Can you get a welding certification entirely online? No. A certification like an AWS or ASME qualification is earned by laying a real bead in front of a certified inspector, then having the coupon bend-tested or X-rayed. No screen can verify that.
What online welding classes do well is the knowledge layer: blueprint reading, weld symbols, metallurgy, safety codes, and CWI exam prep. That coursework often runs a few hundred dollars against thousands for full-program tuition, which makes it an efficient way to front-load theory before you ever strike an arc.
The catch is structural. Booth time and the in-person performance test still gate the credential, so online study is a component of the path, not the whole of it.
What You Can Learn in Online Welding Classes
Not everything about welding requires a booth and a hood. A useful way to frame online study is to separate the knowledge layer (theory, codes, symbols, safety) from the muscle layer (striking an arc, controlling a puddle). The knowledge layer transfers well to a screen, and a surprising amount of what a certified welder needs to know lives there.
Core Theory Topics That Teach Well Online
The subjects that translate cleanly to self-paced study include:1
- Welding safety: OSHA-based content covering fumes and gases, fire and explosion prevention, electrical safety, PPE, and confined spaces. The American Welding Society (AWS) offers a dedicated Safety in Welding course covering exactly these areas.
- Blueprint and symbol reading: North Idaho College runs an online Blueprint Reading for Welders course.2 AWS offers Understanding Welding Symbols, which introduces the A2.4 symbol conventions used on shop drawings.
- Metallurgy basics: Heat transfer, phase diagrams, and how metals behave under heat. AWS lists a standalone Metallurgy course.
- Codes, standards, and math: Structural code D1.1, ASME IX, and API 1104 concepts, plus the applied math welders use daily.
- Exam preparation: Fundamentals-level review aimed at the AWS Certified Welding Inspector (CWI) exam, including the Part C code-book portion.
Process Theory: MIG, TIG, Stick, and FCAW
Here the online landscape is thinner than many beginners expect. AWS Welding Fundamentals I, a self-paced online course, teaches the theory behind SMAW (stick), GMAW (MIG), FCAW, and GTAW (TIG) together as part of a broad foundation aimed at CWI prep. It does not split those four processes into separate online tracks.
Dedicated single-process online paths are rare. Weld.com offers an Intermediate Shielded Metal Arc Welding course focused specifically on stick welding (SMAW). Community college catalogs such as Great Bay cover MIG welding, TIG, and FCAW Flux Cored Arc Welding in depth,3 while Pima covers FCAW and MIG; that instruction is typically classroom and lab based rather than fully online. Pima and Western Technical College also build toward AWS certification (Western prepares graduates for up to six).45
Free and Low-Cost Starting Points
Before paying tuition, sample the material. YouTube channels, open courseware, and provider course previews let you test whether welding theory holds your interest. Treat these as an on-ramp: they build vocabulary and confidence, but plan to move into structured coursework once you know welding is your direction.
What Online Welding Classes Cannot Replace: Hands-On Booth Time
Welding is a psychomotor skill: reading a molten puddle, holding a consistent torch angle, matching travel speed to amperage, and building the muscle memory to keep a steady hand under a hood. None of that transfers through a screen. You can watch a thousand root-pass videos and still burn through the coupon the first time you strike an arc, because your forearm has never felt what a 1/8-inch 7018 rod does when it drags.
What Video Instruction Cannot Simulate
Eye-hand coordination under a dark lens, the sound of a properly tuned short-circuit transfer, the feel of gravity pulling filler metal in a 6G pipe position: these are trained by repetition in a booth, not by lecture. Online coursework builds the vocabulary and the theory around the craft, but the actual qualification test is a physical performance in front of a proctor.
What the Standards Actually Say About Practice Hours
There is a common myth that AWS or ASME publishes a required number of booth hours before you can test. They do not. The AWS Certified Welder Program is performance-based with no prerequisite courses, no formal education requirement, and no mandated practice minimum: if you can pass the applicable performance qualification, you qualify. ASME Section IX governs how the test is conducted and accepted, but likewise sets no candidate practice-hour floor.1 NCCER guidance on a universal minimum is not publicly established either.
That does not mean practice is optional. It means the industry trusts the test to sort skilled hands from unskilled ones. Instructors at welding trade schools typically recommend dozens of supervised hours per process and position before attempting a qualification coupon, and site-specific procedures (for example, at Los Alamos National Laboratory) allow only very limited pretest practice, sometimes as little as one hour2, or up to eight hours of retraining after a failed test3. Candidates who train online only, without a mentor watching their technique, tend to arrive at the test booth with ingrained bad habits that a proctor catches immediately.
