Georgia's welders earn a median wage that outpaces many entry-level trade jobs, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics tracks steady demand across shipbuilding, pipeline work, and manufacturing hubs from Savannah to Rome. A structural welder with six months of shop time and a clean AWS D1.1 certification can start well above minimum wage, but the gap between a $3,000 certificate program and a $20,000 associate degree confuses a lot of first-time applicants.
We evaluated 17 welding programs across Georgia's technical colleges and private schools, weighing completion rates and post-program earnings rather than marketing claims.
The real constraint isn't finding a program, it's matching program length and cost to the certification an employer actually wants.
Best Welding Schools in Georgia: 2027 Rankings
Georgia's technical college system offers affordable, hands-on welding training from Sandersville to Savannah. The schools below stand out for strong completion rates, manageable net price, and early-career earnings that reflect real job demand. Whether you want a fast certificate or a diploma with pipe welding depth, this list is a practical starting point.
- Student-to-faculty class size
- Completion rate among enrolled students
- Early-career wages for graduates
- Net price after financial aid
- Hands-on training and certifications
- Independent program research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Oconee Fall Line Technical College
#1Sandersville, GA · $13,000/yr
Best for: Career starters needing multi-process training
Oconee Fall Line Technical College pairs a 65% completion rate with an average net price near $12,800, making it one of the more affordable entry points in Georgia. Its Welding and Joining Technology program offers certificate and diploma tracks, with hands-on training in four major welding processes and 6G pipe positions. Graduates report median earnings around $30,900 one year after completion, and the college's HOPE and Pell aid pathways keep debt low.
- $107 per credit hour
- Four-semester diploma option
- Covers gas metal arc, gas tungsten, shielded metal arc, and flux core arc welding
- Prepares for welding qualification tests and 6G pipe positions
- HOPE Career Grant and Pell funding can reduce out-of-pocket cost
- Classes available mornings, afternoons, and evenings
- Small class sizes across Sandersville and Dublin campuses
Central Georgia Technical College
#2Warner Robins, GA · $7,000/yr
Best for: Students stacking certificates across concentrations
Central Georgia Technical College stands out for its low average net price near $7,100 and a 47% completion rate. Students can choose a welding diploma or one of several technical certificates, including pipe welding and a Master Welder concentration. Graduates earn median wages around $30,850 one year after finishing.
- Eight concentration options including pipe welding
- Diploma in Welding and Joining Technology
- Additional certificates in shielded metal, gas metal, gas tungsten, and flux cored arc welding
- Master Welder I option at the GDC location
- High school diploma or GED and minimum age 16 required
Southern Crescent Technical College
#3Griffin, GA · $6,000/yr
Best for: Apprenticeship seekers needing paid training
Southern Crescent Technical College reports a 58% completion rate and an average net price under $5,700. The NCCER Welding and Joining Technician diploma blends welding theory with qualification-test practice, and the college's paid apprenticeship with a local equipment manufacturer gives students real income while training. One-year median earnings after completion reach about $36,100.
- Median earnings around $46,813
- NCCER-aligned welding technician diploma
- Prepares for industry qualification tests
- Paid registered apprenticeship with local truck equipment manufacturer
- Available at Griffin and Flint River campuses
- Fall, spring, and summer entry terms
Atlanta Technical College
#4Atlanta, GA · under $5,000/yr
Atlanta Technical College provides an in-state diploma pathway with a 49% completion rate. Its metro Atlanta location means students train near major construction and manufacturing employers. The net price after aid is reported as negative for qualifying students, and graduates earn median wages around $30,350 one year after completion.
- Diploma award level
- Training in four major arc welding processes
- Blueprint reading, metallurgy, and safety practices
- Practice on steel, aluminum, and other metals in all positions
- Careers in construction, manufacturing, automotive repair, and aerospace
Georgia Northwestern Technical College
#5Rome, GA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Georgia Northwestern Technical College has trained welders since 1966 and reports a 43% completion rate with a net price around $5,700. Students can earn a diploma or stack any of seven certificates across the four major processes, including pipe welding. Median earnings one year after finishing are about $35,760.
- Program established in 1966
- Diploma plus seven stackable welding certificates
- Covers SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW
- Blueprint reading, fabrication, pipe welding, and metal cutting
- Foundation scholarships available
- Career pathways in aerospace, shipbuilding, pipeline, and repair
Athens Technical College
#6Athens, GA · $3,000 – $6,000/yr
Athens Technical College reports a 51% completion rate and an estimated net price near $6,950. The fully in-person Welding Technology program offers certificate, diploma, and associate degree paths, with employer ties to Kubota, Caterpillar, and local unions. Graduates see median earnings around $35,950 one year after completion.
