Top Welding Schools in Kansas: Compare Programs & Outcomes

Compare ranked Kansas welding schools by cost, accreditation, and outcomes to find your fit.

Kansas employers need more certified welders than current training programs produce, and pay is rising accordingly. Statewide median wages for welders reached $49,040 in May 2025, with structural and pipe shops paying more to AWS-certified hires.

The strongest schools combine low tuition, short completion times, and employer-recognized credentials. Our ranking weighs those factors across 10 Kansas programs, comparing cost, scheduling, and specialties in different types of welding. Use the cost and placement tables to compare Wichita, Topeka, and Kansas City options. Admissions requirements and funding options differ enough that two similar programs can differ by thousands. The real bottleneck remains certification, not basic skill.

The 10 Best Welding Schools in Kansas

Kansas offers a practical mix of technical colleges and community colleges for welding training. The schools below stand out for hands-on shop time, industry-recognized certifications, and affordable tuition. Use this ranking to compare programs in Wichita, Topeka, Manhattan, and smaller Kansas communities.

Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Actual completion rates
  • Program affordability
  • Graduate earnings outcomes
Data sources
  • Independent program research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

North Central Kansas Technical College

#1

Beloit, KS · $12,000/yr

Best for: Hands-on learners wanting transfer options

This Beloit college, now known as Fort Hays Tech | North Central, runs a one-year Welding Technology certificate with 44 credit hours of hands-on practice in SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW. Students prepare for AWS certification in multiple positions and can transfer credits to Fort Hays State University. The program has reached capacity in recent years, so early application is wise.

  • 44 total credit hours
  • Training in SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, GTAW
  • Oxy-fuel and plasma cutting training
  • AWS certification opportunity
  • Transfer to Fort Hays State University

Manhattan Area Technical College

#2

Manhattan, KS · $10,000/yr

Best for: High school students seeking reduced tuition

Manhattan Area Technical College offers a Certificate A in Welding Technology that starts each fall and blends classroom instruction with extensive lab time. Students earn OSHA 10 credentials and practice SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW on real equipment. The college lists separate pathways for the AAS, Certificate A, and Certificate B, and offers a reduced credit-hour rate for eligible high school students.

  • Starts fall
  • Hands-on training with welding equipment
  • OSHA 10 construction safety training
  • Welding metallurgy and microstructure
  • Shielded metal arc welding (SMAW)

Salina Area Technical College

#3

Salina, KS · $6,000/yr

Best for: Budget-conscious learners wanting nine-month completion

Salina Tech's nine-month Welding Technology certificate packs AWS weld tests, OSHA-10, and Kansas Work Ready certification into a single campus-based program. Instructors hold Certified Welding Inspector and Educator credentials. The college also offers free technical concurrent enrollment for eligible high school students and has participated in Airgas's high school welding initiative.

  • $9,050 total program tuition
  • 9-Month program
  • AWS SMAW weld tests included
  • OSHA-10 certification testing
  • Certified Welding Inspectors on faculty

Flint Hills Technical College

#4

Emporia, KS · $16,000/yr (net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Flint Hills Technical College's one-year Welding Technology certificate is built for industrial welding with a focus on structural steel. Instructors are American Welding Society certified, and students can earn AWS certifications in many positions plus OSHA-10. Credits transfer into the AAS degree, and high school juniors and seniors may apply.

  • 1-Year program
  • Led by AWS-certified instructors
  • Covers SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, FCAW processes
  • AWS certifications in numerous weld positions
  • Certificate credits transfer to AAS degree

Northwest Kansas Technical College

#5

Goodland, KS · $13,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Northwest Kansas Technical College offers an 18-week pipe and plate Welding Technology certificate for students who want to enter the trade fast. The shop-heavy program covers arc, TIG, MIG, oxyacetylene, brazing, and cutting, and graduates can test for NC3 and OSHA 30 credentials. An entrance exam is required, and the Kansas Promise Act Scholarship may help cover costs.

  • 18-Week program
  • Entrance exam required
  • TIG, MIG, and arc welding
  • Industry-recognized NC3 certifications
  • OSHA 30 certification available

Hutchinson Community College

#6

Hutchinson, KS · ~$7,000/yr (est.)

