Top Welding Schools in Tennessee: Compare Programs and Costs

Find accredited welding schools in Tennessee with tuition, certification, and career data

Tennessee's manufacturing and pipeline sectors added welding job postings faster than the state could train certified hands through most of 2025, and median pay for welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers now sits at $48,040 a year statewide, with structural and pipe welders often clearing more. That demand runs into a real bottleneck: most TCAT programs cost under $5,000 but fill seats fast, while private and community college routes charge more for similar shop hours.

Rankings below cover 25 programs across cost, credential value, and completion outcomes, from Chattanooga's fast-track certificates to Memphis and Knoxville options built around AWS testing.

The practical tension is timing and location as much as tuition. Seat availability at the cheapest public programs, not sticker price, is what actually delays most career changers.

Our Rankings: Best Welding Schools in Tennessee

This ranking spotlights our strongest current welding program picks in Tennessee for 2026. The schools below stand out for hands-on shop time, stackable certificates, and direct paths into manufacturing, construction, and pipefitting. Use each card to compare program format, cost, and course focus before you apply.

Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Program completion rate
  • Hands-on shop time
  • Credential stackability
  • Career readiness
Data sources
  • Independent program research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Hartsville

#1

Hartsville, TN · $7,000/yr

Best for: Affordability-focused beginners entering pipe welding

TCAT Hartsville packs a full welding foundation into a 12-month, 1,296-clock-hour day program. Students train across shielded metal, gas metal, gas tungsten, and flux cored arc welding while building pipe, valve, and fitting installation skills. The low tuition and clear certificate-to-diploma ladder make it a practical starting point. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it typically follows Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status with the college.

  • 12-month, 1,296-clock-hour full-time day program
  • $4,419 total tuition, textbooks about $246
  • Covers SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and flux cored arc welding
  • Adds cutting, grinding, blueprint reading, and metallurgy
  • Certificate options in SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, or full diploma
  • Prepares for welding and pipefitting roles

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Athens

#2

Athens, TN · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working adults balancing evening welding classes

TCAT Athens combines hands-on welding instruction with flexible full-time and part-time schedules. Students practice MIG, TIG, and stick welding on carbon steel, stainless steel, and aluminum, then stack short certificates toward the Combination Welder diploma. Admission is generally first-come, first-served, and the college is seeking reaffirmation of accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education in 2026. The campus also lists a Monday through Thursday evening welding schedule.

  • Full-time day and part-time night options available
  • Hands-on MIG, TIG, and stick welding
  • Trains on carbon steel, stainless steel, and aluminum
  • Stackable certificates plus Combination Welder diploma
  • Blueprint reading, joint design, and shop safety included
  • First-come, first-served admission based on complete application
  • Prepares for welder, fabricator, inspector, and maintenance roles

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Shelbyville

#3

Shelbyville, TN · $8,000/yr

Best for: South-central Tennessee learners near Fayetteville

TCAT Shelbyville prepares students for manufacturing welding through a 12-month, full-time program with a Monday through Friday day schedule. Training spans acetylene, arc, SMAW, MIG, and TIG, including stainless steel and aluminum. Students can also train at the Ariens Corporation instructional site in Fayetteville, and a separate part-time evening option is available in Winchester. The college lists the American Welding Society among its affiliations and operates as a state-approved TCAT campus.

  • $4,923 total program tuition
  • 12-month full-time weekday schedule, 7:45 a.m. to 2:15 p.m.
  • Covers acetylene, arc, SMAW, MIG, and TIG welding
  • Includes stainless steel and aluminum work
  • Offers certificate and diploma options
  • Ariens Corporation Fayetteville instructional site available
  • Part-time evening option offered in Winchester

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jacksboro

#4

Jacksboro, TN · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

TCAT Jacksboro keeps the focus on the core welding processes and pipefitting basics needed for manufacturing and construction. Over 12 months, students cover SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, and FCAW plus cutting, grinding, metal prep, blueprint reading, and metallurgy. The small campus and day schedule make it accessible for learners who prefer a close-to-home option. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it typically follows Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status before enrolling.

