Beginner & Hobby Welding Classes for Adults: Night and Weekend

Compare local beginner welding classes, costs, schedules, and process options.

Roughly 40 to 80 hours of instruction is all most community colleges require to move a total beginner from striking an arc to running a passable bead, and none of it demands quitting a job or enrolling in a two-year program. That's the practical reality behind adult welding education in 2026: certificate-track welding trade schools still exist, but community college non-credit courses, union-hall night sessions, and makerspace weekend workshops now cover the same entry-level ground for a fraction of the cost and time.

The tension is choice, not access. With four or five process options, a dozen scheduling formats, and tuition ranging from $35 to several thousand dollars, picking the wrong starting point wastes money and evenings you don't get back. Most working adults never touch a stick welder in class at all; MIG welding dominates beginner curricula because shops hire for it first.

Types of Beginner Welding Classes

Most non-credit welding courses at community colleges run 40 to 80 contact hours across a single semester, split between short lecture blocks and open booth time , a typical welding school duration for beginner classes. That format remains common across beginner welding instruction, but it is not the only option.

Community College and Adult Education

Community college continuing-education departments and public adult-ed programs usually have the lowest welding classes cost. Classes are taught by working welders or retired shop instructors, run 8 to 16 students per section, and lean heavily on hands-on booth time rather than theory. A real advantage: many of these non-credit courses can later be applied toward a credit-bearing certificate if you decide to pursue welding professionally, so the money and hours aren't wasted if your hobby turns into a career plan.

Makerspaces and Community Shops

Makerspaces and independent community shops attract a different crowd: artists, hobby fabricators, and DIYers who want to build a gate, a trailer, or a sculpture rather than pass a certification test. Classes tend to be small, sometimes just two or three students, taught by shop members or contract instructors. The emphasis is tool access and project completion, and membership often includes ongoing shop time after the intro class ends.

Private Training Schools

Private welding schools and trade academies run shorter, more intensive beginner sessions aimed squarely at people testing the waters before enrolling in a full certificate or diploma track. Instructors are typically certified welders with industry experience, class sizes are kept small for supervision, and the curriculum maps directly to entry-level job skills and certification prep rather than open-ended craft projects.

Online Options

Online welding classes cover theory, metallurgy, blueprint reading, and safety protocol, but they can't replace supervised booth time. They work best as a supplement before or alongside an in-person class, not a substitute for one.

Each format serves a different goal: cheapest and most flexible (community college, adult ed), most hobby-focused (makerspaces), and most career-aligned (private schools).

How to Choose the Right Welding Process for Beginners

Most beginner classes start with one or two common processes rather than trying to cover everything. The right choice depends on your goals, from hobby projects to repair work or a future career.

Welding ProcessEase of LearningSafety ConsiderationsTypical Class FocusBest For
MIG (GMAW)Easiest for most beginnersRequires shielding gas, but lower spatter and clear arc; still need helmet, gloves, long sleevesBasic beads, joints, machine settings, flat and horizontal positionsHobby projects, auto body, first-time welders, indoor shops
Stick (SMAW)Moderate; forgiving on dirty metal but harder arc startsMore spatter and slag; UV and fume protection essential; can be used outdoorsElectrode selection, arc control, fillet and groove welds, all positionsOutdoor repairs, farm equipment, structural steel, career prep
TIG (GTAW)Hardest for beginners; slow and preciseRequires both hands and foot control; intense arc and heat; clean metal criticalTorch and filler control, thin metals, stainless and aluminum, aestheticsPrecision work, thin materials, art, aerospace or food-grade welding
Flux-core (FCAW)Easy to moderate; similar feel to MIG but self-shieldedMore smoke and fumes; no external gas needed; good for windy or outdoor settingsWire speed and voltage, slag removal, basic joints, outdoor weldingOutdoor repairs, thicker steel, quick hobby or farm projects
Oxy-acetyleneModerate; good for understanding heat control but slowerOpen flame, gas handling, and fire risk; proper tank and torch procedures requiredTorch control, cutting, brazing, and weld puddle basicsLearning fundamentals, cutting, heating, art, and older repair work

What Welding Classes Cost and What's Included

Beginner welding class prices vary widely by provider type and region. Short community college non-credit courses often run from about $485 to $1,000, while makerspace workshops can start around $35. Longer programs and private trade schools range from roughly $5,000 to $15,000, and personal protective equipment or tools may add hundreds of dollars on top of tuition.