- Fully in-person instruction
- Certificate, diploma, and associate degree options
- Training in SMAW, GTAW, and GMAW
- Employer partners include Kubota, Caterpillar, IMI, and local unions
- Prepares for pipe, shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, and gas metal arc welder roles
- About 50,000 welding openings nationwide each year
West Georgia Technical College
#7Waco, GA · $2,000/yr (net price)
West Georgia Technical College carries one of the lowest net prices in this ranking at about $2,460, though its completion rate is 35%. The Welding and Joining Technology diploma trains students in three core arc processes plus pipe welding across multiple campuses. Median earnings one year after completion are around $35,480.
- Diploma and technical certificates available
- Training in shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, and gas tungsten arc welding
- Pipe welding practice included
- Campuses in Carroll, Douglas, LaGrange, and Waco
- Good career options with competitive wages
Savannah Technical College
#8Savannah, GA · $6,000/yr (net price)
Savannah Technical College offers a competitive Welding & Joining Technology program with a 43% completion rate and a net price near $6,100. Students practice in high-tech booths and can pursue pipe, TIG, MIG, or precision fabrication specialties. Graduates report median earnings around $33,000 one year after finishing, with a range from $38,000 to $72,000.
- High-tech welding booths for hands-on shop training
- Diploma plus certificates in multiple arc processes
- Specializations in pipe, TIG, precision fabrication, or manufacturing MIG welding
- Night and weekend class options
- Average graduate earnings range from $38,000 to $72,000
- Competitive admission for some awards
Coastal Pines Technical College
#9Waycross, GA · under $5,000/yr
Coastal Pines Technical College reports a 48% completion rate and a net price that is effectively near zero after aid for many students. Its Welding and Joining Technology program covers all positions plus 2G, 5G, and 6G pipe welding, with training offered on five campuses. Median earnings one year after completion are about $30,200.
- Pipe welding in 2G, 5G, and 6G positions
- Blueprint reading, oxyfuel and plasma cutting, and metal fabrication
- Prepares for national welding code and qualification tests
- Training offered at Camden, Golden Isles, Hazlehurst, Jesup, and Waycross
- Certificates and diplomas available
North Georgia Technical College
#10Clarkesville, GA · $4,000/yr (net price)
North Georgia Technical College hosts a 17,000-square-foot facility with 100 welding stations and reports a 39% completion rate. The average net price is about $4,000, and students train on carbon steel, stainless, and aluminum using stick, MIG, and TIG processes. Median earnings one year after completion are roughly $32,900.
- 17,000-square-foot welding facility with 100 stations
- Training in stick, MIG, and TIG on carbon steel, stainless, and aluminum
- Uses AWS structural plate and ASME pipe standards
- Diploma can be completed in 2 to 5 semesters
- Pathway to AAS degree and welding qualification tests
- Department is eligible for 100% tuition coverage
How We Ranked Georgia Welding Schools
Georgia's welding schools vary widely in cost and outcomes, which is exactly why raw tuition numbers alone tell an incomplete story. To compare programs fairly, we pulled from federal College Scorecard data, focusing on program-level earnings for graduates entering welding jobs, completion rates, and average net price after aid.
What the Numbers Actually Mean
A few caveats matter here. Graduation rate figures reflect the entire institution, not the welding program specifically, since program-level completion isn't reported separately for most schools. A college's overall graduation rate is a reasonable proxy for student support and retention culture, but it won't tell you how many welding students finish their certificate versus how many switch majors.
Net price is also an average, not a fixed number. It reflects what a typical student pays after grants and scholarships, and your actual cost will shift based on household income, in-state residency, and whether you qualify for HOPE Grant funding or other state aid.
Program Format and Location
Beyond the numbers, we weighed program type and geography. Some Georgia welding programs run entirely on campus with shop hours built into the schedule, while others offer hybrid formats with online coursework paired with in-person lab time. We also looked at geographic spread across the state, from metro Atlanta to Savannah and the Middle Georgia corridor, so the rankings stay useful near a major hub or a smaller technical college campus. The goal is a realistic picture of cost, outcomes, and access, not just a list of the biggest names.
Cost of Welding School in Georgia
Costs vary widely by institution type, program length, residency, and whether books, tools, and certification exam fees are included. Technical colleges publish 2025-2026 per-credit rates, while private schools generally quote program totals by clock hour or course. Older published prices are labeled in the table.