  • $5,023 total program tuition
  • 12-month, full-time day schedule, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Four arc processes: SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, FCAW
  • Cutting, grinding, metal prep, blueprint reading included
  • Pipe, valve, and fitting installation coverage
  • Combination Welder diploma track available

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson

#5

Jackson, TN · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

TCAT Jackson offers a flexible welding pathway with day or night classes at the main campus and several extension sites. Students train in MIG, TIG, and stick welding on carbon steel, stainless steel, and aluminum while building stackable certificates toward a Combination Welder diploma. The mix of locations and schedules helps working learners fit training around other responsibilities. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it commonly holds Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status with the campus.

  • Full-time day and part-time night options
  • Main campus plus several extension sites
  • MIG, TIG, and stick welding on carbon steel and aluminum
  • Stackable certificates in SMAW, GMAW, GTAW
  • Combination Welder diploma pathway
  • Careers include welder, fabricator, pipe welder, inspector

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Murfreesboro

#6

Murfreesboro, TN · $7,000/yr (net price)

TCAT Murfreesboro runs a hands-on welding program built around real shop time and TIG and MIG proficiency. Students weld steel, stainless steel, aluminum, and other alloys across three trimesters, with a 12-month day path or a longer 16-month evening option. Certificate and diploma outcomes include GMAW, SMAW, GTAW, and the Combination Welder. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it typically follows Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status directly.

  • $4,923 total program tuition; supplies about $1,436
  • 12-month day program; 16-month night option
  • 1,296 total clock hours
  • Focus on TIG and MIG welding
  • Welds steel, stainless steel, aluminum, and other alloys
  • Certificates in GMAW, SMAW, GTAW; Combination Welder diploma
  • Day classes meet 7:45 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Pulaski

#7

Pulaski, TN · ~$15,000/yr (est.)

TCAT Pulaski emphasizes competency-based welding training on modern equipment in a 12-month full-time format. Students practice MIG, TIG, and arc welding plus cutting, blueprint reading, and pipe welding, then choose SMAW, GMAW, GTAW certificates or the Combination Welder Diploma. The individualized pace lets students advance as they master each skill. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it commonly holds Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status with the college.

  • $4,923 total program tuition
  • 12-month full-time, competency-based instruction
  • MIG, TIG, and arc welding plus cutting and blueprint reading
  • Certificates in SMAW, GMAW, GTAW, or Combination Welder Diploma
  • State-of-the-art welding equipment
  • Campus in Pulaski, TN

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Elizabethton

#8

Elizabethton, TN · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

TCAT Elizabethton delivers a three-trimester welding sequence that moves from basic processes to advanced TIG pipe welding over 12 months and 1,296 clock hours. The curriculum covers SMAW, GMAW/MIG, GTAW/TIG, gas welding, and brazing on steel, stainless steel, aluminum, and pipe. The program lists AWS and ASME certification exposure, which can strengthen early job applications. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it typically follows Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status with the campus.

  • $4,923 total program tuition
  • 12-month program, 1,296 clock hours
  • Covers SMAW, GMAW/MIG, GTAW/TIG, gas welding, brazing
  • Welds steel, stainless, aluminum, and pipe
  • Certifications: AWS and ASME
  • Certificate and diploma options; day classes

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Crossville

#9

Crossville, TN · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

TCAT Crossville offers a flexible welding program with day and night classes, full-time and part-time options, and monthly enrollment as space allows. The 12-month, 1,296-clock-hour curriculum covers SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW on carbon steel, stainless steel, and aluminum, including pipe welding in 2G and 6G positions. ASME and API certification paths are available for qualifying students. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it commonly holds Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status before enrolling.