Provider TypeTypical Tuition RangeGear Included?Notes
Community college non-credit, Calhoun Community College$485.00 per courseYes, welding equipment and consumables are includedCost includes equipment and supplies.
Community college non-credit, Iowa Valley Community College District$679 per courseYes, all materials and lab fees are includedEight sessions and 34 hours; in-person, hands-on instruction.
Community college non-credit, Fletcher Technical Community College$1,000 per courseNot specifiedNon-credit class; payment is due upon registration; not eligible for FAFSA.
Makerspace workshop, Collab Makerspace$35 to $55 per classYes, all materials are includedTwo-hour hands-on class.
Makerspace class, Makerspace NYC$95 per hour for members; $125 per hour for non-membersNot specifiedRates vary by membership status.
Community college credit course, Austin Community College$391 in-district; $1,195 out-of-district; $923 out-of-state in-district; $1,727 out-of-state out-of-district (4 credit hours)No, students provide their own protective clothing and equipmentCourse and insurance fees included; tuition varies substantially by residency.
Community college credit course, Cerritos CollegeAbout $46 per unit plus a $125 lab materials fee per unitNo, students must bring personal protective equipment (approximately $120 to $200)Additional fees may include ID, health, and optional parking fees.
Community college program, Bucks County Community College$3,300 tuition plus $188 for materials, personal safety equipment, and tools (96-hour program)No, materials and safety gear are a separate $188 feePublished combined tuition and listed materials cost is $3,488.
Community college program, Clovis Community College$2,304 New Mexico resident in-district; $2,832 New Mexico resident out-of-district; $5,808 non-resident (48-credit program)Not specifiedFees include an $800 WELD 1210 fee, $120 student fees, and $720 technology/facility fees; textbooks are $573 and welding tools are $1,110.
Private welding/trade-school programsApproximately $200 to $850 per class; $5,000 for a basic certificate to over $30,000 for an associate degreeNot specifiedRanges vary widely by school and program length.
Welding school programs$5,000 to $15,000 per programOften required to obtain safety equipment such as helmets, gloves, and jacketsSafety equipment may cost $500 to $1,500; training materials may cost $100 to $400.
Online welding theory coursesNot reportedNo hands-on equipmentOnline learning can cover theoretical knowledge, but hands-on welding cannot be learned online alone.

Night, Weekend, and Flexible Scheduling Options

Night and weekend welding classes are simply regular beginner welding courses scheduled around a full-time work week: sessions run after 5 p.m. on weekdays, on Saturday mornings, or in short weekend blocks, so you can keep your day job while learning to weld. Most community colleges, technical schools, and adult education centers now offer at least one evening or weekend section of their introductory courses, and demand from career-changers has pushed more providers to add them each term.

Common evening and weekend formats

Schedules vary by provider and by term, but a few patterns show up repeatedly in 2026 catalogs:

