The Best Welding Schools in Minnesota for Career Training

Compare Minnesota welding schools by cost, outcomes, and training options to find your fit.

Minnesota welders earn a statewide median of $52,120 a year, and more than 15 accredited welding programs run through the state's public technical and community colleges, from Anoka Technical College to Alexandria Technical and Community College. That density gives career-changers real options, but it also creates a sorting problem: certificate, diploma, and AAS tracks overlap in content while differing sharply in cost, schedule, and how directly they lead to an AWS-endorsed credential.

The practical tension isn't whether welding pays. It's picking a program whose length, shop hours, and certification path actually match your timeline and your local job market.

Employers hiring in St. Cloud or Rochester care less about a school's name than about what a graduate can weld, test, and document on day one.

Top Welding Schools in Minnesota: 2027 Rankings

These 10 Minnesota welding schools stand out for hands-on labs, industry certifications, and pathways into high-demand trades. Each profile includes a key credential and outcome details such as median wages or net price when available. Use the ranking as a starting point, then compare program fit, cost, and location.

Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Program completion rate
  • Post-enrollment earnings
  • Net price after aid
  • Program length and format
Data sources
  • Independent program research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

Anoka Technical College

#1

Anoka, MN · $17,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Career starters prioritizing hands-on training

Anoka Technical College offers a Basic Welding Certificate built for hands-on learning. The 17-credit program covers major welding processes and prepares students for AWS certification and three national certification exams. Graduates often move into welder, fabricator, and maintenance welder roles, with Minnesota median pay around $27.54 an hour. Financial aid and scholarships are available.

  • $4,357 total program tuition
  • 17 total credit hours
  • 2 start dates per year
  • Starts fall/spring
  • Median wage: $27.54 per hour
  • Top earners: $34.94 per hour
  • Prepares for AWS Certification
  • Prepares for three national certification exams

Dunwoody College of Technology

#2

Minneapolis, MN · ~$27,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Learners wanting simulated production experience

Dunwoody College of Technology offers a one-year Welding Technology certificate with daytime, campus-based classes. Students train on SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW, plus oxyacetylene and plasma cutting, in a 36-booth weld shop. All instructors are AWS-certified welders, and students can earn up to four AWS D1.1 certifications. Certificate credits transfer into the associate degree if you continue.

  • 1-year program
  • Earn up to four AWS D1.1 certifications
  • SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, GTAW training
  • Oxyacetylene and plasma arc cutting
  • State-of-the-art welding lab
  • Simulated production shop in final semester
  • 36-booth weld shop
  • Credits transfer into associate degree

Riverland Community College

#3

Austin, MN · $7,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Working adults seeking a one-semester credential

Riverland Community College's Welding Certificate is a 16-credit, one-semester pathway for entry-level work. Students practice welding positions, joints, codes, and metal cutting tools on real equipment. Classes meet on the Albert Lea campus with fall and spring starts. Welders in Minnesota earn about $24.81 an hour, and scholarships can help cover costs.

  • 1-semester program
  • 16 total credit hours
  • Starts fall/spring
  • Welders in Minnesota earn about $24.81 per hour
  • Scholarships available
  • Welding in different positions and joints
  • Understanding and following welding codes
  • Using grinding and shaping tools

Minnesota West Community and Technical College

#4

Granite Falls, MN · $11,000/yr

Minnesota West Community and Technical College offers a welding diploma that can be completed in less than a year. Coursework includes SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW, plus pipe welding, plasma, and oxy-fuel cutting, with attention to AWS D1.1 Structural Code. Shorter certificates are available for students who want to focus on specific processes. Graduates may pursue roles such as construction welder, pipe welder, or welding inspector.

  • 1-year program
  • 32 total credit hours
  • Learn American Welding Society standards
  • Train to AWS D1.1 Structural Code
  • GMAW, GTAW, and pipe welding skills
  • Read and interpret welding blueprints
  • Available at Granite Falls, Jackson
  • Prepares for entry-level welding jobs

Northland Community and Technical College

#5

Thief River Falls, MN · ~$14,000/yr (est.)