Hutchinson Community College's Welding Technology Certificate A delivers training in SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW plus brazing, soldering, and welding metallurgy. Students who complete required classes can sit for Welder Qualification Testing under AWS or ASME codes. The certificate offers three concentration options and prepares graduates for manufacturing, construction, pipeline, and power plant work.

  • 3 concentration options
  • Prepares for AWS/ASME qualification testing
  • Covers arc, resistance, brazing, soldering
  • Welding metallurgy and heat treating
  • Jobs in pipelines, power plants, refineries

Seward County Community College

#7

Liberal, KS · $4,000 – $5,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Seward County Community College's Welding Technology program blends hands-on shop time with instruction in arc welding, brazing, soldering, cutting, and welding metallurgy. Students can earn a certificate or continue into a two-year Associate of Applied Science degree. The instructor is a certified Welding Educator, and safety is a consistent focus throughout the program.

  • Hands-on training with modern welding equipment
  • Instruction in arc welding and brazing
  • Certificate alternative to full AAS degree
  • Two-year Associate of Applied Science option
  • Instructor is certified Welding Educator

Washburn Institute of Technology

#8

Topeka, KS · $9,000/yr

Washburn Tech's Welding Technology program is a campus-based certificate pathway that starts with a 25-credit Certificate A and can stack into a 49-credit Certificate C and an Associate of Applied Science. Students earn AWS position credentials and OSHA-10, with day or evening classes and three start dates per year. The program emphasizes skills employers in manufacturing actually use.

  • Complete in 1-2 years
  • 25 total credit hours
  • 3 start dates per year
  • AWS and OSHA-10 certifications
  • Cert C: 49 credit hours
  • Evening classes 4-7pm Mon-Thurs

Colby Community College

#9

Colby, KS · $8,000/yr (net price)

Colby Community College's Welding Level I certificate is a 16-credit program offered at the Norton Correctional Facility, combining classroom lessons with hands-on lab work. Students complete OSHA Safety 10 before other courses and learn SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, and oxy-acetylene welding. The college has proposed expanding welding into a 62-credit Associate of Applied Science degree for fall 2026.

  • 16 total credit hours
  • Offered at Norton Correctional Facility
  • Covers SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, oxy-acetylene
  • Eligible for AWS certification exam
  • OSHA Safety 10 prerequisite

Wichita State University-Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology

#10

Wichita, KS · $9,000/yr (net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

WSU Tech's Welding Technology Level 1 program trains students in arc, resistance, brazing, soldering, cutting, and welding metallurgy under real shop conditions. Students earn OSHA 10 certification and can qualify for a long list of American Welding Society tests across GMAW, SMAW, GTAW, and FCAW positions. The program operates as an AWS SENSE site.

  • AWS SENSE accredited
  • Earn OSHA 10 certification
  • Prepares for AWS welding qualifications
  • Associate of Applied Science also offered
  • Level 2 certificate available

How We Rank Kansas Welding Schools

IPEDS and College Scorecard data anchor every Kansas welding school ranking in our Welding Schools By State directory. We pull the most recent federal records on cost, earnings after attendance, graduation rates, and the number of students completing welding-related programs. Because welding programs range from short certificates to two-year degrees, we compare only institutions that report welding-related completions to IPEDS. The goal is simple: rank schools by what a career-changer can actually measure, not by reputation or marketing.

What Goes Into the Score

Affordability carries the most weight. We use each institution's estimated net price for first-time, full-time students as a practical cost proxy, not the sticker tuition. Net price is approximate and can shift a few thousand dollars depending on your aid package. Program earnings follow closely. Where available, we compare how much welding graduates earn after leaving school, using College Scorecard outcome data. When earnings for welding specifically are not reported, we say so rather than guessing.

What Else Counts

Graduation rate and completions round out the ranking. Graduation rate is institution-wide, so it reflects the whole school rather than only the welding program. Completions show how many students actually finished welding-related credentials, a sign the program is active and established. A school with high graduation rates but very few welding completions may rank lower than one with a steady pipeline of welding graduates.

What This Ranking Does Not Cover

Program length and accreditation are covered in their own sections. A school that looks strong on cost and earnings still needs checking for AWS or other accreditation and for a schedule that fits your timeline. Because those details change more often than federal outcome data, review them in their own sections before applying.