| Institution / Program | Cost item | Amount | Period / source notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Technical Colleges (systemwide) | In-state tuition per credit | $107 | 2025-2026 |
| Georgia Technical Colleges (systemwide) | Out-of-state tuition per credit | $214 | 2025-2026 |
| Georgia Technical Colleges (systemwide) | International tuition per credit | $428 | 2025-2026 |
| Georgia Technical Colleges (systemwide) | Per-semester tuition cap at 15 credits | $1,605 | 2025-2026 |
| Georgia Technical Colleges (systemwide) | Estimated annual total cost | $3,200 | 2025-2026 |
| Georgia Technical Colleges (systemwide) | Estimated annual cost with HOPE Grant | $1,200 | 2025-2026 |
| Oconee Fall Line Technical College | In-state tuition per credit | $107 | 2025-2026 |
| Oconee Fall Line Technical College | Welding program total cost range | $1,532 to $7,043 | 2025-2026 |
| Oconee Fall Line Technical College | Books and supplies | $100 to $500 | 2025-2026 |
| North Georgia Technical College | Books and supplies | $650 | 2025-2026 |
| North Georgia Technical College | Lab fee per occupational course | $45 | 2025-2026 |
| West Georgia Technical College | In-state tuition per credit | $107 | 2025-2026 |
| West Georgia Technical College | 54-credit welding diploma tuition estimate | $5,778 | 2025-2026, before fees, books, supplies, tools, certifications |
| West Georgia Technical College | Welding supply fee | $40 | 2025-2026 |
| Chattahoochee Technical College | In-state tuition per credit | $107 | 2025-2026 |
| Chattahoochee Technical College | Out-of-state tuition per credit | $214 | 2025-2026 |
| Chattahoochee Technical College | International tuition per credit | $428 | 2025-2026 |
| Chattahoochee Technical College | Welding fee for WELD courses | $20 | 2025-2026 |
| Georgia Trade School | Program tuition | $12,000 | 2020 published rate |
| Georgia Trade School | Books, supplies, and tools | $1,000 | 2020 published rate |
| Georgia Trade School | Combined program cost | $13,000 | 2020 published rate |
| Elite Welding Academy | Application fee | $100 | School materials, year not stated |
| Elite Welding Academy 500-Hour Program | Total program cost | $23,739.42 | School materials, year not stated |
| Elite Welding Academy 300-Hour Program | Total program cost | $14,218.40 | School materials, year not stated |
| Pit Weld U OSHA-10 Program | Total program cost | $4,250 | 2023 published rate |
| Pit Weld U AWS D1.1 Program | Total program cost | $3,195 | 2023 published rate |
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, national employment of welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers is projected to grow 2.4 percent from 2025 to 2035, adding about 10,300 jobs. Welding-specific projections for Georgia are not separately reported, but the Georgia Department of Labor expects nearly 572,000 annual job openings across all occupations through 2026.
Welding Certifications and Specializations
Which AWS certification should you actually pursue, and which Georgia schools prepare you for it? The answer depends on your career target, and the price tag varies more than most students expect.
AWS Certifications and What They Cost
The entry-level credential is the Certified Welder (CW), which carries no formal education or experience prerequisite and runs a $70 application fee, though the testing facility administering your practical exam, such as a 3G SMAW Certification, charges its own separate fee that AWS does not set. Move up the ladder and costs climb fast. A Certified Welding Inspector (CWI) exam typically runs $1,255 to $1,520, with total program costs (prep, materials, testing) landing between $2,000 and $2,265. Starting in 2026, CWI applications must go through the online AWS portal rather than paper forms. The Certified Associate Welding Inspector sits in a similar exam-fee range. Supervisory and engineering credentials carry their own fees: Certified Welding Supervisor exams run $665 to $756 with renewal fees of $425 to $516, and Certified Welding Engineer exams run $665 to $755 with renewals of $605 to $870. Senior CWI status adds a $185 application fee plus a $125 processing fee, and endorsement exams (like the Welding Procedure Qualifier, at $540 to $630) require an already-active CWI or SCWI credential.
Where Georgia Schools Fit In
Georgia Training Center runs a 14-week program built around 90 percent hands-on shop time, with pipe and aerospace-adjacent GTAW work folded into the curriculum. North Georgia Technical College and Georgia Trade School (roughly $12,000 total program cost as of 2020) both build structural and pipe welding, two of the core Types of Welding, into their coursework. Lincoln College of Technology issues an AWS SENSE Certificate of Completion, which reflects strong process training but isn't the same document as a Certified Welder card. West Georgia Technical College's in-house credential is nontransferable outside its partner employer, worth knowing before you enroll expecting a portable certification. Norfolk Southern's McDonough training center has held AWS-accredited testing status, though prospective students should confirm current standing directly.
Specialization Tracks
Pipe and structural welding, including 6G Pipe Welding, are the most consistently available specializations across Georgia programs. Robotic welding certification exists nationally through AWS (requiring 3+ years of relevant experience) but no Georgia program currently offers dedicated robotic-arc prep, so that path likely means training out of state or on the job.
How Do You Become a Certified Welder in Georgia?
Welding certification in Georgia typically follows a clear, hands-on path. The sequence below shows the main milestones from first training to specialty credentials.

Top-Paying Metro Areas for Welders in Georgia
Metro-area wage data for Georgia welders is not broken out in the latest federal estimates, so the table below reports statewide benchmarks for two welding-related occupations. Mean, median, and percentile wages are shown along with employment counts. Use these state-level figures as a comparison point when evaluating job offers in any Georgia metro area.
| Area | Occupation | Employment | Mean annual wage | 25th percentile | Median annual wage | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia | Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers | 13,130 | $51,520 | $44,150 | $48,430 | $58,240 |
| Georgia | Welding, Soldering, and Brazing Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders | 840 | $46,460 | $38,460 | $45,850 | $52,500 |