  • $6,549 total program tuition
  • 12-month program, 1,296 clock hours
  • Day and night classes; full-time and part-time options
  • Weld carbon steel, stainless steel, and aluminum
  • SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW processes
  • Pipe welding in 2G and 6G positions
  • ASME and API certification paths available
  • Monthly enrollment as space allows

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Morristown

#10

Morristown, TN · $16,000/yr (net price)

TCAT Morristown trains welders for construction, factories, automotive work, and appliance manufacturing through a 12-month diploma. The three-trimester sequence starts with shop safety and basic processes, then advances to GTAW and pipe welding, with a MIG concentration option for production work. Day and night classes help students fit training around jobs. As a state-approved TCAT campus, it typically follows Council on Occupational Education accreditation; confirm current status with the college.

  • $4,923 total program tuition
  • 12-month, three-trimester diploma program
  • 1,296 clock hours
  • Basic SMAW and GMAW through advanced GTAW and pipe welding
  • MIG welding for production jobs
  • Day and night classes available
  • Combination Welder credential option
  • Careers in construction, factories, automotive, appliance manufacturing

Welding Schools by City: Chattanooga, Nashville, Memphis, and Knoxville

Tennessee's four largest metros each host welding training, but the programs differ in format, credential, and scheduling. Here is how the options break down city by city, along with the enrollment details we could confirm for 2026.

Chattanooga

Chattanooga State Community College anchors welding training in the region with a Welding Technology program built around term-based scheduling: roughly 450 class hours in the fall and spring terms and about 390 in summer. Enrollment runs on a rolling basis, so you register for open seats during each term's enrollment period as space allows. The college also offers a shorter Welding Certification track, listed at around 12 weeks and roughly $3,200 in total program cost, for students who want a faster credential.

For those aiming at the union apprenticeship route, SMART Local 5 runs a Chattanooga JATC apprenticeship. New-student orientation is set for August 1, 2026, with cohort start dates beginning August 22 and August 29, 2026.1 This is an apprenticeship pathway rather than a standard registrar enrollment, so timelines and entry requirements work differently than a college certificate.

Nashville

Nashville students have both public and private choices. TCAT Nashville offers a full 12-month Welding Technology program with day and evening options and certification prep including AWS D1.1 and 3G. Lincoln College of Technology's Nashville campus runs a 42-week Welding and Fabrication Technology diploma covering types of welding including SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, and GTAW plus pipe welding, with day, afternoon, and evening scheduling. We could not verify specific 2026 start dates for the Nashville programs from official pages, so confirm current openings directly with each school.

Memphis

Memphis is served by TCAT Memphis, which offers stackable welding certificates leading to a Combination Welder diploma, and William R. Moore College of Technology (Moore Tech), a two-year program with advanced pipe welding, CNC plasma cutting, and robotic welding labs. Published 2026 start dates and open-seat availability for the Memphis schools were not confirmable from official sources at the time of writing, so reach out to admissions for the latest term calendar.

Knoxville

Knoxville offers the clearest 2026 timeline of the four cities. TCAT Knoxville's Welding Technology program lists a preferred application deadline of July 15, 2026, with classes starting September 3, 2026. The program runs 1,296 clock hours over 12 months with day and night options and AWS exam prep. Note that the school does not state whether seats remain for that specific start, so applying early and calling to confirm availability is the safest move.

Tennessee Welding School Costs and Financial Aid

How much does welding school cost in Tennessee? For most students comparing welding schools by state, the honest answer is a few thousand dollars, not tens of thousands. The state's public technical colleges keep welding affordable, and the most budget-friendly options are all Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology (TCAT) campuses, where in-state tuition, fees, and supplies for a full program typically land under $6,500.