Kansas Welding School Cost and Length Comparison

Tuition figures below come from each school's published program materials for the current catalog year. Costs shown are total program or tuition charges as noted; some schools also list per-credit or per-semester fees, so confirm current totals with the program before enrolling. Not every program reports all fields, and N/A indicates the information was not published in the sources reviewed.

SchoolTuitionProgram LengthCredentialSchedule Options
WSU Tech$18,405 total program cost2 yearsAssociate of Applied Science in Welding Technology; Technical Certificate Level 1 and Level 2 also availableMonday-Friday daytime academy sessions from 7:45am to 10:30am or 11:45am to 2:30pm
Washburn Tech (Welding Technology Certificate A)$4,290 tuition; $5,931 total program cost25 credit hoursWelding Technology Certificate AHalf-day Monday-Friday, 8am to 11:10am or 11:45am to 2:55pm; summer Monday-Thursday, 8am to 4:30pm
Washburn Tech (Welding Technology Certificate C)$7,755 tuition; $10,648 total program cost49 credit hoursWelding Technology Certificate CHalf-day Monday-Friday, 8am to 11:10am or 11:45am to 2:55pm; summer Monday-Thursday, 8am to 4:30pm
Heartland Welding Academy$4,800 tuition360 hours / 12 weeksStructural Code Welding CertificationMonday-Friday, 9am to 3pm day or 4pm to 10pm evening
Heartland Welding Academy$9,300 tuition720 hours / 24 weeksPractical Pipe and Structural Code Welding CertificationMonday-Friday, 9am to 3pm day or 4pm to 10pm evening
Butler Community College$9,638 total program cost60 credit hours; Certificate A: 19 credit hours (as little as one semester); Certificate B: 36 credit hoursN/AN/A
Coffeyville Community CollegeN/AOne year full-time or two years part-timeN/AFull-time or part-time
Hesston College / Heartland Community CollegeN/A2 semestersN/ACan be started in summer, fall, or spring semester

Accreditation and Certification: What to Look For

How do you tell a welding program that prepares you for real welding jobs from one that just teaches you to run a bead? Accreditation and the certifications you walk out with are the two signals that matter most, both to lenders and to employers.

Why Accreditation Matters

Institutional accreditation is the gatekeeper for federal financial aid. If a college holds regional accreditation (in Kansas, that means the Higher Learning Commission), its students can qualify for federal grants and loans. Johnson County Community College, for example, carries HLC accreditation, which is what makes its aid packages possible. Beyond funding, accreditation tells employers your training met a recognized standard rather than a shop's word of mouth.

AWS SENSE and On-Campus Testing

The American Welding Society runs two things worth knowing. AWS SENSE (Schools Excelling through National Skills Education) sets minimum training benchmarks, and Johnson County Community College is a confirmed SENSE Level 1 and Level 2 program. Olathe Public Schools lets students earn the AWS SENSE Entry Level Welder I Certification after passing written and practical exams.

Separately, an AWS Accredited Test Facility can administer certification tests on site. MCC-Penn Valley (ATSI), just across the state line serving the Kansas City area, is an AWS Accredited Test Facility. You can verify a school's current status through the AWS Educational Providers directory, which lists institutional members, SENSE schools, and accredited test facilities.

Certifications That Travel

Look for programs that prepare you for portable, employer-recognized credentials. Kansas students commonly earn AWS Certification, the AWS SENSE Entry Level Welder I, OSHA 10, and a Qualification Test Record for positions like 3G SMAW certification. Structural and code work often points toward AWS D1.1 or ASME procedures.

One caution: alignment is not accreditation. Colby Community College's welding program is AWS-aligned and prepares students for certification, but that differs from confirmed SENSE accreditation. Ask each school directly which credentials you can actually test for on campus.

Kansas Welding Job Placement and Earnings

College Scorecard program-level median earnings are not yet published for the 2026 cohort covered here, so the table below uses the best available placement reporting and one documented salary figure. Placement rates come from school career-services reports and Kansas state reporting, not from College Scorecard. Employer connections include Flint Hills Career Services and KANSASWORKS apprenticeship pathways with more than 10 craft unions through the Construction Apprenticeship Tech Prep Consortium.

