,776, median debt was $9,500, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 57.9%.

  • Two semesters plus one summer term
  • 12 total credit hours
  • Hands-on robotic welder training
  • AWS, ASME, and API code training
  • Expected starting pay near $43,000 to $45,000
  • Free tuition option for eligible students
  • Metallurgy and blueprint reading included

Des Moines Area Community College

#2

Ankeny, IA · $11,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Des Moines area career changers

Des Moines Area Community College in Ankeny offers a welding program with a diploma track plus focused certificates in GMAW, GTAW, SMAW, thermal cutting, and production MIG, taught in real welding booths. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $41,018, median debt was $11,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 39.2%; program-specific earnings and completion counts are not available.

  • Diploma and multiple certificate options
  • Separate certificates in GMAW, GTAW, SMAW
  • Thermal cutting certificate available
  • Blueprint reading certificate available
  • Campus welding booths, not simulations
  • Small instructor teams for hands-on practice

Western Iowa Tech Community College

#3

Sioux City, IA · $9,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Western Iowa students near multiple campuses

Western Iowa Tech Community College in Sioux City provides a 17-credit production welding certificate at Sioux City, Cherokee, and Denison, covering MIG, stick, and oxy fuel plus OSHA 10-hour certification. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $40,473, median debt was $11,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 49.6%; program-level earnings and completion counts are not reported.

  • 17 total credit hours
  • MIG, stick, and oxy fuel training
  • OSHA 10-hour certification
  • Basic measuring and layout skills
  • Classes in Sioux City, Cherokee, Denison
  • Assigned academic advisor

Marshalltown Community College

#4

Marshalltown, IA · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Marshalltown Community College offers three welding credentials in manufacturing and construction, with traditional hands-on welding and monitoring of automated systems in a modern facility. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $41,010, median debt was $9,500, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 42.3%; program-specific outcomes are not reported.

  • Three concentration options
  • Fall and spring start dates
  • Traditional welding plus automated systems
  • State-of-the-art welding facility
  • Dual high school and college credit
  • Focus on manufacturing and utilities

Northeast Iowa Community College

#5

Calmar, IA · $7,000 – $8,000/yr

Northeast Iowa Community College in Calmar offers a 36-credit welding diploma that can be completed in about nine months, with competency-based pacing and preparation for the AWS Qualification Exam. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $41,306, median debt was $12,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 51.4%; program-level earnings and completion counts are not available.

  • 36 total credit hours, about nine months
  • Three start dates per year
  • Competency-based, flex-paced learning
  • Prepares for AWS Qualification Exam
  • Plasma cutting and pipe welding
  • Kibbie Grant and Last-Dollar Scholarship options

Iowa Lakes Community College

#6

Estherville, IA · $7,000 – $8,000/yr

Iowa Lakes Community College in Estherville offers a 21-credit welding technology certificate in one term at an AWS accredited training and testing facility, covering SMAW, MIG, TIG, and flux-cored welding. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $43,108, median debt was $12,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 50.0%; program-specific earnings and completion counts are not reported.

  • 21 total credit hours in one term
  • AWS accredited training and testing facility
  • Covers SMAW, MIG, TIG, and flux-cored welding
  • AWS Level 1 and 2 SENSE school
  • OSHA safety certifications included
  • Many students secure jobs before completing

Hawkeye Community College

#7

Waterloo, IA · $10,000/yr

Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo offers a 20-credit welding certificate that takes about four months, with hybrid online lectures and on-campus labs using robotic welders and virtual welder training. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $42,849, median debt was $12,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 43.3%; program-level outcomes are not separately reported.

  • 20 total credit hours, about four months
  • Hybrid schedule with online lectures
  • Hands-on labs with robotic welders
  • Virtual welder training
  • Train with Certified Welding Inspectors
  • Graduates hired by John Deere and TDS Automation

Kirkwood Community College

#8

Cedar Rapids, IA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids offers an entry-level welder diploma across two terms, covering SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW while preparing students for the AWS SENSE 1 credential and process certifications. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $41,016, median debt was $12,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 43.0%; program-specific earnings and completion counts are not available.

  • 33 total credit hours across two terms
  • Covers SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW processes
  • Prepares for SENSE 1 credential
  • AWS certifications available in several processes
  • 3G vertical up with backing and open-root certifications
  • Credits stack into Advanced Welding A.A.S.

Southeastern Community College

#9

West Burlington, IA · $12,000/yr

Southeastern Community College in West Burlington offers a two-semester welding diploma with practice in gas and electric welding, plus blueprint reading and metal inspection at an AWS testing facility. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $36,882, median debt was $12,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 43.5%; program-level earnings and completion counts are not reported.

