How long does it take to become a certified welder in Florida, and where should you train? Most programs run 3 to 9 months, and the state does not require a welding license: employers hire on American Welding Society credentials, not diplomas.
Demand is the backdrop. Florida's shipyards, fabrication shops, and construction sites keep pulling in welders across many types of welding, and a national shortage of qualified tradespeople means openings stay unfilled longer than they should.
The real decision sits in the details. Ten Florida programs are ranked ahead, each with tuition, program length, and process specializations such as Stick Welding laid out so you can compare a Jacksonville certificate against an Orlando one on the numbers that actually shape hiring.
Best Welding Schools in Florida Ranked
Florida offers a mix of public technical colleges, private welding schools, and community college programs that prepare students for entry-level welding careers. The ranking below emphasizes schools where students can complete hands-on training quickly, earn industry-recognized credentials, and keep costs within reach. Use the program bullets to compare what each campus actually teaches before you request information.
- Student-faculty ratio carries heavy weight
- Completion rates shape each school's position
- Net price after local cost adjustments
- Program-level outcomes and highlights reviewed
- Independent research validates program details
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
South Florida State College
#1Avon Park, FL · $4,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Beginner welders needing hands-on lab training
This public college offers a campus-based welding certificate with hands-on lab training and safety credentials. Students can earn American Welding Society certifications, OSHA safety credentials, and forklift credentials while practicing core techniques on industry-standard equipment. The program is designed for both beginners and experienced welders who want a focused, career-oriented path.
- American Welding Society certifications available
- OSHA Safety Credentials
- Forklift credentials
- State-of-the-art welding lab
- Beginner and experienced welders welcome
Tulsa Welding School-Jacksonville
#2Jacksonville, FL · $35,000/yr
Best for: Military learners juggling work and classes
This Tulsa Welding School campus specializes in a roughly seven-month professional welding training program for beginners. The curriculum covers shielded metal arc welding, MIG, TIG, flux-core, structural welding, pipe welding, and advanced pipe work through a hybrid model with online theory and on-campus labs. Morning, afternoon, evening, weekend, and overnight sections help students fit training around work or family.
- Approximately seven-month program
- Capstone required
- Military benefits accepted
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Morning, afternoon, evening, weekend, overnight sections
- Hybrid format pairs online theory with on-campus labs
- Covers SMAW, MIG, TIG, flux-core, pipe welding
- Career services support after graduation
Fort Myers Technical College
#3Fort Myers, FL
Best for: Budget-conscious career changers targeting structural welding
This technical college offers a roughly 10-month Welding Technology certificate built around classroom instruction and extensive fabrication work. Students train in SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, FCAW, oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, and blueprint reading, with preparation for structural welding credentials. The full-time weekday schedule is paired with financial aid for eligible students.
- $8,227 total program tuition
- 10-month program
- Two start dates per year
- Prepares for AWS D1.1 certification
- Earn AWS Certified Welder credential
- Covers MIG and TIG welding
- Weekday classes, 8am to 2:30pm
- Blueprint reading included
Marion Technical College
#4Ocala, FL · ~$9,000/yr (est.)
This technical college trains welders for manufacturing, industrial plants, and utility work. The program covers four core processes, blueprint reading, pipe welding basics, and OSHA 10 safety training. Day and evening options allow completion in roughly 32 to 53 weeks, and graduates often pursue AWS Certified Welder credentials.
- $6,986 total program tuition
- 32-week program
- Four major welding processes covered
- Earn OSHA 10 safety credential
- Blueprint reading skills
- Pipe welding fundamentals
- Day and evening class options
- AWS Certified Welder credential
Manatee Technical College
#5Bradenton, FL · $2,000/yr
Manatee Technical College offers a nine-month full-time Welding Technology program with part-time options for working learners. Students practice intermediate and advanced stick welding, pipe fitting, TIG and MIG on aluminum, carbon, and stainless steel, and can earn the AWS Certified Welder credential. The program reports an 86% job placement rate and local employer connections with Air Products, Pierce Manufacturing, and Mullett's Aluminum.