SchoolPlacement rateReporting windowEarnings or context
Flint Hills Technical College93%1 year after completionAverage annual salary $43,763
Heartland Welding Academy85% to 89%2019 through 202370% minimum placement required by COE
WSU Tech94%2014 graduatesSchool-reported placement rate
Washburn Tech94%Not reportedReported by school; third-party source

Kansas Welding School Admissions Requirements

Admissions rules for Kansas welding programs vary by school, so treat the following as common guideposts rather than one statewide policy.

  • High school diploma or GED
    Many programs list a high school diploma or equivalent, including KCKCC Technical Education Center, Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center, Johnson County Community College, Seward County Community College, and Heartland Welding Academy. Other schools such as Cowley College, WSU Tech, Coffeyville Community College, Neosho County Community College, and Washburn Institute of Technology show no formal degree prerequisite.
  • Minimum age and dual enrollment
    Kansas Welding Institute requires students to be at least 17 years and 9 months at the start date. Pratt Community College uses 18 or older for general admission, but high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors may attend as guest students with written permission and demonstrated ability to benefit.
  • Placement assessment
    Pratt Community College requires degree-seeking students to take an assessment test for placement in English, reading, and mathematics before registration. Most other listed Kansas welding programs do not show a placement-test requirement on their admissions pages.
  • Program enrollment and prerequisites
    Coffeyville Community College requires enrollment in the welding program and does not allow students to take one or two welding classes without applying. Manhattan Tech’s Fort Riley welding program adds an Educational Training Plan and a $250 non-refundable seat deposit.
  • Other requirements and deadlines
    OSHA 10 cards, physical readiness standards, and application deadlines vary by campus and are not consistently published. Confirm current requirements with each school’s admissions office before applying.

Paying for Welding School: Financial Aid and Workforce Funding

Most welding students juggle more than one funding source rather than relying on a single check, since no single program covers every cost from tuition to tools. Building a package from federal, state, and private sources usually beats waiting for one grant to cover it all.

Start with the FAFSA for the 2026-27 year. Federal Pell Grant eligibility depends on financial need, enrollment status, and whether your program participates in federal aid, so confirm accreditation status with the school before assuming you qualify. A newer option, Workforce Pell, extends federal grant money to short-term credential programs starting July 2026, with awards generally landing between roughly $2,200 and $4,310 depending on program length and need.1 These programs must show at least a 70 percent completion and placement rate, so ask admissions how their numbers stack up.1

State and Workforce Funding

Kansas Promise Scholarship covers Welding Technology as an eligible field2 for students who are U.S. citizens and Kansas residents, subject to household income limits between roughly $100,000 and $150,000, with an additional allowance per extra household member.3 It comes with a post-completion service obligation, so ask your financial aid office how that works before signing on.3

KansasWorks and local WorkforceONE offices administer WIOA funding, but coverage varies by area and available funds. One 2025 example: a 360-hour structural code welding program cost $9,450, while regional workforce funding capped out at $4,500, leaving a real gap to cover elsewhere.4

Veterans and Scholarships

GI Bill benefits apply only to VA-approved programs. Don't take a school's word for it: verify approval directly through the VA before enrolling. For scholarships, look at the AWS Foundation Welder Training Scholarship (deadline November 30, 2026)5, AWS National Scholarships requiring two recommendation letters6, the Kansas Section AWS Scholarship for residents with a 2.5 GPA minimum7, and the Kansas Construction Association Continuing Education Scholarship covering welding for the 2026-2027 cycle.8

Contact each school's financial aid office directly. They can build an individualized package matching your situation.

Statewide, welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers in Kansas earned a median annual wage of $49,040 (about $23.58 an hour) as of May 2025, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. That's a solid baseline, but actual pay varies by program and employer, so check the school-by-school earnings figures above before choosing a program.

Frequently Asked Questions About Welding Schools in Kansas

This FAQ answers the most common questions about cost, school choice, length, financial aid, and pipe welding options in Kansas. Figures below reflect published program totals, but actual costs can shift with residency, fees, tools, and supplies.