Northland Community and Technical College offers a Welding Process Technology Diploma at its Thief River Falls campus. The program was developed with regional manufacturers and covers six welding and cutting processes. Students can earn three stackable certificates in SMAW, GMAW, and GTAW, then apply for four credentials. A flex lab with extended hours allows self-paced practice.

  • 3 concentration options
  • Designed with regional manufacturers
  • Self-paced, flexible training
  • Open or flex lab setting
  • Extended lab hours for practice
  • Learn six welding and cutting processes
  • HLC accredited

Hennepin Technical College

#6

Brooklyn Park, MN · $10,000/yr

Hennepin Technical College offers Welding and Metal Fabrication certificate and diploma tracks at the Brooklyn Park campus. Training includes MIG, TIG, stick, flux-cored, and plasma arc welding, plus robotic welding programming and precision fabrication. Daytime and evening classes start in fall, spring, and summer. Graduates may pursue roles as welders, fabricators, pipefitters, quality inspectors, and maintenance supervisors.

  • American Welding Society accredited
  • 3 start dates per year
  • Starts fall/spring/summer
  • MIG, TIG, plasma, flux-cored welding
  • Robotic welding programming and operation
  • Careers: welder, fabricator, pipefitter
  • WIOA workforce funding available
  • Daytime and evening classes

Ridgewater College

#7

Willmar, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

Ridgewater College offers welding certificates and diplomas that get students onto the shop floor quickly. Training covers MIG, TIG, and stick welding, blueprint reading, layout, and robotic welding. The program runs in person at the Willmar campus, with a one-year option at Hutchinson. An American Welding Society certified testing site lets students test for industry credentials on site.

  • $3,573 total program tuition
  • MIG, TIG, and stick welding training
  • Blueprint reading and layout methods
  • Robotic welding and metal fabrication
  • American Welding Society certified testing site
  • Monday through Thursday class schedule
  • One-year option at Hutchinson campus
  • Tools and safety equipment: $700-$1,000

Central Lakes College-Brainerd

#8

Brainerd, MN · $14,000/yr

Central Lakes College offers Welding & Fabrication as both a diploma and an Associate of Applied Science degree. Students can choose the shorter diploma or the fuller AAS credential depending on career goals. Classes meet on campus in Brainerd and Staples, Minnesota.

  • Diploma and AAS degree tracks
  • Prepares for construction, manufacturing, agriculture careers

St Cloud Technical and Community College

#9

Saint Cloud, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

St. Cloud Technical and Community College offers a Welding/Fabrication Diploma with two suggested technical semesters plus general education courses. Coursework covers arc welding, gas tungsten arc welding, thermal welding and cutting, metallurgy, blueprint reading, robotics, and inspection. Graduates go into fabricating shops, plant maintenance, structural steel, pipefitting, and plumbing, with pathways to supervisory roles.

  • Two suggested technical semesters
  • Covers arc welding, GTAW, thermal welding and cutting
  • Robotics, inspection, and testing coursework
  • General education in analytical writing and workplace human relations
  • Careers in pipefitting, plumbing, and sales
  • Supervisory roles after gaining experience

Minnesota North College

#10

Hibbing, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

Minnesota North College offers welding pathways from a 12-credit certificate to a 65-credit advanced diploma. The entry diploma covers welding and cutting theory, safety, and hands-on lab practice, while advanced students learn CAD and CNC software. Classes meet during the day and evening at the Mesabi Range Eveleth Campus, and the program is an AWS Accredited Test Facility.