- Entrance exam required
- $8,075 total program tuition
- 9-month full-time program
- 86% job placement rate
- Prepares for AWS Certified Welder
- Covers SMAW, GTAW, TIG, and MIG
- Day and evening class options
- Top employers include Air Products and Pierce Manufacturing
Florida Gateway College
#6Lake City, FL · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Florida Gateway College offers a 1,050-clock-hour Welding Technology certificate that can be completed in 15 months full-time or 30 months part-time. The program covers oxyfuel cutting, plasma arc cutting, carbon arc gouging, and four major welding processes, plus blueprint reading and welding symbols. Students prepare for American Welding Society qualification testing, and the college refunds passed test fees.
- Entrance exam required
- $4,188 total program tuition
- 15-month full-time program
- 35 total credit hours
- 1,050 clock hours of training
- Part-time evening classes available
- AWS qualification testing available
- FGC refunds passed AWS test fees
Fred K Marchman Technical College
#7New Port Richey, FL · ~$5,000/yr (est.)
This technical college runs a daytime Welding Technology program over 1,050 clock hours. Students cover FCAW, SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW, and the curriculum includes 140 of 143 AWS weld types with preparation for the American Welding Society certification exam. Graduates pursue roles such as welders, fabricators, pipe fitters, iron workers, millwrights, boilermakers, and commercial divers.
- Monday through Friday daytime schedule
- Prepares for AWS certification
- Covers 140 of 143 AWS weld types
- FCAW, SMAW, GMAW, GTAW training
- Articulated college credit available
- Instructors with 20+ years in field
Universal Technical Institute-South Florida Miramar
#8Miramar, FL · $29,000/yr (net price)
This UTI campus offers a 36-week, campus-based welding program developed with Lincoln Electric. Students progress through welding safety and principles into gas metal arc, shielded metal arc, flux-cored, and gas tungsten arc welding, plus pipe welding, engineering, and fabrication. VRTEX virtual welders provide practice before lab work, and career services supports resumes, interviews, and job searches.
- 36-week program
- Median earnings $53,750
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Train with VRTEX virtual welders
- Curriculum built with Lincoln Electric
- Career services support
- Housing help near campus
Riveroak Technical College
#9Live Oak, FL · $10,000/yr
This technical college offers a Welding Technology certificate with day and evening sections that run Monday through Thursday. An advanced welding track lets motivated students build on the basics, and SkillsUSA provides leadership and workplace-skill activities. Graduates earn a certificate of completion and are prepared for entry-level skilled-trades work.
- Evening welding classes available
- Advanced welding track offered
- SkillsUSA leadership organization
- Certificate of completion awarded
- Day and evening class options
- Scholarships available
Atlantic Technical College
#10Coconut Creek, FL · $10,000/yr
Atlantic Technical College offers a 1,050-hour Welding Technology program that runs about 11 months full-time. Students learn arc welding, MIG, TIG, FCAW, and SMAW, plus oxyacetylene and plasma cutting, blueprint reading, joint design, and welding symbols. OSHA 10 training and AWS certification are available, and the college offers free associate degree transfer credits to Broward College.
- Entrance exam required
- 11-month full-time program
- 1050 hours total
- Two start dates per year
- AWS Welding Certification available
- OSHA 10 training offered
- Free associate degree transfer credits to Broward College
- Exam cost reimbursement upon passing
Welding School Costs and Financial Aid in Florida
Costs vary by program length, residency, and included materials. The figures below are drawn from published 2026 technical college program pages where available; for Florida State College at Jacksonville, Palm Beach State College, and Seminole State College, tuition figures reflect the most recent available data (2024) and may not include lab fees, tools, certification exams, or books. Check with each school for a current personalized cost estimate.
| School | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Fees/Equipment | Total Program Cost | Financial Aid Available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida State College at Jacksonville | $2,878 | $9,992 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Palm Beach State College | $3,050 | $10,910 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Seminole State College of Florida | $3,131 | $11,456 | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified |
| Manatee Technical College | $2.92 per credit hour (resident) | $11.71 per credit hour (nonresident) | Not specified | $8,075 | Not specified |
| McFatter Technical College | $2,100 | $8,400 | $2,345 | $4,760 (in-state); $11,060 (out-of-state) | Not specified |
| Emerald Coast Technical College (Welding Technology) | $6,533.20 | Not specified | $900 (books and supplies) | $7,433.20 | Federal Pell Grant, VA Education Benefits, Florida Open Door Grant |
A national shortage underpins Florida's welding demand. The American Welding Society estimates the U.S. will need 320,500 new welding professionals by 2029, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects about 40,300 annual openings for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers from 2025 to 2035.