  • Short-format weeknight blocks: West Virginia Northern Community College ran evening MIG, SMAW, and TIG courses on Wednesday and Thursday nights from 5:30 to 9:30 p.m., January 28 through April 18, 2026.
  • Once-a-week evening intros: Calhoun Community College's Introductory Welding met Wednesday nights, 4:30 to 9:00 p.m., from June 10 to July 1, 2026. Southside Virginia Community College's WEL 120 runs Mondays, 5:00 to 7:55 p.m., starting August 24, 2026.1
  • Twice-a-week evenings: Central Virginia Community College offers WEL 120 on Monday and Wednesday evenings, 5:30 to 9:30 p.m., beginning August 24, 2026.2
  • Hybrid evening plus Saturday morning: County College of Morris's AWS Level 1 certificate runs Monday and Wednesday evenings (5:30 to 8:30 p.m.) plus Saturday mornings (8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.) across 20 sessions and 63 total hours, September 14, 2026 through March 6, 2027.
  • Weekend-only programs: Sheridan College offers a spring weekend welding program running January through May 2026.3 Clover Park Technical College lists evening and weekend sections of its welding technology courses.4
  • One-night workshops: Front Range Community College's "Night Out for Women" beginner session on November 20, 2026 (5:30 to 8:30 p.m.) is a single-evening introduction, useful for testing interest before committing to a term.5

Questions to ask before you enroll

Schedule listings rarely tell the whole story. Before you register, call the department and ask:

  • How many hours of each session are actual booth or torch time versus lecture and demo?
  • What happens if I miss a class? Are make-up sessions or open-lab hours available?
  • Is the instructor present every session, or do some meetings run as monitored practice?
  • Does the course run every term, or only in the semester I'm looking at?

If you cannot commit to a full semester, look for the short-format intensive weekend workshops many makerspaces and continuing-education centers now offer: two or three consecutive Saturdays that cover a single process end to end.

Equipment and Safety Gear: What's Provided vs Required

Some beginner welding classes roll a helmet, gloves, and jacket into tuition. Others ask you to bring your own from day one. The split usually falls along provider type, not quality.

Included vs Required Gear

Community colleges frequently post a required gear list. Rockingham Community College, Richmond Community College, Lakeland Community College, and County College of Morris all expect students to arrive with a welding helmet, safety glasses, gloves, and often a jacket or long sleeves.123 Rockingham's list adds leather boots and cotton pants.1 Bucks County Community College charges a materials fee that covers personal safety equipment and tools, though item details can vary.4 Makerspaces and private workshops lean the other way: Makerspace Charlotte supplies helmets, safety glasses, and gloves5; MakerspaceCT provides jackets, gloves, masks, and helmets6; a 2026 private workshop in MIG welding includes helmets, jackets, gloves, tools, and materials in its $320 cost.8 Tarrant County Makerspace provides personal protective gear but still requires students to wear long cotton pants and leather boots.7 Even when most gear is supplied, closed-toe shoes and long clothing are usually non-negotiable.

Welder Access and Studio Setup

Policies on machines vary as much as gear. A small makerspace class may pair students or rotate them through shared stations, while a longer community college course may offer dedicated bays. The available research does not reveal one universal rule, so ask directly: Will I share a welder, or will I have a station for the full class? How many students per machine? If you are practicing outside class or testing for certification later, dedicated time matters more.

Buying Your Own Safety Gear

If welding equipment is not included, costs add up. New England School of Metalwork's night intro SMAW course lists required PPE for students and sells optional packages in the $100 to $180 range.9 That is a useful baseline, though prices vary by brand and helmet type. For welding safety, look for a properly shaded welding helmet, leather or flame-resistant gloves, ANSI-rated safety glasses with side shields, and a leather or flame-resistant jacket or long-sleeve shirt. Leather boots and long cotton pants cover the rest. Favor comfort and fit over brand names. A helmet you can adjust easily and gloves that allow finger movement will keep you safer than expensive gear that fights you.

Before you enroll, ask three questions: What PPE is included, what is required, and whether the fee covers consumables like filler rod, gas, and steel coupons. The answer can shift the true cost by $100 to $200 or more.

Age Requirements and Class Policies for Teens and Adults

Minimum ages for beginner welding classes vary widely, from around 12 or 13 at some makerspaces and youth programs to 18 at many adult education and community college courses. Formal apprenticeships commonly require 18, while high-school vocational programs may begin at ages 14 or 15. Always confirm age rules with the specific provider because exceptions, waivers, and parent-accompaniment policies differ.