  • 12-credit certificate, 33-credit entry diploma, 65-credit advanced diploma
  • AWS Accredited Test Facility
  • CAD and CNC software training
  • Day and evening classes available
  • AWS Certified Welder testing opportunity
  • 22% projected job growth
  • 336,000 welders needed by 2036
  • 1 of 3 AWS Test Facilities in MN

Minnesota Welding Schools at a Glance

Across the ten ranked welding programs in Minnesota, the numbers tell a consistent story: upfront costs are modest, completion is common, and AWS-aligned training is widely available. The average net price across these schools is about $13,074 per year, well below many private trade programs. The average institution-wide graduation rate is 52.4%, and graduates who entered these institutions see median earnings around $47,211 ten years after starting, according to federal data. Six of the ten ranked schools explicitly prepare students for AWS certification or operate as AWS-certified testing sites, which matters for employers across the state. Program-level one-year earnings are not yet reported for these programs, so median earnings figures reflect institution-level outcomes from College Scorecard.

Average net price $13,074, 52.4% grad rate, $47,211 median earnings, 6 of 10 schools offering AWS prep in Minnesota.

How We Ranked the Best Welding Schools in Minnesota

Some directories rank welding schools by state on reputation alone. We lean on published federal data instead, pairing program-level outcomes with institution-wide context so you can see both the specific welding track and the school around it.

Program Earnings, Debt, and Completion

Where the data exists, we look at what welding program completers earn one to five years out, how much federal debt they carry at graduation, and what share actually finish the program they started. These numbers come from College Scorecard reporting tied to credentials in specific types of welding, not averaged across every major on campus.

Institution-Wide Signals

Program-level figures do not exist for every school, so we also weigh institution-wide graduation rate, net price, and the share of students receiving Pell Grants. These help flag schools that serve working adults and career-changers well, not just traditional students straight out of high school.

What the Tuition Numbers Mean

Cost figures shown here are degree-aware, published in-state and out-of-state tuition rates, not a personalized net price after aid. Your actual bill will depend on residency, credits transferred, and financial aid awarded, so treat these as starting points for comparison rather than a final quote.

Schools Without Program Earnings Still Count

A number of solid welding programs, especially at smaller technical colleges, do not yet have enough graduates reporting earnings to generate program-specific figures. Rather than dropping them, we rank these schools on completion rates, cost, and institutional outcomes, and we note plainly when program earnings are not yet available.

Cost and Financial Aid for Minnesota Welding Programs

Costs for Minnesota welding programs vary by campus, award type, and enrollment intensity. The table below lists ten public Minnesota colleges with welding certificates or diplomas, ordered by average net price after all grant and scholarship aid. Keep in mind that net price is an average for full-time first-time students; your own cost depends on household income, dependency status, and the number of credits you take. Minnesota residents may qualify for the Minnesota State Grant (requires at least 3 credits and FAFSA or Minnesota Dream Act) and the federal Pell Grant (up to $7,395 for 2026-27, with a minimum award of $740). Many campuses also offer institutional scholarships, and some Minnesota manufacturers and unions provide employer sponsorship or tuition reimbursement, though availability and terms vary by program and employer.

SchoolCityIn-State TuitionAverage Net Price After Aid
Riverland Community CollegeAustin$6,298$7,427
South Central CollegeNorth Mankato$6,146$9,082
St Cloud Technical and Community CollegeSaint Cloud$6,124$9,635
Ridgewater CollegeWillmar$6,121$10,046
Hennepin Technical CollegeBrooklyn Park$5,940$10,272
Minnesota North CollegeHibbing$6,022$10,432
Century CollegeWhite Bear Lake$6,214$10,906
Northwest Technical CollegeBemidji$6,254$10,996
Minnesota West Community and Technical CollegeGranite Falls$6,491$11,191
Saint Paul CollegeSaint Paul$6,326$11,495

Program Length, Schedules, and Flexibility

How long does it take to become a welder in Minnesota, and can you fit training around a full-time job? Most programs fall into three common lengths, but schedule flexibility depends heavily on the campus and credential.

Certificate and diploma timelines

A short welding certificate can often be completed in about four months to a year. Anoka Technical College's Basic Welding and Welding Fabricator certificates each require 17 credits and run about four months full-time, with Fabricator scheduled for fall and Pipe Welder scheduled for spring. Lake Superior College's 24-credit welding certificate and 18-credit Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Production certificate are both about nine to twelve months on campus.