What Online Credentials Do Cover
OSHA 10 delivered online is widely accepted by employers, and code instruction such as the AWS Introduction to ASME Section IX (six hours online, 6 PDH / 0.6 CEU) counts toward continuing education. Welder performance qualification itself, however, still requires in-person proctoring and visual inspection of the finished weld.
Hybrid Welding Programs: The Middle Ground
The fastest-growing format in welding education right now is not fully online: it is the hybrid model, where accredited schools move lecture, quizzes, and reading to a learning portal and keep every arc-on hour in a supervised booth. That split solves the core problem for adult learners. Theory gets done at 10pm after a shift, and the hands-on requirement still happens under an instructor who can walk over and correct your travel angle.
What Hybrid Actually Looks Like
Tulsa Welding School runs hybrid delivery across its Atlanta Metro (Decatur), GA, Phoenix, AZ, Tulsa, OK, and Jacksonville, FL campuses, with theory completed online against set deadlines and skills work on campus.1 Its Phoenix weekend track is the clearest example of the format: classroom Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6:30pm to 9:00pm, then full lab days Saturday and Sunday, 8:00am to 6:00pm.1
Community colleges use the same structure with a term calendar. Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo, Iowa lists its Welding Certificate as hybrid, with lectures, readings, and quizzes online and labs in person, starting in fall or spring (the next spring cohort begins January 11, 2027).2 Texas State Technical College offers welding as in-person and hybrid across its Texas campuses with both day and night class options.3 Miller-Motte College lists Combination Welding as hybrid at Augusta, GA, Fayetteville, NC, and Raleigh, NC.4 Others in the mix include Delta College in Michigan (blended)5, Milwaukee Area Technical College6, Midlands Technical College's Welding Technology A.A.S.7, Bates Technical College8, and Great Basin College9.
Typical Schedule and Cost
Expect self-paced modules during the week with hard due dates, plus fixed lab blocks on weekends or evenings. Miss the lab, and you fall behind, because booth hours are the part nobody can make up at home.
In hybrid delivery, welding school cost tracks the in-person portion, not the online one, so hybrid rarely saves much on tuition:
- Milwaukee Area Technical College: total program cost listed at $7,032.95.6
- Delta College: estimated tuition and fees of $12,456 in-district, $19,524 out-of-district, and $20,360 out-of-state.5
Several hybrid providers, including Tulsa Welding School, Hawkeye, Miller-Motte, and Texas State Technical College, do not publish a single program price on their program pages, so request a current cost sheet in writing before enrolling.
Reputable Online Welding Course Providers
Online welding courses range from affordable self-paced fundamentals to multi-week live CWI seminars. Some providers are strictly online theory and test prep, while others offer on-site or hybrid components. Hobart Institute is included for comparison because it appears on many welding school lists but currently has no online delivery option.
| Provider | Format | Price Range | Cert Prep | Hands-On Component |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Learning: Welding Fundamentals I | Self-paced, on-demand online courses | $420 member; $560 non-member | Intended to help prepare for the AWS Certified Welding Inspector exam | No physical hands-on component |
| AWS Learning: CWI Pre-Seminar | Online bundle of ten courses | $900 | Prepares for the fundamentals section of the AWS CWI exam | No physical hands-on component |
| AWS Learning: 8-Week Online CWI Seminar | Live, interactive two-hour online sessions | $2,245 member; $2,510 non-member plus $1,500 deposit | Prepares for all three parts of the CWI exam | No physical hands-on lab component |
| AWS Learning: CWI Part B Training | Delivery format not specified; uses inspection tools and weld replicas | N/A | CWI Part B preparation covering inspection tools, weld replicas, and timed practice | Yes, hands-on practice with inspection tools and weld replicas |
| Lincoln Electric | Online and on-site training | $350 to $3,500 | Supports AWS, API, and ASME certification pathways | On-site training available |
| Hobart Institute of Welding | Primarily clock-hour/full-time programs; no online delivery identified | $13,800 to $22,600 | Certificate of Completion; no specific CWI prep listed | In-person programs only |
Online Welding Certification: What’s Real and What’s Just a Certificate
Only a few welding credentials prove practical skill through a live test. Online courses are useful for theory, but most true welding certifications require an in-person performance test at an accredited facility.