Provider TypeMinimum AgeYouth PolicyTypical Notes
Urban Workshop welding shop classes18Ages 14-17 allowed with parental permission; under 14 requires a parent present in class.N/A
The Crucible youth and adult welding classes12Youth Exploring Welding accepts ages 12-18. Ages 12+ may take adult classes designated for ages 16+ when a parent or guardian is registered in the same class. Classes marked 18+ are only for adults over 18.Youth-class age requirements are generally non-negotiable unless staff and instructor approve an exception.
The Guild Introduction to Welding Class16Parent must sign a waiver before class.The class is labeled 18+, although the listing states that ages 16+ may attend with a parent-signed waiver.
Maker Works metal welding class13Ages 13-15 may attend with a parent or guardian; both adult and minor must register and pay. Ages 16+ may take classes with parent or guardian approval.A parent or guardian who has taken the class must accompany a 13-15-year-old when the minor operates the tool.
Metal Museum welding classes18Students under 18 must be accompanied by an enrolled legal guardian or obtain approval upon registration.N/A
Roca Forge Arts Center classes16Students under 18 must have a parent or guardian complete a waiver.The 16-year minimum applies unless a class is specifically designated as a youth, teen, or children's class.
Hammerspace Community Workshop teen welding class13The introductory welding class is for ages 13-17 only; parents must sign a safety waiver, but may drop off and pick up the student.N/A
Vern Lewis Welding Supply classes15Anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.N/A
Gwinnett Technical College Take Ten class1818+ only; no teen exception stated.N/A

Online Welding Classes: What You Can (And Can't) Learn at Home

Can you actually learn to weld online? For a beginner, the honest answer is partly. Online instruction transfers knowledge well, but it cannot teach the physical craft of laying a bead. Welding is a hands-on trade, and no video or simulator replaces the feedback loop of striking an arc under a qualified instructor's eye.

What Online Courses Do Well

Self-paced online classes are strong for the classroom half of welding. They cover the foundational material you would otherwise sit through in a lecture hall, on your own schedule. The American Welding Society's Welding Fundamentals course, for example, walks through welding terminology, weld design, welder safety, and electrical theory, the same base knowledge every welder needs before touching a machine.

A solid online course can realistically cover:

  • Theory and terminology: Core concepts, weld design principles, metal weldability, and quality-control basics.
  • Process overviews: How MIG welding, TIG, and stick differ in application, cost, and difficulty.
  • Safety awareness: Hazard recognition, fume and electrical risks, and personal protection basics.
  • Equipment knowledge: Identifying machines, consumables, and accessories, plus how a setup goes together.

This makes online study genuinely useful for exam prep and continuing education, particularly for learners who already have shop access or prior experience.

What It Can't Teach

The skills that separate a welder from someone who has read about welding are all tactile. No online course can teach you torch angle, travel speed, puddle control, or heat management. Reading a molten puddle, correcting joint fit-up, and recognizing defects in real time all require actual arc time and an evaluator's correction. Attempting to teach yourself these unsupervised also carries real safety risks, from burns to arc flash to fume exposure.

The Hybrid Approach

Even sources that champion online learning describe it as preparatory, not a full replacement. The sensible path is a hybrid model: complete the theory online, then log in-person lab or shop hours where an instructor watches your technique and gives feedback.3

Use online study to walk into your first lab session already fluent in the vocabulary, the safety rules, and the differences between processes. That lets you spend precious hands-on time building skill instead of catching up on terms. Treat online-only as a strong first step toward competency, never the finish line.

From Hobby Class to Welding Career: Next Steps

Moving from a hobby class to a welding career does not require a single rigid path. Most people progress through supervised practice, formal training or an apprenticeship, entry-level work, and then performance-based certification.

Sequence from hobby welding class through supervised practice, formal training, apprenticeship, entry-level work, AWS Certified Welder test, and advanced credentials.