Diploma timelines sit in the middle. Anoka's 34-credit Welding Technology diploma runs about eight months full-time. Central Lakes College's 42-credit Welding and Fabrication diploma can take eight to twelve months, depending on start term and whether a summer session is included.

Associate degrees and scheduling

Plan on 12 to 24 months of full-time study for an associate degree, depending on the program. Lake Superior College lists its 60-credit Welding AAS and 65-credit Welding Diploma at 24 months on campus. Anoka's 66-credit Welding AAS is designed for full-time enrollment and is listed at 12 months.

Published schedules at these schools emphasize full-time day cohorts. Evening, weekend, and part-time welding options are not consistently documented, so confirm directly before enrolling. Lake Superior College's 32-credit Welding Technologist Diploma is one listed exception with a hybrid format.

Why fully online welding is rare

Hands-on lab time is the core of the training. Central Lakes College notes about 90% of its welding diploma is lab time. Some theory or blueprint reading work may be offered online, but you should expect to spend most of your hours in a weld booth or shop. For other Minnesota welding schools, current catalog and cohort details should be verified with the campus.

Welding Certifications and Career Pathways in Minnesota

A welding certification is a document that says you passed a specific weld test, on a specific joint, in a specific position, judged against a written code. It is not a government license. Minnesota does not issue a general state welding license for ordinary production, fabrication, structural, or maintenance work, so in most cases what gets you hired for welding jobs is a current test result an employer trusts, not a card from the state.

What Minnesota Employers Actually Ask For

Job postings across the state point to AWS codes rather than state credentials. Minneapolis-area employers commonly name AWS D1.1 (structural steel) and D1.3 (sheet metal), and some allow new hires up to two months to obtain them.1 Millerbernd Manufacturing runs its own internal test and gives applicants 14 days and three attempts to complete AWS certification.2 Avtec Finishing has asked for current AWS certification at hire,3 Schwing America for D1.1,4 and Cadrex Manufacturing Solutions for certification in two processes.5 Expect in-house weld tests as often as portable credentials.

High-pressure piping is the exception. That work qualifies welders under ASME Section IX,6 and jobs cannot proceed without a WPS, a PQR, and qualified welders on file.7 Requirements for specialized, public, or pressure work can also vary locally, so confirm with the authority having jurisdiction.

How Programs Prepare You

Anoka Technical College structures welding into a 17-credit certificate, a 34-credit diploma, and a 66-credit AAS, with coursework aimed at AWS, ASME, and API examinations.8 Its Robotic and Laser Welding program maps toward AWS Certified Robotic Arc Welding.9 Lake Superior College's 24-credit certificate10 tests to AWS standards and code books, including A2.4 for welding symbols.11

The Career Ladder

  • Entry welder: single process, limited positions, shop or field production work.
  • Combination welder: multiple processes and positions, including pipe, at higher pay.
  • Pipefitter or high-pressure piping welder: ASME Section IX qualification and ongoing continuity requirements, including 6G Pipe Welding.6
  • Certified Welding Inspector: an advanced role, not an entry point. Minnesota CWI postings typically want an active AWS CWI credential12 plus roughly five or more years of relevant experience and working knowledge of D1.1 and ASME B31.3.13
  • Lead, supervisor, or weld engineer support: built on inspection literacy and procedure knowledge.

Job Outlook and Earnings for Minnesota Welders

Minnesota welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earn a statewide median of $25.06 per hour, or $52,120 annually, according to May 2025 occupational employment data, with several metro areas paying above that mark, such as St. Cloud at $30.89 and Rochester at $29.69 per hour. Major manufacturers including Polaris, Marvin, Arctic Cat, Donaldson, Millerbernd Manufacturing, Cadrex Manufacturing Solutions, and Precision Manufacturing regularly hire welders, and Minnesota DEED projects 11.9% job growth for this occupation from 2022 to 2032, adding about 244 positions. For the top schools listed in this guide, program-level earnings and employment outcomes are available in the school scorecards, offering a more detailed view than these state and metro averages.