| Credential | Issuer | Hands-on test required? | Employer recognition | Typical cost | Validity / maintenance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Certified Welder | American Welding Society (AWS) | Yes. Practical welding test at an AWS Accredited Test Facility with a Certified Welding Inspector. | Performance-based entry level welding credential, widely recognized by employers. | $60 application fee plus facility testing fees that vary. | Valid as long as continuity is maintained; submit maintenance documentation every six months. |
| ASME Section IX welder qualification | American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), testing delivered by a provider | Yes. Groove and fillet weld testing is hands-on. | Code-based qualification, transferable work credential. | Facility or provider fees vary; no single published price in available data. | Not stated in available data. |
| NCCER welding certification | National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER) | Yes. Certification is awarded after successful completion of both knowledge and performance tests. | Formal NCCER certification, not just a completion certificate. | Not stated in available data. | Certification card valid for five years. |
| API 1104 (AWS CWI online seminar and exam focus) | American Welding Society (AWS), with API 1104 as the examination focus | No. Online seminar and exam only; not a welder performance qualification. | Inspector exam preparation, not a substitute for an API welder performance card. | $2,975 for members; $3,240 for nonmembers, plus $1,500 refundable deposit. | Not stated in available data. |
| AWS Welding Fundamentals Online Course | American Welding Society (AWS) | No. Online completion exam only. | Completion certificate, not equivalent to an employer-recognized welding credential. | $206 for members; $275 for nonmembers. | Not stated in available data. |
| Auburn University online Welding Technician course | Auburn University Outreach, with national certification availability through AWS SENSE Level 1 Certificate of Completion and NWCA Welding Technician Certification | No hands-on AWS Certified Welder performance qualification is included online. | Completion-based certificate; do not treat as AWS Certified Welder credential. | $3,999.00 | Not stated in available data. |
Your Path From Online Theory to a Booked Welding Certification Test
Online welding classes build the knowledge you need, but certification hinges on a supervised performance test. Follow this sequence to move from theory to a bookable test date without skipping the booth time employers look for.

Employer Acceptance of Online-Only Welding Training
An online welding certificate on its own rarely gets a candidate hired. Employers filling entry-level welding roles use it as supporting evidence of theory knowledge, not proof someone can lay a clean bead under pressure.
What Job Postings Actually Ask For
Entry-level welding jobs on indeed in 2026 consistently pair credentials with hands-on time. One recurring posting for AWS-related entry-level roles asks for certification from a recognized school plus roughly six months of hands-on welding experience in a professional setting, along with a high school diploma or GED.1 Another common entry-level listing accepts a welding trade program or an AWS-equivalent certification combined with practical exposure, which can include an internship, a school project, or prior entry-level shop work, especially for candidates with less than two years of experience.2 Certain processes, like 3G vertical or flux-cored arc welding, are more likely to require formal AWS certification specifically.2
Why the Weld Test Still Matters
The American Welding Society is direct about this: certification cannot be completed online. AWS offers self-paced and virtual coursework, but earning the AWS Certified Welder credential requires passing a hands-on performance test at an accredited test facility. There are no prerequisite courses required, because the certification exists purely to verify that a welder can produce an acceptable weld under a specific code and process. Higher-tier credentials, like the Certified Associate Welding Inspector designation, layer written exams on top of a practical component and require two years of documented experience.
Credential Versus Proven Skill
This is the real distinction employers are drawing. A resume credential shows someone studied metallurgy, blueprint reading, or safety protocol. A destructive weld test proves the metal actually holds. Online-only training builds the first; it cannot substitute for the second. Job postings and AWS guidance both point the same direction: pair online theory with an in-person weld test, documented through gowelding.org's certification test guides or a hands-on program, before applying.
How to Combine Online Theory With Local Hands-On Welding Practice
The most useful shift in welding education over the past few years is that theory and booth time no longer have to come from the same institution. You can work through symbols, metallurgy, and safety at your kitchen table in the evenings, then buy arc time separately from whoever has an open lab near you. The sequencing matters, though, and doing it in the wrong order wastes money.
Step 1: Finish the theory block first
Work through your online coursework to completion before you book lab hours. Blueprint reading, joint geometry, electrode classification, and preheat rules are all things you can absorb for a fraction of the cost of shop time. Walking into a booth already knowing what a 6010 root pass is supposed to do means your practice hours go toward muscle memory instead of vocabulary.
Step 2: Locate booths you can actually get into
Four sources cover most of the country:
- Community colleges: Many run open lab or continuing education welding blocks that non-degree students can register for by the term.
- Maker spaces: Membership shops in mid-size and larger cities often have MIG and TIG stations plus a safety checkout.
- Union apprenticeship open houses: Local halls frequently hold recruitment events with a test weld station. Even if you do not apply, you meet people who know where the booths are.
- Adult education and vocational programs: Evening and weekend schedules are built for people already working.