How much do welding schools cost in Kansas?
Kansas welding costs vary by school, credential, and residency. Public program totals range from about $5,931 at Washburn Tech to roughly $9,638 at Butler Community College, with KCKCC near $7,229 and Highland near $7,900. Specialized private training can run higher; Heartland Welding Academy lists $12,426. These totals may exclude fees, books, tools, or supplies.
What is the best welding school in Kansas?
No independent statewide ranking names a single best Kansas welding school. Your best option depends on your goal. A Kansas Board of Regents aligned Welding Technology program offers a standardized public pathway to Welder Certifications. Washburn Tech is a lower-cost certificate route. Heartland Welding Academy is often cited for dedicated pipe and structural code training.
How long is welding school in Kansas?
Program length varies by credential. Heartland Welding Academy's pipe and structural program is 24 weeks, or 720 instructional hours. Public certificate programs can take about one academic year, while associate degree programs typically require around 60 credit hours and about two years. Some schools report length by credit hour rather than calendar time.
Do welding schools in Kansas offer financial aid?
Yes, financial aid is available at many Kansas welding schools. File the FAFSA to check federal Pell Grant eligibility. Butler Community College and Highland Community College Technical Center are listed as Kansas Promise Scholarship eligible. Workforce funding such as WIOA may also apply. Coffeyville Community College offers tuition-free welding for eligible Kansas high school students.
Which Kansas welding schools offer pipe welding?
Heartland Welding Academy in Andover offers a 720-hour, 24-week program focused on pipe and structural code welding. Fort Hays Tech North Central in Beloit teaches plate and pipe using multiple processes, including GTAW (TIG Welding Pipe) on mild-steel, aluminum, and stainless to AWS, ASME, and API codes. Contact each school for current course availability.

Additional Kansas Welding Schools to Consider

Beyond the ranked programs, Kansas has a deep bench of community college welding departments spread across the state. The schools below are grouped by region rather than by rank, and each entry lists the credential, the program format, and the average net price reported for the campus. Program details come from the schools themselves.

Kansas City Metro

Johnson County Community College
A 32-credit certificate that day students can finish in two semesters, with evening part-time classes for working welders. Instruction covers stick, MIG, and TIG welding, and the program prepares students for AWS D1.1 certification. Class sizes are capped at 20. Reported average net price: about $14,176.
  • Welding Technology/Metal Fabrication Certificate
Overland Park, KS · On-Campus

Northeast Kansas

Highland Community College
A 35-credit certificate built around more than 80% hands-on shop time, covering shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, and gas tungsten arc welding plus plasma and air carbon arc cutting. Each semester ends with an AWS qualification test. Reported average net price: about $10,454.
  • Welding Technology
Highland, KS · On-Campus

Southeast Kansas

Neosho County Community College
A 16-credit Level I certificate covering GMAW, GTAW, SMAW, and FCAW, plus cutting, blueprint reading, metallurgy, and shop safety. Students test for AWS qualification records in 1G, 2G, 1F, and 2F positions, and the certificate stacks into an associate degree. Reported average net price: about $10,271.
  • Welding Technology (Level I Certificate)
Chanute, KS · On-Campus
Coffeyville Community College
A 9-month full-time or 18-month part-time program teaching arc, MIG, TIG, and stick welding along with blueprint reading, piping isometrics, welding symbols, and shop math. Students can earn OSHA-10 cards and 6G certificates in TIG, stick, MIG, and flux-cored arc welding. Reported average net price: about $4,957.
  • Welding Technology
Coffeyville, KS · On-Campus
Labette Community College
A Level I Certificate A that takes about 10 months and combines shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, and gas metal arc welding with cutting, brazing, soldering, and welding metallurgy. Students practice on real customer projects at the Workforce Training Center. Reported average net price: about $5,939.
  • Welding Technology Level I-Certificate A
Parsons, KS · On-Campus

Central Kansas

Barton County Community College
A 17-credit certificate that finishes in one semester, with a longer 38-credit option for students who want more depth. Coursework covers GTAW, SMAW, and GMAW, cutting processes, blueprint reading, and OSHA 10 safety training. Morning, afternoon, and evening classes are available. Reported average net price: about $9,905.
  • Welding Technology
Great Bend, KS · On-Campus

Wichita Area

Butler Community College
Certificate A covers SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and oxy-fuel processes in 19 credits, while Certificate B goes deeper at 36 credits. Students practice flat, horizontal, vertical, and overhead positions along with arc gouging and manual and CNC cutting. Instructors hold AWS certification. Reported average net price: about $15,724.
  • Welding Technology
El Dorado, KS · On-Campus