Region/MetroMedian Hourly WageAnnual Median WageTotal Employment
Minnesota$25.06/hr$52,1209,270
Mankato-North Mankato, MN MSA$26.03/hrNot reported280
Duluth, MN-WI MSA$28.23/hrNot reported370
Rochester, MN MSA$29.69/hrNot reported510
St. Cloud, MN MSA$30.89/hrNot reported620
Northeast Minnesota$29.66/hrNot reported460

Choosing the Right Welding School: Key Factors

Anoka Technical College reported an overall student-to-faculty ratio of 19 for fall 20241, a campus-wide figure that says nothing about how many students share a welding booth during hands-on lab time. That gap is the whole problem with comparing welding programs from a website alone: the numbers that actually matter, lab square footage, booth counts, and welding-specific instructor ratios, rarely show up in published marketing pages for Anoka Technical College, Central Lakes College, Lake Superior College, Minnesota State College Southeast, or St. Cloud Technical & Community College Welding/Fabrication Program.

Call the Welding Department Directly

Don't rely on program pages for facility specifics. Call or email the welding department at each school and ask directly for current lab square footage, the number of welding booths available for student use, the student-to-instructor ratio during lab hours (not the overall campus ratio), and whether instructors hold AWS credentials such as Certified Welding Inspector (CWI) or Certified Welding Educator (CWE). A program coordinator should be able to answer these questions in a five-minute call.

Verify What They Tell You

Cross-check the answers against sources you can access yourself. School websites and program pages will confirm course sequences and program types, such as Minnesota State College Southeast Welding Technology Program's AAS, diploma, and certificate options. BLS.gov provides broader career and training context for welders nationally. The American Welding Society (AWS) maintains records on Accredited Test Facility status and can verify whether a named instructor actually holds a current CWI or CWE credential, rather than taking a school's word for it.

A Practical Comparison Checklist

Use the same checklist for every school you're considering:

  • Tour the lab: Visit in person or request a video walkthrough of the actual welding bays.
  • Get accreditation in writing: Ask the school to confirm AWS Accredited Test Facility status by email, not just verbally.
  • Ask about equipment age: Find out how often welding machines and welding safety equipment are replaced or updated.
  • Confirm real class sizes: Ask specifically about hands-on lab sections, not lecture enrollment.
  • Compare answers side by side: Run this checklist across Anoka Technical College, Central Lakes College, Lake Superior College, Minnesota State College Southeast, and St. Cloud Technical & Community College before you commit.

The school that answers every question clearly and promptly is often telling you as much about program quality as the answers themselves.

Frequently Asked Questions About Minnesota Welding Schools

Choosing a welding school in Minnesota comes down to your goals, timeline, and budget. These answers reflect the most commonly asked questions from prospective students, based on 2026 program information and published costs where available.

What are the best welding schools in Minnesota?
Rankings vary, and no single statewide authority exists. One 2026 trade-school ranking places Minnesota North College first, while Niche names a different community college first. Strong options include Hennepin Technical College, Alexandria Technical & Community College, Anoka Technical College, Saint Paul College, Lake Superior College, Riverland Community College, and Minnesota West.
How long does welding school take in Minnesota?
Length depends on credential and course load. Short certificates can take more than one term but less than a year. Diplomas often take eight months to two years, and associate degrees usually take one to two years. Most Minnesota welding training falls between 12 and 48 months, with full-time study finishing faster.
What does welding school cost in Minnesota?
Costs vary widely by school and credential. For 2026-2027, reported per-credit rates include $222 at Minnesota North, $230 at Alexandria, $256 at Anoka, and $259 at Hennepin. Total program estimates range from about $3,860 at Hennepin to $11,600 to $16,600 at Saint Paul College and $17,179 at Anoka, before tools, books, supplies, and fees.
What certifications can I earn at a Minnesota welding school?
Students can earn certificates, diplomas, or associate degrees. Many programs prepare you for American Welding Society qualifications. Minnesota North is an AWS Accredited Test Facility, so graduates can test for AWS Certified Welder. Anoka Technical College lists 2026 AWS testing dates and fees for several certifications. AWS offers nine certification programs across several types of welding, not all offered at every school.
Are there evening or online welding classes in Minnesota?
Yes. Evening welding courses are available at Hennepin Technical College in Brooklyn Park and Minnesota North College in Eveleth. Hands-on lab work still requires in-person attendance. Online options are limited, but the American Welding Society offers live online instructor-led training, self-paced online courses, and an eight-week online Certified Welding Inspector seminar.