Welding Process Specializations Offered
The table below shows which welding processes are reported at top Florida schools. Pipe welding is often embedded in SMAW or GTAW training rather than listed as a separate certificate, and structural welding certificate data is not reported for these programs.
| School | SMAW | GMAW | GTAW | FCAW | Pipe | Structural |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida State College at Jacksonville | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | N/A |
| Florida Panhandle Technical College | Yes | N/A | Yes | N/A | Yes | N/A |
| Manatee Technical College | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | N/A |
| George Stone Technical College | Yes | N/A | Yes | Yes | N/A | N/A |
| Southeastern Welding School | Yes | Yes | N/A | Yes | N/A | N/A |
| Fusion Welding Institute | N/A | Yes | Yes | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Accreditation and Certification Preparation
Florida does not issue a state welding license. What matters instead is certification, and employers overwhelmingly hire based on American Welding Society (AWS) credentials rather than any diploma alone. That makes a program's testing infrastructure and code coverage just as important as its tuition or schedule.
Institutional Accreditation
Most public welding programs in Florida operate as career and technical education tracks approved through the Florida Department of Education (listed under program code J400400), which sets curriculum standards but is not the same as programmatic accreditation from bodies like ACCSC or the Council on Occupational Education (COE). Some private and technical college programs carry ACCSC or COE accreditation separately, so ask any school directly which accreditation, if any, applies to its welding track before enrolling, since this affects financial aid eligibility and credit transfer.
AWS Testing on Campus
A handful of Florida schools go further and hold status as an AWS Accredited Test Facility (ATF), meaning students can sit for certification exams without traveling to a third-party site. Manatee Technical College is one of a small number of ATFs in the state and offers on-site testing across SMAW, GMAW, Flux Cored Arc Welding, and GTAW. Erwin Technical College and Tulsa Welding School's Jacksonville campus are also identified as AWS Accredited Test Facilities.
Code Preparation: D1.1 and Beyond
Most Florida programs build their curriculum around AWS D1.1, the structural welding code that governs the common 3/8-inch plate qualification test, witnessed by a Certified Welding Inspector (CWI) before the coupon goes to a certified lab. First Coast Technical College prepares students for D1.1 across SMAW plate (3G-4G), including 4G SMAW Certification, SMAW pipe in 6G Pipe Welding, and FCAW plate. Northwest Florida State College, Cape Coral Technical College, and Seminole State College likewise build toward D1.1 and related plate certifications across FCAW, GMAW, SMAW, and GTAW. Miami Lakes Educational Center & Technical College participates in the AWS SENSE program, and Atlantic Technical College's graduates test toward plate and pipe qualifications at minimum 3G/4G positions for modest test fees.
D1.5, the Bridge Welding Code, is referenced in Florida Department of Transportation contractor requirements, but no program reviewed here currently documents dedicated D1.5 instruction, so confirm directly with a school if bridge-code work is your goal.
How to Become a Welder in Florida
The path to a welding career in Florida is faster than many people expect. Most programs take 3-9 months, and AWS certification can open doors to shipyards, fabrication shops, and construction sites across the state.

Career Outcomes and Job Placement Support
Florida welding programs report strong placement numbers, and several publish job rates well above the national average for trade credentials. Reading those figures carefully, though, matters as much as celebrating them.
Placement Rates and What They Mean
Tulsa Welding School's Jacksonville campus reported a 90.3% placement rate for its 2024 graduating class, which totaled roughly 1,400 completers alongside 2,067 new enrollments that year. Independent tracking of the school's graduates suggests employment settles around 83% two years out and 79% at six years, a reminder that a strong first job does not guarantee a permanent career without continued skill-building.