The Most Affordable Programs

When sorted by net price, the lowest-cost welding programs in Tennessee cluster tightly around the TCAT system:

  • Cleveland State Community College: In-state tuition and fees run about $4,762, with financial aid and scholarships available. The overwhelming majority of students here receive Pell grants.
  • TCAT Crump: Roughly $4,008 in tuition and fees plus about $1,648 in books and supplies, for a total near $5,656.2
  • TCAT Knoxville: The 2026 cost sheet lists about $4,820 in tuition and fees (including a $100 welding course fee, a $73 technology access fee, and a $59 OSHA fee) plus $795 in supplies, totaling around $5,615.1
  • TCAT Hartsville: About $4,419 in program tuition with just $246 in textbook and supply costs, one of the leanest supply bills in the state.
  • TCAT Elizabethton, Shelbyville, Jackson, Murfreesboro, and Dickson: Full-program tuition of roughly $4,923, with supply costs ranging from about $1,010 (Elizabethton)3 to $1,448 (Dickson)5 to $1,518 (Morristown)4.

TCAT Nashville's evening welding track posts one of the lowest published figures, around $2,271 to $2,296 for the term shown6, though the accessible cost sheet does not break out a complete supply total, so plan for additional book and gear expenses.

Beyond Tuition: Tools and Testing

Published totals usually fold in books and consumable supplies, but they don't always isolate every out-of-pocket item. Budget separately for personal tools, a welding helmet, gloves, safety boots, and any certification testing fees, which are not consistently listed as separate line items on program pages. When a school bundles supplies into the total (as several TCATs do), confirm exactly what that figure covers before you shop for your own gear.

What You Actually Pay

The sticker numbers above assume Tennessee residency. Out-of-state students pay higher tuition, and your real cost drops further once aid is applied. Because most welding students at these campuses qualify for Pell grants and Tennessee offers workforce funding for welding jobs, many pay little or nothing toward tuition. Contact each school's financial aid office to confirm current figures and your personal eligibility.

Did you know Chattanooga State's 12-week welding certification runs about $3,200, and WIOA Individual Training Accounts can cover that tuition entirely? The catch: funds only apply to programs on Tennessee's Eligible Training Provider List, so confirming a school's ETPL status before enrolling is essential.

WIOA and Workforce Funding: How to Pay for Welding School in Tennessee

WIOA (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) is federal workforce funding that can pay for welding training when you can show the training will help you reach or keep self-sustaining welding and fitting jobs.2 In Tennessee, WIOA pays approved welding programs through an Individual Training Account, and the money usually goes directly to the school, not to you.1

How Eligibility Is Determined

Adult WIOA is generally for people 18 and older who need training to get a job that supports them.2 Eligibility is case by case, not a single income formula. American Job Center staff review income, layoff history, underemployment, public assistance, basic skills, and work history. Veterans receive priority.3

Dislocated workers often qualify after layoffs in manufacturing, warehousing, or driving.2 That category includes people who lost a job, exhausted unemployment benefits, received a layoff notice, or are displaced homemakers. Out-of-school youth ages 16 to 24 may qualify if they face barriers to employment.4

Where WIOA Money Goes

WIOA can only pay a provider on Tennessee's Eligible Training Provider List (ETPL). The list includes Title IV institutions and registered apprenticeships,3 but there is no static statewide roster of every welding school. Program-level approval matters: a campus may be approved for one welding credential and not another. Welding programs at Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology and public community colleges are common points of contact, but you must confirm the exact program with the American Job Center.

Tennessee Reconnect and Pell

Federal Pell Grants should be considered first.6 WIOA is generally used when Pell is unavailable or does not cover the full cost.1 Tennessee Reconnect is separate last-dollar tuition assistance for eligible adults at participating public institutions, and it may help with welding programs at eligible public colleges or TCATs.5 It does not replace WIOA eligibility, so ask about stacking options.

How to Start

Begin at Jobs4TN.gov and contact your local American Job Center.6 Bring identification and income documents to the intake appointment.7 Staff will confirm your eligibility, check that the welding program is approved, and explain whether an Individual Training Account can cover the cost. You may need to pass an entrance exam before the account is approved.1 Ask the center and school to verify WIOA approval in writing before you pay any tuition or fees.