The welding schools directory on gowelding.org is the fastest way to pull up programs in your area and see which ones offer short-course or lab-only enrollment rather than a full welding school duration.
Step 3: Call your AWS local section
American Welding Society local sections meet regularly and are full of working welders, inspectors, and instructors. Show up to a meeting, say you are coming out of online coursework and looking for supervised practice. This is consistently the best channel for mentor leads and for finding out which nearby shop will let you run beads after hours.
Step 4: Bank 40 to 60 supervised hours before testing
Plan on 40 to 60 hours of supervised booth time, in the specific position and process you intend to test in, before you schedule a certification test to meet welding certification requirements. Testing early is an expensive way to discover you needed more practice, since you pay the full fee again on a retest.
Welders earned a median annual wage of $53,750 in May 2025, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics.
State Licensing and Certification Requirements for Welders
Does welding require a state license? For most welding jobs, no. There is no nationwide state-issued welder's license, and most states don't require one for ordinary employment. What determines whether you can work is usually the employer's own weld test, plus code credentials like AWS D1.1 for structural steel, AWS D1.3 for sheet steel, ASME Section IX for pressure vessels, or API 1104 for pipeline work. Pass the employer's test on the applicable code, and you're qualified for that job, regardless of how you learned the theory behind it.
Where that changes is on structural, pipeline, and public works projects, where a handful of states layer on extra requirements. Alabama, California, Connecticut, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island all have some form of additional oversight depending on the scope of work.
State-Specific Rules Worth Knowing
- New York City: Structural welding within the five boroughs typically requires a Department of Buildings Welder License, which includes a background check and a hands-on practical examination, not a written test alone.
- California: There's no blanket state welder license, but under state licensing requirements for welding business, anyone contracting welding work themselves may need a C-60 Welding Contractor License, which calls for four years of documented experience, a $25,000 bond, and passing both the CSLB Law and Business exam and the C-60 Trade exam. Bridge welding adds its own bar: the AWS D1.5 All-Positions Unlimited Plate Thickness Groove Test after three years of experience. Cal/OSHA also oversees pressure and boiler work.
- Texas: No general statewide welder license exists, but structural work on bridges and load-bearing connections is commonly held to AWS bridge-welding standards.
The Bottom Line on Online Training
None of these credentials can be satisfied by online coursework alone. Practical exams, bend tests, and background checks require in-person, supervised evaluation. Online classes prepare you for the written and theory portions, but the license or certification itself is earned in a booth. For the specific paperwork, exam format, and fees in your state, the certification test guides at /welding-certification/ break it down program by program.
Related Articles
In a 2022-2023 Grayson College assessment, online welding sections had a 50% failure rate, while 95% of hybrid students passed. Instructors attributed most online failures to missing or late assignments, not to a lack of hands-on welding skill.
Next Steps: From Online Theory to Your First Welding Job
More employers now treat online welding coursework as a legitimate entry point rather than a shortcut, provided it's followed by verifiable stick time. That shift makes the path forward clearer than it was even a few years ago, but it still has three distinct stages, and skipping any one of them will stall you out before you reach a paycheck.
The Realistic Sequence
Start with a free or low-cost online course to build your foundation: safety protocols, blueprint reading, metallurgy basics, and the vocabulary you'll need on a shop floor. This phase can take a few weeks and costs little to nothing. From there, locate hands-on practice, whether that's a community college lab, a hybrid program with booth access, or a shop willing to mentor a newcomer. Budget several months here; this is where actual skill gets built. Finally, sit for a recognized performance-based certification test tied to a real code (AWS D1.1 and similar). That credential, not the online course itself, is what employers and inspectors will ask to see.
Where to Go From Here
The welding schools directory can help you find hands-on programs and testing facilities near you, and the certification test guides walk through what each exam actually requires so you're not walking in blind.
Don't Stop at Theory
Online classes are a starting point, not the destination. Once you've logged booth hours and passed a qualifying test, check the welding jobs section for entry-level openings that match where you are right now. Employers are looking for hands that can run a bead, not just a certificate of completion.
Best Welding Schools by State
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- Washington DC
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
Explore More
- Affordable Welding Schools
- Fastest Welding Programs
- Pipe Welding Training
- TIG Welding Classes
- Best Welding Schools
- CWI Certification
- How Long Is Welding School
- Welding School Cost
- Paid Welding Training
- Underwater Welding Schools
- Welding Classes
- Welding Scholarships & Financial Aid
- Welding School Requirements
- Trade School vs Apprenticeship
- Welding Training Programs