Among public colleges, Florida Gateway College lists a 94% job-placement rate for its Welding Technology program plus a 96% pass rate on American Welding Society qualification testing, and Manatee Technical College reports 86% placement. Valencia College has cited an 81% placement rate. Most of these figures come without a stated reporting year or cohort size, so treat them as encouraging rather than precise benchmarks.
Employers Who Hire Florida Welders
Jacksonville anchors much of the state's demand for welding jobs. BAE Systems has recruited entry-level welders for its submarine program and identifies First Coast Technical College, Florida State College at Jacksonville, and Tulsa Welding School-Jacksonville as trade-school partners. Florida shipyard welding jobs include regional employers such as NASSCO at Mayport and North Florida Shipyards, and Eastern Shipbuilding is developing a maritime academy with Gulf County while already supporting welding programs across northwest Florida.
On the manufacturing side, Manatee Technical College names Air Products, Pierce Manufacturing, and Mullett's Aluminum among firms that hire its graduates. Construction, aerospace, and fabrication shops round out the demand statewide.
Support Services and Entry-Level Outlook
Most programs pair training with job-search help. First Coast Technical College staffs a career coach and a placement specialist (reachable at (904) 547-3389). Tulsa Welding School provides job leads and search assistance after graduation, and several public colleges offer career counseling and placement help.
New graduates typically start as entry-level welders, fabricators, or assemblers, with shipyard fitting and structural construction roles common in north Florida. Note that career services connect you to opportunities; none of these schools guarantee employment. The strongest outcomes go to graduates who earn AWS certifications and stay flexible about location.
Florida Welding Licensure: What You Need
How We Ranked These Welding Schools
Choosing among welding schools often comes down to a tradeoff between what you can verify on paper and what actually happens once you show up on campus. Since we cannot sit in on every lab session across Florida, we built this ranking around measurable outcomes rather than marketing claims.
What We Weighed
Four factors shaped the order you see above:
- Affordability: net price after grants and scholarships, not sticker tuition, since that number reflects what students actually pay.
- Earnings potential: reported income for graduates entering the workforce, used as a proxy for how well a credential translates into paying work.
- Program completions: how many students finish different types of welding programs each year, a signal of program stability and demand.
- Graduation rates: the share of students who complete their studies at that institution overall.
Where the Numbers Come From
All figures come from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal government's primary sources for postsecondary outcome data. These datasets are updated periodically and represent the most reliable public information available on cost, completion, and earnings across accredited institutions.
A Few Honest Limits
Graduation rates in this ranking are institution-wide, not specific to welding programs, since program-level completion data isn't broken out this granularly in federal reporting. We also prioritized schools with campus-based welding programs physically located in Florida that had sufficient outcome data reported. Programs with too little published data to evaluate fairly were excluded rather than guessed at.
Related Articles
Additional Welding Schools in Florida
The ten schools ranked above are not the only welding programs in the state. The directory below covers 15 more certificate programs, grouped by region so you can scan the part of Florida you plan to train in. Every entry includes the campus setting and the kind of training the program is built around.
Florida Panhandle
- Welding Technology
- Welding Technology
- Welding Technology
- Welding Technology
North Central Florida
- Welding Technology Career and Technical Certificate (5023A)
- Welding Technology
- Welding Technology, C.C.
- Welding Technology
Northeast Florida
- Welding Technology
Space Coast
- Welding Technology
Greater Orlando
- Welding Technologies Career Certificate
- Welding Technology
- Welding Technology
Tampa Bay Area
- Welding Technology
- Welding Technology PSAV
Welding Schools by State
Southeast
Northeast
Midwest
Southwest
DC & Territories
Explore More Welding Schools Topics
- Affordable Welding Schools
- Fastest Welding
- Pipe Welding Training
- TIG Welding Classes
- Best Welding Schools
- CWI Certification
- How Long Is Welding School
- Welding School Cost
- Online Welding Classes
- Paid Welding Training
- Underwater Welding Schools
- Welding Classes
- Welding Scholarships & Financial Aid
- Welding School Requirements
- Trade School vs Apprenticeship
- Welding Training