Welding Program Outcomes: Salary, Employment, and ROI

Program-level median earnings one, two, and four years after completion, the share of completers employed one year later, and median debt are not reported for these Tennessee welding programs in the current U.S. Department of Education data. The table below uses the available federal outcome data from 2024 to show the top 10 ranked schools and their return on investment figure.

RankSchoolCityProgramReturn on Investment
1Lincoln College of Technology-NashvilleNashvilleWelding and Fabrication Technology3.955
2Tennessee College of Applied Technology-MurfreesboroMurfreesboroWelding Technology40869
3Tennessee College of Applied Technology-AthensAthensWelding Technology40540
4Tennessee College of Applied Technology-HartsvilleHartsvilleWelding Technology40469
5Tennessee College of Applied Technology-PulaskiPulaskiWelding Technology40368
6Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnvilleMcMinnvilleWelding Technology40322
7Tennessee College of Applied Technology NashvilleNashvilleWelding Technology38955
8Tennessee College of Applied Technology-MorristownMorristownWelding Technology38837
9Tennessee College of Applied Technology-ShelbyvilleShelbyvilleWelding Technology38700
10Tennessee College of Applied Technology NorthwestNewbernWelding Technology38514

What Welders Earn in Tennessee

In Tennessee, welders, cutters, solderers, and brazers earned a median annual wage of $48,040 as of May 2025, according to the most recent BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics release.

Choosing the Right Welding Program: Specializations, Format, and Accreditation

How do you pick a Tennessee welding program when every school lists similar-sounding certifications and process names? The answer comes down to three things: what you want to weld, how you want to learn it, and what credential you walk out with.

Match the Specialization to the Work You Want

Welding is not one skill, it is a family of processes, types of welding, tied to specific job markets. Structural and pipe work lean heavily on SMAW (stick) and FCAW (flux-cored), while manufacturing and fabrication shops want strong MIG (GMAW) hands for carbon steel welding. Aerospace, food-grade stainless, and high-purity pipe pull toward TIG (GTAW).

Lincoln Tech Nashville's Welding Technology program covers SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, and FCAW, giving graduates exposure to the four dominant processes. TCAT Nashville's Welding Technology program builds toward the AWS D1.1 and AWS 3G qualifications, which are standard entry points for structural work. Chattanooga State's Welding Certification program is aimed squarely at AWS D1.1 structural welding plus the OSHA 10-Hour Safety Card, a common jobsite requirement.

Understand the Delivery Format

Welding is a hands-on trade, so nearly every credible Tennessee program is in-person and shop-based. Where they differ is length and structure:

  • Short certificate programs: Focused welding certificates (like Chattanooga State's) can be completed in months and target specific certifications.
  • Diploma and technical programs: TCAT campuses (Nashville, Covington, Harriman, Hartsville) and Lincoln Tech run longer diploma-style Welding Technology programs that layer multiple processes together.
  • Associate degree pathways: Crown School of Trades & Technology offers an associate degree route that includes SENSE School Level 1 and Level 2 alignment, useful if you want academic credit alongside the trade skills.

If you are working full-time, ask each school about evening cohorts and open-entry scheduling before enrolling. Availability varies by campus and term.

Map Certifications to Schools

Certifications are what employers actually read on your resume. Based on what Tennessee schools publish:

  • AWS D1.1 Structural: Chattanooga State (also an AWS Accredited Test Facility) and TCAT Nashville prepare students directly for this credential.
  • AWS 3G position qualification: TCAT Nashville.
  • AWS SENSE Certificate of Completion: Lincoln Tech Nashville (across SMAW, GTAW, GMAW, and FCAW modules) and Crown School of Trades & Technology at the associate level.
  • OSHA 10-Hour Safety Card: Chattanooga State bundles this into its Welding Certification program.

Why Accreditation Matters

An AWS Accredited Test Facility designation, like Chattanooga State's, means the school can administer certification tests on-site under AWS oversight. That shortens the gap between finishing class and holding a portable, employer-recognized credential. For any other school, ask where you will test and who signs off, before you enroll.