How to Find Welding Classes Near You

Finding a class is easy. The real challenge is finding the right class close enough to attend on a Tuesday night for eight weeks straight; match geography against quality rather than settling for whichever result loads first.

Start With a Local Search

The zip search on this page's welding schools by state directory is the fastest way to surface community colleges, vocational centers, and trade schools offering short courses near you. Treat it as your starting map, not your final answer. Once you have a shortlist, go straight to each school's own site and look for its continuing education or workforce development catalog. Non-credit welding courses are often listed separately from degree programs, sometimes under "community education" or "lifelong learning" rather than the main admissions pages.

Don't Overlook Makerspaces and Community Shops

Makerspaces, art co-ops, and independent metal shops increasingly offer beginner and hobby welding sessions, often with more flexible scheduling than a college calendar allows. National makerspace directories and local event listings (search engines, community boards, even local Facebook groups) turn up options that never show up in a traditional school search. These shops tend to be smaller and more informal, which can mean better instructor attention but less standardized curriculum.

Evaluate Before You Enroll

Once you have a few candidates, compare them on the same criteria:

  • Instructor credentials: Certified welders or working professionals teaching, not just shop assistants.
  • Safety record: Ask directly about incidents, ventilation, and PPE policy.
  • Equipment age: Well-maintained machines matter more than brand names.
  • Class size: Fewer than eight students per instructor is ideal for hands-on time.
  • Cost transparency: Confirm what's included versus billed separately.

Ask Before You Commit

Many programs offer a free audit, an open house night, or a single trial session for a small fee. Take it. An hour in the shop tells you more about ventilation, noise, and instructor style than any brochure. If a provider won't let you observe or try a class before paying full tuition, treat that as a signal worth weighing carefully.

Frequently Asked Questions About Beginner Welding Classes

Beginner welding classes raise common questions about cost, process choice, timelines, and what schools actually provide. The answers below are based on typical 2026 adult education and vocational welding offerings. Use them as a starting point before you compare specific programs near you.

Which welding process is best for beginners?
MIG welding is generally the best starting point for beginners. It is easier to learn and control than stick or TIG welding. Stick welding is often taught early too, but it is more manual and slower to master. TIG welding usually requires the most practice, so many beginners learn it after a simpler process.
How much do beginner welding classes cost?
A Fall 2026 local beginner and intermediate stick and MIG course costs $600 and includes materials and equipment for a class of eight students.1 Short intensive programs can run from about $1,575 to $2,200 for one week,2 while longer vocational programs range from roughly $5,000 to $40,000.3 Always confirm what the price covers before enrolling.
Can I learn welding online?
Online courses can teach welding fundamentals, safety, tool use, joint preparation, settings, and basic MIG, TIG, and stick concepts. However, they do not provide supervised hands-on practice, qualification testing, or job-ready ability on their own. Online study is a useful introduction, but you still need in-person shop time to build real skill.
Are there free welding classes for beginners?
Free online options such as Cursa and Alison provide introductory theory and demonstrations, often lasting one to seven hours.7 These can help you learn concepts and safety before paying for hands-on training. However, free courses generally do not include machines, consumables, in-person supervision, or a recognized qualification. They are a starting point, not a substitute for supervised practice.
How long does it take to learn basic welding?
Basic MIG welding can often be learned in 20 to 40 hours of practice, which may take a few weeks.4 Stick welding typically takes a few months to control well, especially for vertical and overhead positions.4 TIG welding may take several months or more.4 Your timeline depends on process, practice frequency, material, position, instruction quality, and whether your goal is familiarity, employment, or Welder Certifications.
Do welding classes provide equipment?
Equipment policies vary. Some programs include materials and equipment in tuition. One Fall 2026 local course includes them for eight students.1 Other schools require students to buy personal items like a welding jacket, gloves, safety glasses, an auto-darkening helmet, and pliers, with a safety gear package around $750.2 Before enrolling, ask whether the price covers machine, booth, electrodes or wire, shielding gas, metal, PPE, textbooks, certification fees, and personal tools.