More Minnesota Welding Schools to Consider

The top 10 programs above are only part of the picture. Minnesota's two-year colleges run welding certificates and diplomas in nearly every corner of the state, from the Twin Cities metro to Bemidji and Duluth. Browse the schools below by region to compare curriculum focus, credential length, and campus format.

Twin Cities Metro

Saint Paul College
A shop-based welding diploma covering TIG, MIG, and stick on mild steel, aluminum, and stainless across a range of material thicknesses. Fabrication projects build layout, cutting, and finishing skills, and the shop includes press brakes, a CNC plasma cutter, shears, and punches.
  • Welding Technology Diploma
Saint Paul, MN · On-Campus
Century College
A campus-based, daytime welding certificate with fall and spring starts and both full- and part-time options. Coursework centers on joining, cutting, bending, and shaping metal for industrial and artistic projects, with independent work and team troubleshooting built in.
  • Welding
White Bear Lake, MN · On-Campus
Minneapolis Community and Technical College
A 27-credit welding and metal fabrication certificate that takes about a year, with day or evening classes and small class sizes. Students learn blueprint and symbol reading plus SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW, and can stack credits toward a diploma or an A.A.S. degree.
  • Welding and Metal Fabrication
Minneapolis, MN · On-Campus

Southern Minnesota

South Central College
A 16-credit, seven-course welding certificate built to get students job-ready quickly. It starts with blueprint reading and safety, then moves into SMAW, GMAW, and TIG, with oxy-fuel cutting, brazing, and soldering practiced on carbon steel, stainless, and aluminum.
  • Welding
North Mankato, MN · On-Campus
Minnesota State College Southeast
A four-month, 17-credit welding technology certificate taught in a working welding shop from day one. Training covers safety, tool handling, blueprint reading, oxy-fuel, stick, MIG, and TIG, plus self-inspection against industry standards. Program tuition runs about $4,171, and the certificate stacks into a welding diploma.
  • Welding Technology
Winona, MN · On-Campus
Rochester Community and Technical College
A 16-credit welding technology certificate designed to be completed in a single semester. Coursework covers safety and equipment operation, blueprint reading, weld design, metallurgy, quality control, and SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and oxy-fuel welding, with an internship component for real shop experience.
  • Welding Technology
Rochester, MN · On-Campus

East Central Minnesota

Pine Technical & Community College
A welding technology program blending hands-on shop time with safety, blueprint reading, quality control, and equipment maintenance. Students weld carbon steel, stainless, and aluminum to American Welding Society entry-level standards and earn at least four welding certifications, with credentials stacking from certificate to diploma to A.A.S. degree.
  • Welding Technology
Pine City, MN · On-Campus

Northeast Minnesota

Lake Superior College
A 24-credit welding certificate that runs about one year and meets entirely on campus in Duluth, with most time spent in the lab. Training covers gas metal arc, gas tungsten arc, and shielded metal arc welding plus print reading, engineering materials, turning, and CNC milling.
  • Welding
Duluth, MN · On-Campus

Northwest Minnesota

Northwest Technical College
A 30-credit welding technologies certificate combining seven foundational manufacturing courses with six advanced welding courses. On-site labs cover oxyfuel welding, SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW along with print reading, metallurgy, safety, and quality practices, and military benefits are accepted.
  • Welding Technologies
Bemidji, MN · On-Campus