  • Two semester program
  • American Welding Society testing facility
  • MIG, TIG, and stick welding skills
  • Blueprint reading and metal inspection
  • Last-Dollar Scholarship for eligible Iowans
  • Focus on fabrication, maintenance, and repair

Eastern Iowa Community College District

#10

Davenport, IA · $14,000/yr (net price)

Eastern Iowa Community College District offers a 32-credit welder diploma at Scott Community College in Davenport, covering MIG, TIG, stick, and flux core welding, with credits that apply toward an AAS degree. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry were $39,060, median debt was $12,739, and the institution-wide graduation rate was 45.4%; program-specific outcomes are not available.

  • 32 total credit hours across two terms
  • MIG, TIG, stick, and flux core training
  • Blueprint reading and welding symbols
  • Oxy fuel and metal cutting
  • Diploma credits apply toward AAS degree
  • Offered at Scott Community College

Iowa Welding School Cost Comparison

Welding program costs in Iowa are rarely tuition alone. The table below lists 13 Iowa welding schools by published in-state tuition and fees, from lowest to highest. Use these figures as a starting point: required tools, safety gear, uniforms, and AWS certification testing can add hundreds or thousands of dollars. Eastern Iowa Community Colleges estimates about $250 for required equipment beyond tuition, while Kirkwood Community College's Advanced Welding Technologies lists $1,500 for a tool set, $958 for uniforms, and $1,084 for third-party credentials on top of tuition. Iowa Western Community College's fall 2026 offering is $4,900 with AWS testing included, but many programs leave exam fees to the student; the American Welding Society charges $70 for the Certified Welder application and $105 per year for maintenance. The average net price after aid column reflects typical costs after grant aid for all students, not a guaranteed welding program price; actual out-of-pocket cost varies by financial aid, enrollment, and living situation.

CollegeProgramIn-State Tuition & FeesAverage Net Price After Aid
Eastern Iowa Community CollegesWelder$4,848$14,017
Western Iowa Tech Community CollegeProduction Welding$5,186$8,770
Marshalltown Community CollegeWelding$5,496$8,059
Iowa Central Community CollegeWelding Technology$5,496$9,328
Ellsworth Community CollegeManufacturing Welding$5,496$11,451
Des Moines Area Community CollegeWelding$5,790$11,171
Kirkwood Community CollegeEntry-Level Welder Diploma$6,176$9,705
Southeastern Community CollegeWelding Diploma$6,420$12,347
Hawkeye Community CollegeWelding Certificate Program$6,525$9,649
Northeast Iowa Community CollegeWelding$6,780$11,272
Iowa Western Community CollegeWelding Certificate$6,930$14,629
Northwest Iowa Community CollegeProduction Welding Certificate$7,350$14,800
Iowa Lakes Community CollegeWelding Technology Certificate$7,392$13,933

Program Lengths and Credential Options

Hawkeye Community College's Production Welding Workplace Certificate runs about 2 months, making it the shortest welding program with an explicitly stated duration among Iowa's official school pages. If you want to hold a torch as quickly as possible, that short-term certificate is a realistic entry point. From there, Iowa programs in the Welding Schools By State directory progress through fairly predictable tiers.

The Three Main Pathways

Most Iowa colleges organize welding training into three credential levels, each aimed at a different commitment and career goal:

  • Certificate: The fastest and most focused option. Hawkeye offers a 2-month Production Welding Workplace Certificate and a 4-month Welding Certificate. Iowa Lakes lists a 21-credit Welding Technology Certificate (1 term), Southeastern Community College offers a Basic Welding Processes Certificate over 1 semester, and Northwest Iowa Community College has a 12-credit Production Welding Certificate.
  • Diploma: A middle tier that typically takes one year or two semesters. Kirkwood's Entry-level Welder Diploma runs 1 year, Iowa Lakes' Welding Technology Diploma is 35 credits across 2 terms, and Hawkeye's Advanced Manufacturing Welding Diploma is 1 year. Northwest Iowa's Production Welding Diploma spans two semesters plus a summer term.
  • Associate of Applied Science (AAS): The most complete credential, generally 2 years. Southeastern, Kirkwood (Advanced Welding Technologies), and Northwest Iowa (Advanced Welding Technology) all award a 2-year AAS.

Stackable Credentials

Several Iowa programs let you climb this ladder without starting over. Kirkwood explicitly lets students choose a 1-year diploma or continue to the 2-year AAS. At Southeastern, the Welding Diploma is earned after completing the first two semesters of the AAS sequence, so early coursework counts toward the full degree. Northwest Iowa layers a certificate, diploma, and AAS in the same field, letting you exit with a working credential and return later to finish the degree.

One note on timelines: terms and semesters are not always defined in weeks on official pages, and options like spring entry may not guarantee full-time enrollment, so confirm exact scheduling with each school before you commit.