Tennessee Welding School Admission Requirements

Most Tennessee welding programs screen for age, education, and physical readiness, but exact requirements vary by campus. The information below reflects commonly published admission pages, not a single statewide policy.

  • Age and education
    The typical baseline is 18 or older with a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. At TCAT Upper Cumberland, the 18-plus and diploma-or-equivalent condition applies to applicants not currently enrolled in high school. TCAT Elizabethton similarly requires applicants to be 18 or older and not attending public school.
  • Placement or admissions testing
    Some programs require an admissions or placement test with a qualifying score. TCAT Upper Cumberland may instead accept an applicant who declares an occupational objective or shows reasonable potential through testing or counseling. TCAT Knoxville lists no additional admissions requirements beyond its general admissions steps.
  • Physical and documentation requirements
    Welding programs often require good physical condition, including the ability to handle the physical demands of welding. Some also require good eyesight, with corrective lenses if needed. A government-issued ID, entrance interview, and English literacy may be required by private or specialized programs.
  • High school and dual enrollment
    High school students are generally not admitted through the standard path. At TCAT Upper Cumberland and TCAT Elizabethton, high school students may participate only through dual-enrollment or approved local education agreements.

FAQ: Tennessee Welding Schools

These are the questions career changers ask most about welding training in Tennessee. Use the answers as a starting point, then confirm costs, schedules, and aid with the campus you choose.

How much does welding school cost in Tennessee?
In 2026, Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) welding program tuition and fees generally fall between about $4,000 and $6,212, depending on campus, schedule, and program length. Total costs can be higher once textbooks, supplies, tools, safety gear, and welding-specific charges are added. Ask each campus for an itemized total cost estimate.
What welding certifications can I earn in Tennessee?
Tennessee TCAT programs offer certificates and diplomas in welding-related roles, including shielded metal arc, gas metal arc, and tack welding options. Among Welder Certifications, the AWS Certified Welder credential is performance-based, has no prerequisite courses, and requires a $50 application fee plus a $25 maintenance fee. Check whether a campus includes AWS testing on site.
Are there free welding schools in Tennessee?
Free or no-cost options can exist but are conditional. Goodwill Middle Tennessee offers an Introduction to Welding program, but you must register as a Goodwill client and complete a free service plan with a Career Coach. Workforce grants and WIOA funding may also cover training for eligible Tennesseans, but they are not automatic.
What is the best welding school in Tennessee?
For a welder career, there is no authoritative statewide best welding school. The strongest approach is to compare TCAT campuses and public technical colleges with published 2026 cost, schedule, and outcome data, then visit the strongest options for your location. A campus with lower published tuition may still have higher total supply or travel costs.
How long does welding school take in Tennessee?
TCAT welding diplomas typically take about 12 months and 1,296 clock hours. Certificates can be shorter, ranging from roughly 84 to 972 clock hours depending on the credential, and a hobbyist course may run about two months. Full-time, part-time, day, and evening schedules change the actual completion time.
Can I get financial aid for welding school in Tennessee?
Yes. Complete the FAFSA to access federal aid, including Workforce Pell for eligible short-term training such as welding, and check Tennessee Reconnect, a last-dollar grant that applies after other state and federal aid. For example, TCAT Knoxville's FAFSA school code is 004025. Aid may not cover MIG welding equipment, clothing, or living expenses.
Does WIOA funding cover welding training in Tennessee?
WIOA funding can cover most of your welding training if you qualify, often through a local workforce board or American Job Center. Eligibility is not automatic, and not every program participates, so confirm your chosen welding school is on an approved training list before you enroll.
What are the admission requirements for welding school in Tennessee?
Admission requirements at Tennessee welding schools are not published uniformly in the available data. Contact the specific TCAT campus to confirm required documents, placement tests, and application deadlines before applying. Do not assume every campus uses the same checklist. In general, expect to complete an application and meet any prerequisites the campus lists.