How Iowa Welders Move From Entry-Level to AWS Certified

Iowa welding programs let you stack credentials as you build skill and earning power. Most students start with a short certificate, then add a diploma or associate degree, pass the AWS performance test, and specialize in pipe or robotic welding. Total time from entry to AWS certification is often 1-2 years, depending on full-time or part-time study.

Four-step welding credential progression from entry-level certificate to AWS certification and specialized pipe or robotic welding, with typical 1-2 year timeframes

Welding Processes and Specializations Taught in Iowa

The welding processes you learn determine the welding jobs you can take, and Iowa's top programs each lean toward a slightly different mix of skills. Some schools publish detailed process lists; others do not, so the picture below reflects what official program pages currently confirm rather than the full range each school may teach.

What the Ranked Schools Confirm

Among the ranked Iowa schools, a handful publish clear process coverage:

  • Hawkeye Community College: Its 9-month Intermediate Manufacturing Welding diploma covers MIG (GMAW), stick (SMAW), flux-cored arc welding (FCAW), and robotic welding. A separate 7-month diploma adds TIG (GTAW) work on carbon steel, aluminum, and stainless steel.
  • Southeastern Community College: The AAS program stands out for pipe welding, teaching carbon-steel pipe in the 1G, 2G, 4G, and 6G positions alongside stick (SMAW). It also introduces robotic arc welding, where students program a robot to run GMAW.
  • Iowa Western Community College: Community education offerings list MIG (GMAW), TIG (GTAW), and stick (SMAW), giving you the three core manual processes most employers expect.
  • Kirkwood Community College: Published coursework focuses on TIG (GTAW), covering safety, machine setup, and essential techniques.

For the remaining ranked schools (Iowa Central, Iowa Lakes, Marshalltown, Northeast Iowa, Northwest Iowa, and Indian Hills), process details are not published in the sources reviewed. That silence does not mean these programs teach fewer skills; it simply means you should confirm the specifics directly with each school before enrolling.

Specializations Worth Noting

If you already know the niche you want, a few programs signal clear strengths. Southeastern is the standout for pipe welding, and its position-by-position instruction (including the challenging 6G pipe welding test position) maps directly to certification requirements in piping and process work. Both Hawkeye and Southeastern build in robotic and automated welding, which aligns with Iowa's manufacturing employers who increasingly run automated cells.

When you tour or call a program, ask specifically which processes are hands-on versus lecture-only, and whether structural welding to AWS D1.1 is part of the curriculum. Those two questions quickly separate a broad general program from one built around the specialty you plan to work in.

Accreditation and AWS Certification Prep

The most useful credential signal in Iowa welding education is no longer just regional accreditation; it is which shops carry an American Welding Society designation and what that designation actually covers. Those designations are not interchangeable, and confusing them is the most common mistake prospective students make when comparing programs.

What the AWS Designations Mean

AWS SENSE (Schools Excelling through National Skills Education) sets minimum standards for welding curricula across different types of welding. A SENSE school has aligned its training content to those benchmarks. An Accredited Test Facility (ATF) is something different: it is authorized to test and qualify welders or welding procedures, nothing more.1 An ATF designation says nothing about curriculum quality, and a SENSE school is not automatically a testing site.

Which Iowa Schools Hold What

  • Iowa Lakes Community College (Emmetsburg): AWS Level 1 and Level 2 SENSE School and an accredited testing facility. Students in the Welding Technology certificate sit written and performance tests and can earn the AWS Certified Welder credential, with graduates entering the national registry.2
  • Southeastern Community College (West Burlington/Keokuk): AWS-accredited and an AWS testing site, with coursework that explicitly prepares students for the certification exam.2
  • Hawkeye Community College (Waterloo): AWS SENSE School at Level 1.2
  • Western Iowa Tech (Sioux City): Accredited Test Facility testing welders and procedures to AWS D1.1, D1.2, D1.5, API 1104, and ASME Section IX.3
  • Iowa Central (Fort Dodge) and Eastern Iowa Community Colleges (Davenport area): each an Accredited Test Facility.2

Indian Hills, Iowa Western, and North Iowa Area all award welding certifications, but neither ATF status nor SENSE alignment is established for them.2 Clinton Community College offers certificate and associate options within the Eastern Iowa system; whether testing happens on that specific campus is unclear.2

Verify Before You Enroll

Designations lapse and get renewed. Call the welding department directly and ask three questions: Are you currently SENSE-aligned, and at which level? Can I test on campus, or do I travel? Is the test fee bundled into tuition? Cross-check the answers against the AWS educational provider directory before you sign anything.2

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook, welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earned a median annual wage of $53,750 nationally as of May 2025. The top 10 percent of earners in this trade made more than $77,530 per year, showing how far skilled specialization can push your paycheck.